C-D | E-F | G-J | K-M | N-O | P-R | S-V | W-Z | Return to the Library Homepage

Advance Mine in Sec. 17, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining district, 13 1/2 miles southeast of Etna Mills, in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Advance Mining Company, of Denver; president H. E. Wood; watchman, C. Ritz. Comprises 100 acres, patented, on Cow Creek. Short ore shoots in dioritic schist and limestone; 400-foot tunnel, drifts and slopes. Equipment consists of 1500-foot tramway, dwellings, and 5-stamp mill, driven by waterpower (water from Russian Creek, through 2 miles of flume). Idle for several years. Ore low grade and free milling. Hardscrabble prospect to the south. Gold mines - quartz. 1915 p. 825-826

Ahlgren see Russian Hill

Allgood and Castell, in Sec. 12, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district, 3 miles southeast of Somes Bar. Owners, Allgood & Castell; comprises 40 acres; slate bedrock; 30 feet of gravel. Idle; some rich gravel worked at one time.

Anderson, p. 244. Upper Soda Springs, in Sec. 24, T. 39 N., R. 4 W., 2 miles north of Dunsmuir. Owned by George McCloud; water is heavily charged with carbonic acid gas; formation is similar to the Shasta Springs section; water not on the market. Bibl.: Report XI, p. 452; Mineral Springs of California, Anderson, p. 260.

Antone, formerly known as the Weeks Quarry, in Sec. 2, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., 2 miles northeast of Yreka. Owned by Mrs. C. Antone; com prises 160 acres, patented, at an elevation of 2700 feet; occurs in stratified layers from 6 inches to 8 feet thick, and these sheets are pried from the deposit by hand; very little blasting needed; equipment at quarry consists of derrick of 2400 pounds capacity and mining tools; three men employed; stone of good quality, and has been used since 1860; new high school and other buildings in Yreka constructed with this stone; also used for tombstones; leased to J. P. Russell.

Ascondry , in Sec. 10, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in Oak Bar mining dis- trict, 27 miles west of Hornbrook. Owner, W. Quingley; contains 100 acres; 50-foot shaft; schist bedrock; 8 feet of gravel. Idle.

Bailey in Sec. 35, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining district, 7 miles northwest of Fort Jones, at an elevation of 5000 feet. Owner, L. Bailey. Comprises 80 acres on Indian Creek. Short ore- shoot, in diabase. Worked for pockets. Some rich ore on the surface.. Small producer. Idle at present. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 624.

Baines, in Sec. 13, T. 39 N., R. 12 W., in the Liberty mining dis- trict, 10 miles southwest of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, G. A. Baines; comprises 20 acres on Bear Creek; slate bedrock; 10 to 20 feet of gravel; water from Bear Creek through 1/2 mile of flume; worked during the winter on a limited scale; small producer.

Baker, in Sec. 15, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining dis- trict, 7 1/2 miles north of Fort Jones, at an elevation of 5000 feet. Owner, George Baker. Comprises 60 acres on Indian Creek. Short ore-shoot in slate. Worked for pockets. 300-feet tunnel. Old 5-stamp mill driven by waterpower. Small producer. Bibl.: Report, VIII, p. 625.

Bark House Creek , in Secs. 23 and 26, in Oak Bar mining district, 26 miles west of Hornbrook in Klamath Reserve. Owners, N. E. and P. C. Lange; comprises 200 acres; micaceous schist bedrock; coarse gold found In crevices of bedrock; good producer years ago. Idle at present.

Barton & Barham, in Sec. 18, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in the Oak Bar mining district; owned by Barton et al.; comprises 160 acres, located in 1913; massive deposit in schist; no work done on claims; marble is of the clouded variety, showing black streaks and probably of no com- mercial value. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 632.

Barton & Lange, in Sec. 22, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in the Klamath Reserve, 4 miles west of Oak Bar in the Oak Bar mining district. Owners, Barton & Lange; comprises 60 acres of patented land, located in 1890; massive dike with no definite strike or dip; the country rock (schist and diorite), impregnated with cinnabar; deposit 160 feet wide and can be traced 2000 feet; short tunnel and open cuts comprise the workings; a few pounds (selected) of the semi-transparent crystals of cinnabar sold to Chinese for $4 per pound, to be used in paints and for medicinal purposes. Idle several years. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 602; Bull. No. 27, p. 196.

Beaudry in Secs. 3, 11, 34, 35, 30, 26, 2 and 23, T. 39 and 40 N., R. 8 and 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 1 mile southeast of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve is the best paying hydraulic mine in this distrlct. Owner, J. Beaudry; comprises several of the old placer locations, wlth an area of 640 acres on Scott River and Wildcat Creek; the bedrock is schist; gravel 20 to 60 feet deep; water is obtained from South Fork of Scott River and Wildcat Creek through two ditches, one 15 and the other 2 miles in length; 7 giants, 4000 feet of pipe and three dwellings on the property; six men employed at present making repairs to ditches; use fifteen men during the season; production said to be from $25,000 to $40,000 per year.

Beaver Creek, in Secs. 30 and 31, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in the Virginia Dale mining district, 2 miles northwest of Gottville on Beaver Creek in Klamath Reserve. Owner, J. E. Jones; comprises 160 acres, pat- ented; slate bedrock; 5 feet of gravel. Idle for several years.

Beaver Creek, in Sec. 6, T. 46 N., R. 8 W., in the Oak Bar mining district; 28 miles west of Hornbrook. Owners, Paines & Barton; 104 acres patented; 15 feet of gravel; schist bedrock. Idle.

Belle Josephine , formerly known as Slide Creek, in Sec 14, T. 39 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 6 miles southwest of Calla- han in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, A. E. Westover; comprises 160 acres, on Slide Creek, including the Abers, Carter and other old placer mines, which have been noted producers; schist bedrock; 30 to 50 feet of gravel; water from Slide Creek through a ditch 2 miles long, carrying 1100 inches; equipment consists of four giants, 2500 feet of pipe and two dwellings; twelve men employed during operating season, but only three men at present. Cost about $1500 per year for ditch repairs; property is paying dividends.

Ben Neil , in Sec. 1O, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining district, 11 miles northwest of Fort Jones at an elevation of 7100 feet. Owner, B. Neil. Comprises 40 acres. Short ore shoot in diorite 100-foot tunnel. Small pockets taken out. Idle.

Bender , in Sec. 18, T. 42 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining dis- trict 4 miles north of Etna Mills, in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, A. A. Chamberlain. Comprises 40 acres, at an elevation of 3300 feet. Short ore-shoot in limestone and diorite. 340-foot tunnel and 250 feet of drifts. One 3 1/2-foot Huntington milln poor condition. Some rich specimens found near the surface. Idle at present.

Berry see Evans

Big Ledge , formerly known as the Lewis, in Sec. 8, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining district, 6 miles northeast of Greenview. Owner, G. Lewis. Comprises 20 acres. Pockets in diabase. One ore- shoot is 100 feet long and 15 inches wide; 360-foot tunnel Only do assessment work. Idle. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 277; XIII, p. 388.

Big Slide , in Sec. 19, T. 46 N., R. 8 W., in the Oak Bar mining dis- trict, 28 miles west of Hornbrook in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, E. F. Rider; comprises 20 acres of land; schist bedrock; 10 feet of gravel. Idle.

Black Bear, discovered in 1860, is the most noted and largest quartz producer in Siskiyou County. It is in Sec. 13, T. 39 N., R. 12 W., in the Liberty mining district; 9 miles south of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Black Bear Consolidated Mining Company. of Rollin; John Daggett, president; leased to Rollin Mining Company of San Francisco; J. L. Dunscomb, president; W. A. Farish, Jr.. superintendent. The ore bodies occur in lenticular shaped deposits. which pinch out at times on the footwall side. The holdings comprise 70 acres of patented ground, consisting of the Black Bear, South Black Bear and Yellow Jacket claims, with 10 acres for millsite; workings consist of tunnels and two shafts; altitude, 3600 feet; water supply from Black Bear and Auges Creek, through two flumes, each 1 mile long, and 1600 feet of pipe; length along lode, 4500 feet; length of ore shoot, 150 feet; width of ore shoot, 3 feet; footwall, slate; hanging-wall, slate; number veins, two. Black Bear and east and west crossing at right angles; character of ore, free milling; strike, north and south; dip, 40- E.; greatest verti- ca1 depth below outcrop, 600 feet; length driven on vein, 1500 feet; workings, six tunnels from 100 to 700 feet long; old shaft 550 feet deep (six levels); nev shaft on Black Bear claim is 475 feet deep (size 10' x 4'), sunk at an angle of 45' (3 levels); 4000 feet of drifts from old shaft, all to the west, several crosscuts; raise 3' x 5' x 30', in new shaft from third level (200 feet); old stopes all filled; source of power, water and electricity; mine equipment, hoist, cars, compressor plant, compressor pump, tools, shops, assay office, dwellings, and 100 h.p. electric plant with 2 miles of power line; reduction equipment, 16 stamp mill, electrically driven (stamps weigh 650 pounds); number men employed, top 7, mine 2, total 9; cost (per ton): development, $2,00, mining $1.50, treatment $0.80, general $0.60; production to date, $3,100,000. White Bear prospect to the north. From 1872 to 1881 the Black Bear mine paid $1,000,000 in dividends; most of the work performed on Back Bear claim; good wagon road from Sawyer's Bar to the mine. Bibl.: Report VIII, pp. 620, 621; X, p. 656; XIII, p. 389.

Black Butte Mountain Deposits The Black Butte Mountain Deposits near Ager, and the Kosh Creek deposits near Glazier along Kosh Creek in T. 38 N., R. 1 E., have not been developed at all.

Black Hawk, in Sec. 31, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in Virginia Bar mlning district; 5 miles north of Gottville in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Ladd & Ogden. Comprises 40 acres; formation granite and schist; ore found in small pockets; 100 foot tunnel; only do assessment work.

Black Lead see Blue Gravel

Blake see Whistle Bar

Blind Lode , in Sec. 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining District; 5 1/2 miles northeast of Greenview. Owner, H. J. Diggles; comprises 20 acres of patented land, located in 1876; 150-foot ore shoot, 6 inches wide in diabase; four tunnels, longest being 600 feet; some rich ore extracted; said to have produced $40,000. Idle. Bibl.: Report, XII, p. 278; XIII, p. 390

Bloomer , in Secs. 33 and 34, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district, 6 miles northwest of Forks of Salmon in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Bennett Company; comprises 51 acres of patented land; bed- rock is schist; worked extensively years ago and was good producer. Idle. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 612; XII, p. 278; XIII, p. 390.

Blue Gravel, formerly known as the Black Lead, in Sec. 32, T. 45 N.. R 7 W., in the Greenhorn mining district, 2 miles south of Yreka in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Smith & Lee; comprises 200 acres, located in 1888; it was a famous placer producer at one time; slate bedrock; 10 feet of gravel; about 60 acres have been worked. Idle since 1910; has been drilled for dredging ground. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 390.

Blue Hill , in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott Bar mining district, 1/8 mile south of Scott Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, E. Jacobs; comprises 20 acres, along Scott River; slate bedrock; 20 to 40 feet gravel; water from Mill Creek through a ditch 1/2 mile long; equipment one giant and 1000 feet of pipe; worked on a small scale. Idle on account of lack of water.

Blue Jay , in Sec. 11, T. 47 N., R. 8 W., in Virginia Bar mining district; 5 1/2 miles north of Gottville in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Blue Jay Mining Company; president, Mrs. P. D. Bennell; secretary, P. Billings; home office, Cleveland, Ohio; comprise 160 acres of patented land, purchased from Southern Pacific Railroad Company; formation, schist and diorite; one vein 150 feet long and 5 feet wide; low grade; two tunnels, 250 and 400 feet long; 10-stamp mill built by Union Iron Works; 1000-pound stamps; two Johnson concentrators; water power and steam; 2 1/2 mile ditch from North Fork of Empire Creek; small pro- duction. Idle since 1907. 828

Blue Lead , in Sec. 26, T. 42 N., R. 9 W., in the Liberty mining district, 5 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve, Owner, L. H. Cory; comprises 40 acres of patented land; short ore- shoot in diabase; rich on the surface; 580-foot tunnel, old 80-foot shaft and drifts comprise several hundred feet of development work; old 4-stamp mill (650-pound stamp); said to have produced $40,000. Idle since 1908. copper Blue Ledge, owned by Blue Ledge Mining Company, of New Nork, is located in Sec. 21, T. 48 N., R. 11 W., M. D. M., in the Elliott mining district in the Siskiyou Mountain range and near the boundary line Blue Ledge, owned by Blue Ledge Mining Company, of New Nork, is located in Sec. 21, T. 48 N., R. 11 W., M. D. M., in the Elliott mining district in the Siskiyou Mountain range and near the boundary line.

Blue Ledge Mine, owned by Blue Ledge Mining Company, of New Nork, is located in Sec. 21, T. 48 N., R. 11 W., M. D. M., in the Elliott mining district in the Siskiyou Mountain range and near the boundary line 818 between California and Oregon. Elevation at mine is 4000 feet. Hut- ton is the nearest post office. The mine is connected by wagon road with Joe Bar, an old placer camp. The ore occurs in a north and south vein, dip vertical, its outcrop being traceable for 3000 feet; walls are micaceous schist. Ore consists of pyrite, chalcopyrite and other sulphides and oxides of iron and copper, the average value being above 6% copper and $5 per ton in gold. Two main tunnels 250 feet apart are connected by winzes and stopes; both show ore and have intermediate drifts showing over 150 feet in a solid body 40 feet wide in places. The workings comprise over 3000 feet of development. A large tonnage of ore blocked out. It is reported that the company has planned the erection of a smelter on the Applegate River. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 128.

Bonanza in Sec. 14, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in Cottonwood mining district; 10 miles southwest of Hornbrook in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Klondike Mining and Milling Company; president, J. P. Kleprock; secretary, L. P. Kleprock; home office, Long Beach; discovered in 1883 by C. Dovey; formation hornblende schist and granodiorite; short ore- shoot; pocket mine; 1600-foot tunnel; equipment, dwellings and 5-foot Huntington mill; locator took out $1O,000 in a pocket. Idle.

Bowersox , in Sec. 2, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining dis- trict at Somes Bar in Klamath Reserve. Owner, W. P. Bowersox; com- prises 40 acres; schist bedrock; 20 feet of gravel. Idle; only worked to limited extent.

Boyle , in Sec. 8, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining district 14 miles west of Yreka in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, C. E. Bunker; 100 acres located in 1880; two parallel veins, strike N. 40- W., and dip 60- S.; ore shoot is 200 feet long and 2 feet wide; formation is slate; five tunnels from 40 to 900 feet in length; only do assessment work. Idle. .. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 278; XIII, p. 390.

Brazil, in Sec. 11, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in the Hawkinsville mining district, 3 miles west of Yreka. Owner, A. Brazil; in Klamath Forest Reserve; 80 acres, located in 1856; water from Greenhorn ditch; 10 feet of gravel; slate bedrock; small output. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 612; XIII, p. 391.

Brown & George , in Sec. 1, T. 38 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty min- ing district, 14 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Banner Mining Company; T. H. George, superintendent; com- prises 40 acres on Shattuck Creek; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of gravel; two giants and 1000 feet of pipe. Idle. Bibl.: Report XIlI, p. 391.

Brown Bear , formerly known as Golden and Eveleth's, in Sec. 2, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 3 miles southeast of Sawver's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Swain and Cleaver comprises 100 acres on White's Gulch at an elevation of 3100 feet; 160- foot ore shoot, 18 inches wide, with a course of N. 20- E. and dip of 25- E.; 480-foot tunnel, drifts and stope; 4-stamp mill, driven by water power, from White's Gulch through 1 1/2 miles of ditch and 1/2 mile of flume. Idle at present; has been a producer. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 283; XIII, p. 402.

Brusse, in Sec. 34, T. 17 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 3 miles north of Happy Camp on Indian Creek. Owned by F. A. Brusse; discovered in 1899; not in place, but pieces of float weigh- ing several pounds found along the creek; associated with serpentine; resembles the Heighway mineral.

Buckeye Bar, formerly known as Jackson, in Sec. 9. T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in Oak Bar mining district, 26 miles west of Hornbrook. Own- ers, Jackson Brothers; in Klamath Reserve; bedrock is schist; gravel is 10 feet deep. Idle on account of lack of water; 2 miles of ditch from McKinney Creek; contains 60 acres. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 592; XII, p. 279; XIII, p. 391.

Burton, in Sec. 17, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining dis- trict, 4 miles northeast of Greenview. Owned by T. Martin; comprises 40 acres, discovered in 1889; large limestone deposit having a width of 1000 feet, but only 15 feet thick; limestone burned in kiln made of rocks, having the arch-shape form; capacity of kiln, 6 tons in five days; good grade of limestone; product produced upon demand.

C
Return to Top

California Bar, in Sec. 18, T. 46 N., R. 6 W., in the Cottonwood mining district, 9 miles southwest of Hornbrook in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Vene Gold Bar Mining Company; comprises 20 acres on old river bar; bedrock is slate; old shafts caved. Idle at pres- ent; water from Klamath River through a ditch 1 1/2 miles long; some good ground.

California Consolidated , formerly known as the Golden Ball mine, in Secs. 16 and 17, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 3 1/2 miles southwest of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. It is owned by the California Consolidated Mining Company; W. H. Young, of Oakland, president; Geo. Ball, superintendent; comprises 384 acres, 17 being patented; has been a producer and some ore still in sight, but no system of mining was pursued, so that much useless work was per- formned; altitude, 3800 to 4700 feet; fissure vein; length of ore shoot 1000 feet; width 6 feet; free milling; strike N. 20- to 40- E., dip 10- to 40- SE.; footwall, slate (soft); hanging-wall, slate; greatest vertical depth below outcrop, 600 feet; length driven on vein, 1000 feet; two levels, one at 50 and other at 125 feet; drifts, 160 feet, from 50-foot level, and 80 feet from 125-foot level; another from Stevens tun- nel is 140 feet northeast and another 250 feet southwest; two crosscuts, 120 feet long; two winzes, each 60 feet deep; seven raises; two stopes in Stevens tunnel, each being 40 feet by 40 feet; several open cuts; equip- ment, 25 h.p. compressor, small hoist, 150 h.p. electrical plant (on North Fork of Salmon River at Sawyer's Bar) with 3 miles of power line, 1500-foot tramway, dwellings, and 20-stamp mill driven by electricity. Idle. Production to date is $473,500; idle since 1910; only assessment work being done; property should be a dividend payer if properly managed; said to be a continuation of the Black Bear lode. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 282; XIII, p. 402.

Campbell , in Secs. 1, 2, 11, 12, 13 and 14, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., in the Quartz Valley mining district, 6 miles north of Greenview. Owners, Weed & Gardner; holdings comprise 1500 acres of patented land, being practically all the placer ground in this district, and includes the old Hull Gulch, Sucker Flat, Smith & Hand, Van Duzen Gulch and Meads Gulch properties; bedrock is quartz-porphyry; gravel from 20 to 80 feet deep; water from Kidder and Shackleford creeks, through two ditches, one 14 and the other 5 miles long; equipment consists of three giants, and 3000 feet of pipe. Idle since 1910; some rich gravel; at one time a large production was obtained from these mines. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 279; XIII, p. 392.

Canal Gulch, in Sec. 4, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining district, 3 miles north of Yreka. Owner, W. Koester; in Klamath Forest Reserve; 20 acres, located in 1876; worked in spring; only little water; 10 feet of gravel; slate bedrock.

 

Cape Cod , in Secs. 18 and 19, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Greenhorn min- ing district; 6 miles west of Yreka, in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Le May &: Bulis; consists of 115 acres (40 acres patented); located in 1885; formation, slate and porphyry; two parallel veins, shoot 300 feet long and 14 inches wide; 300-foot tunnel; produced $12,000.

Casey see Klein

Castle Crag - Soda Spring, at Castle Crag. Owned by Pacific Improvement Company; water has a temperature of 53' F., and con- tains sodium, potassium, magnesium, calcium, with a trace of iron, silicia, alumina, manganese, barium, lithium, borates, ammonium car- bonate; it is a well known summer resort. SISKIYOU COUNTY. 869

Cecilville, formerly known as the Sightman, in Sec. 30, T. 38 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 15 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, G. H. Sightman; com- prises 40 acres on Crawford Creek; schist bedrock; 20 to 60 feet of gravel; water from Crawford Creek through 2 1/2-mile ditch; one giant and 800 feet of pipe; only worked on a limited scale during the winter; small producer.

Central, in Sec. 34, T. 48 N., R. 8 W., in Hungry Creek mining district, 16 miles northwest of Hornbrook. Owners, Coil and Haslett. located in 1893, 20 acres. Short ore shoots; ledge 2 feet wide; two tunnels, one 400 feet long; formation, granite and schist; free milling. Idle.

Champion, in Sec. 32, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., 10 1/2 miles from Orleans, in the Cottage Grove mining district in Klamath Reserve. Owners, J. A . Hunter et al.; 180 acres, located in 1899; two veins, in porphyry; still in ore in workings; equipment, dwellings and one stamp mill (800-pound stamp) driven by water power, and 2-ton cyanide plant; water from Ten Eyck Creek through 2000 feet of ditch; claims are on the east slope of Prospect Hill; owner claims to have 14,000 tons of $15 rock in sight; three men employed; adjoins Twan & Hannan prospect.

Cherry Hill, in Sec. 25, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Greenhorn mining district; 6 1/2 miles southwest of Yreka in Klamath Reserve. Owner, Incorporated Company; several tunnels, longest being 200 feet; formation is diorite and porphyry; old 3-stamp mill, driven by steam power; adjoins Mt. Vernon on the west; been idle for a number of years; small production record.

China Creek, formerly known as the Reeves, in Sec. 5, T. 16 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 6 miles northeast of Happy Camp in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, Chinese Company; corn- prises 40 acres of patented land; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of gravel. Idle several years; good producer in the past. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 393.

China Gulch see Hicks

China Sam took out in one tub, or 5 cubic yards, 8 ounces of gold, valued at $134.

Classic Hill , in Sec. 36, T. 18 N., R. 6 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 12 miles north of Happy Camp in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, C. Wheeler; comprises 43 acres of patented land; schist bedrock; 5 to 30 feet of gravel; water from west branch of Indian Creek through a ditch 5 miles long, carrying 600 inches; equipment con- sists of two giants and 1000 feet of pipe; has been a good producer. Idle. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 394.

Colby see Sturn

Columbia, in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 9 W., in the Scott River mining district, 7 miles northeast of Scott Bar in the Klamath Reserve; elevation of 4700 feet. Owner, Scott River Mining Company, of Seattle; C. F. Lee, president; comprises 40 acres, on Old Baldy Mountain; located in 1882; short ore shoot in slate and diabase; workings consist of 700-foot tunnel and 120-foot shaft; ore is free milling near the surface, but base with depth; equipment consists of dwellings and 10-stamp mill driven by steam and water power; only do assessment work; said to have been a producer at one time. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 280; XIII, p. 394.

Condensed, in Sec. 12, T. 38 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 15 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve Owner, W. H. Cady; comprises 60 acres at an elevation of 2400 feet: short ore shoot in granite; little high grade found on footwall side: 220-foot tunnel. Idle. Connor, in Sec. 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining district; 5 miles northeast of Greenview. Owner, J. Connor; comprises 20 acres short ore shoot; pay in pockets; 500-foot tunnel; said to have produced $15,000. Idle. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 395.

Connor , in Sec. 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining district; 5 miles northeast of Greenview. Owner, J. Connor; comprises 20 acres short ore shoot; pay in pockets; 500-foot tunnel; said to have produced $15,000. Idle. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 395.

Consolidated Sciwash , in Sec. 6, T. 44 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood mining district, 6 miles north of Fort Jones. Owner, H. Madison; comprises 90 acres, patented; on McAdams Creek; quartz-porphyry bedrock; 30 feet of gravel, 450-foot tunnel, and three 50-foot shafts (all caved); good producer at one time. Idle for a number of years. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 395.

Copper Queen, in Sec. 3, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Cottonwood mining district, 10 miles northwest of Hornbrook. Owners, J. D. and R. Abbott, of Yreka; comprises 20 acres on Hunter Creek; small ledge in lime and diorite-schist, 110-foot tunnel. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 123.

Copper Queen in Sec. 3, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Cottonwood min- ing district, 10 miles northwest of Hornbrook. Owners, J. D. and R. Abbott, of Yreka; comprises 20 acres on Hunter Creek; small ledge in lime and diorite-schist, 110-foot tunnel. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 123.

Crapo, in Sec. 11, T. 10 N., R. 7 E., 3 miles southwest of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Bennett Company; comrises 39 acres of patented ground; slate bedrock; 20 feet of gravel. Idle. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 612; XII, pp. 280, 282; XlII, p. 396.

Crawley, in Sec. 22, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Callahan mining district, 1 1/2 miles southwest of Callahan in the lilamath Reserve. Owner, C. A. Warden Estate; comprises 60 acres; short ore shoots; pay ore occurring in pockets; in hornblende schist; 600-foot tunnel and 500 feet of drifts, 30-foot stope; old 2-stamp mill, 650-pound stamps: said to have produced $60,000; only do assessment work. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 396.

Cronin , in Sec. 22, T. 40 N., R. 12 W., in thc Liberty mining dis- trict, 7 miles west of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, French Syndicate of Paris, France; J. Sapp, watchman; com- prises 40 acres, patented, on West Fork of Salmon River; slate bedrock; 30 to 100 feet of gravel; water from Boulder Gulch through 2-mile ditch carrying 800 inches; 5 giants, 3000 feet of pipe, derrick and dwellings; good producer at one time. Idle since 1910. Bibl.: Report XIII, p: 396.

Cub Bear and Blue Jeans , in Sec. 9, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining district, 12 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Siskiyou Syndicate, of Los Angeles; presi- dent, I. J. Luce; secretary, M. Marx; superintendent, C. Ritz; com- prises 100 acres; elevation 5800 feet; veins, two in number, occur in hornblende schist and quartz-porphyry; three short tunnels and open cuts, and ore being removed from the latter at present; good prospect: 80 tons milled, which gave returns of over $20 per ton; five men are employed on the Highland lode; discovered in 1898 by Chas. Cory.

Cummings , formerly known as the McKeen, in Sec. 36, T. 40 N.. R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 31 miles southwest of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve; has been one of the best quartz pro- dueers in this district. It is owned by the Shasta Mining Company, of Callahan, with James McKeen as manager-superintendent. and com- prises 200 acres, patented, on Wildcat Creek at an elevation of 4200 feet; strike of the vein is N. 40- E., dip 40- SW.; ore shoots are short, being 130 feet long and 3 feet wide, all in granite; main tunnel is 800 feet long and, together with the drifts, crosscuts and slopes, comprise several thousand feet of work, but no depth has been attained; old Kinkead mill (driven by water power) and a dwelling, on the property; has been a good producer, said to exceed $500,000, and ore is free and easily worked; idle at present; has been worked since 1874. Bibl.: Report SII, p. 280; XIII, p. 396.

Daggett Mine, worked with pick and shovel, with four men, averaged $100 per day for several months. From Pine Grove Mine, from a pit 100 feet square, on bedrock, and 18 feet deep, $6,000 was extracted.

Davis, formerly known as the Van Brunt, in Sec. 11, T. 16 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district; 1/8 mile southwest of Happy Camp, was located in 1870 and has been worked since that time. It is owned by R. A. Davis, of San Francisco, and comprises 200 acres of patented land along the Klamath River; the bedrock is schist and the gravel in places is more than 100 feet deep. Water is obtained from the South Fork of Indian Creek, through a ditch 10 miles long, having a capacity of 120 inches and which cost $40,000; equipment consists of three giants, sluice boxes and 2000 feet of pipe; twelve men employed during operating season; cost of operating about $10,000 (period of five months); pays dividends; small amount of platinum obtained. (See photo No. 3.)

Davis, in Sec. 12, T. 14 N., R. 6 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 13 miles southwest of Happy Camp. Owner, R. Davis. Ledge 20 to 30 feet wide in schist and limestone; short tunnels; ledge not found in place as yet; strong gossan cropping, carrying some gold value; bonded to J. D. Farish and eight men employed; F. H. Dakin, super- intendent; claims on Clear Creek.

Deep Channel, formerly known as Taylor & Maplesden, in Sec. 36, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg Bar mining district, 1/8 mile west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, Deep Chan- nel Mining Company, of Portland, Oregon; president, J. L. McKittrick; comprises 40 acres on the Klamath River; schist bedrock; gravel is from 20 to 50 feet deep; 100-foot tunnel 5' x 7' and 60-foot shaft, 4' x 6' (abandoned). Idle during 1913; some good ground and has been a steady producer. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 293; XIII, p. 429.

Denny , in Secs. 17, 20, 21 and 29, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Calla- han mining district, in town of Callahan, in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Scott River Dredge Company; comprises 400 acres of old locations along the Scott River, 118 acres of which is patented; schist bedrock; 20 to 60 feet of gravel, some boulders and some cement near the bedrock; 3-mile ditch from South Fork of Scott River; ground

Dewey, one of the noted quartz mines of Siskiyou County, is located in Sec. 23, T. 42 N., R. 8 W., in the Gazelle mining district; 12 miles southwest of Gazelle in the Klamath Reserve. It is owned by the Squaw Mining Company and comprises 100 acres, patented, at an elevation of 6800 feet; the strike of the vein is N. 40' E., dip 30' SE. The ore occurs in granodiorite, having a width of 3 feet; workings consist of a shaft 400 feet deep, a tunnel 920 feet in length, drifts, raises and stopes, all comprising several thousand feet of development work; equipment consists of hoist, dwellings, and old 10-stamp and Huntington mills (poor condition) operated by steam and water power; property said to have produced $900,000; discovered in the early eighties; idle since 1907.

Dick Morris, formerly known as the Ramis, in Sec. 35, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg Bar mining district, 1 3/4 miles northwest of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Johnson & Hanses, comprises 40 acres; schist bedrock; 10 to 30 feet of gravel; two giants and 500 feet of pipe. Idle. Adjoins Hammer on the north. noted placer producer in the early days; company endeavored to work the bed of Scott River with a small dredge, but did not understand this business and dismantled the boat in 1910 and sold the machinery; property idle since that time; some good ground yet to be worked.

Doolittle, in Sec. 5, T. 17 N., R 8 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 6 miles northeast of Happy Camp in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, M. Doolittle; comprises 40 acres of patented land along the Klamath River; schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; 120-foot tunnel, 5' x 7'. Idle; producer at one time. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 404.

Double Eagle and Little Quartz, in Sec. 26, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in Oak Bar mining district in Klamath Reserve, 30 miles west of Horn- brook. Owner, H. H. Barton; comprises 20 acres; pocket mine; ore is hornblende schist and granitic-porphyry; 120-foot tunnel; produced $10,000, ore being crushed in an arrastra. Idle. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 397.

Dunnigan, in Sec. 20, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., in the T-Bar mining district, 36 miles (by trail) south of Happy Camp in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Dunnigan Consolidated Mining Company, of San Francisco; E. M. Wilbur, president; Mrs. E. J. Wilbur, secretary; J. M. Stickel, general manager; holdings comprise 160 acres, consisting of old benches; portion of land worked in the early days and relocated by J. M. Stickel in 1912; water obtained from T-Bar Creek through ditch 1/4 mile long; bedrock in serpentine and slate; depth of gravel from 10 to 40 feet (loose); equipment consists of two giants, 2000 feet of pipe, dwelling and sluice boxes; one man employed at present; company intends to work a full crew in the spring; said to be good ground.

E
Return to Top

Eastlick, in Secs. 17 and 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining district, 5 miles northeast of Greenview. Owners, Richman & Beems, of Fort Jones; comprises 67 acres of patented land; bedrock is quartz-porphyry; 30 to 60 feet of gravel; two ditches from Mill and Kidder creeks, one 6 miles and the other 4 miles long; equipment con- sists of three giants and 2600 feet of pipe; noted property at one time and yielded good returns. Idle for past three years. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 608; XII, p. 281; XIII, p. 398.

Eliza, in Secs. 4 and 9, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining Naistrict, 15 miles west of Yreka in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Shur, Yunker & DeWitt, of Yreka. Group comprises 100 acres, located in 1865 by D. M.Lash; relocated in 1892 by present owners. Elevation is 4500 feet. There is a good wagon road from the property to Yreka. The location covers the lode for a distance of 4500 feet. The fissure vein occurs in quartz-porphyry and diabase, the former being fthe footwall and the latter the hanging-wall. The strike is N. 20' E. and dip 45' E.; ore shoot is 200 feet long and 5 feet wide; a 1400 foot tunnel has been driven on the vein, giving 360 feet of backs; above t his lower tunnel there are four others from 100 to 800 feet in length; there are five stopes in all; equipment consists of dwellings and 10-stamp mill. Owners claim an ore reserve of 40.000 tons of va]ue of $5 per ton and a production to date of $150.000; two men are employed doing :~ development work in the lower tunnel; ore free near surface, but somewhat base with depth. SIII, p. 397.

Elk Creek, in Sec. 3, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining district, 6 miles north of Yreka. Owners, Elk Creek Mining Company; president, I,. F. Colburn; secretary, J. E. Harmon; home office, Yreka; 100 acres located in 1902, in Klamath Reserve; three parallel veins; 100-foot ore shoot 14 inches wide; formation, slate and porphyry; two tunnels 600 and 450 feet long; 10-stamp mill driven by electricity; production $20,000 Idle.

Elk Creek, in Sec. 15, T. 16 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 1 mile southwest of Happy Camp in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Chinese Company; comprises 60 acres along the Klamath River; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of gravel; 220-foot tunnel, 5' x 7'; paid well at one time. Idle at present. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 281; XIII, p. 398.

Elliott, formerly known as the Golden Nugget, in Sec. 20, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 3/4 mile north of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, M. L. Elliott; comprises 20 acres, patented, on Jackass Gulch; slate bedrock; 15 to 40 feet of gravel; two giants, 1000 feet of pipe and derrick; water from Jackass Gulch through a flume 1 1/2 miles long; good production in 1911; coarse gold on bedrock; worked in winter. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 603.

Ellston, in Sec. 33, T. 11 N.. R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining dis- trict, 10 miles northwest of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, A. E. Ellston; comprises 30 acres; slate bedrock; 20 feet of gravel. Idle; only does assessment work; some rich gravel worked years ago. 849

Empire Bar, in Sec. 2, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Virginia Dale min- ing district, in town of Gottville, in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, an incorporated company: comprises 20 acres, patented; slate bedrock; 862 5 to 8 feet of gravel; old shafts; small steam hoist; worked by lcaser at times, but idle at present; has been a good producer. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 589.

Enterprise , in Sec. 16, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in Oak Bar mining dis- trict, 24 miles west of Hornbrook. Owner, R. J. Fenile; in Klamath Forest Reserve; 40 acres of ground; schist bedrock; 10 feet of gravel. Idle.

Espey, in Sec. 25, T. 47 N., R. 9 W., in the Oak Bar mining dis- trict, 30 miles northwest of Hornbrook. Owners, Espey Mining Company; home office, Seattle, Wash.; in Klamath Reserve; 50 acres of ground; bedrock is schist. Idle on account of lack of water. Farrington, in Sec. 24, T. 40 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 2 1/2 miles southwest of Callahan. Owned bv S. Farrington; comprises 20 acres, located in 1873; massive deposit of limestone; the 866

Evans, formerly known as the Berry, in Sec. 17, T. 8 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 5 1/2 miles northeast of Happy Camp in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, C. A. Evans; comprises 20 acres; bedrock is schist, with quartz stringers running through it; depth of gravel is 40 feet; 60 feet tunnel, 5' x 7' feet; only do assessment work; small producer at one time.

Eveleth's see Brown Bear

Everill, in Sec. 26, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in Hamburg Bar mining district, 4 miles southwest of Hamburg Bar. Owner, J. H. Everill; comprises 40 acres on the Klamath River; bedrock is slate; 120-foot tunnel on bedrock; old 60-foot shaft; equipment: dwelling, derrick, pipe, sluice boxes; good ground; leased to an incorporated company; T. C. Williams, superintendent; three men employed. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 281; XIII, p. 400.

Fagundez see Humpback

Farrington, in Sec. 24, T. 40 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 2 1/2 miles southwest of Callahan. Owned bv S. Farrington; comprises 20 acres, located in 1873; massive deposit of limestone; the 866 867 extent not determined; surface stripped and limestone extracted from open cuts and burned in a small kiln of a capacity of 10 tons in four days; product is of splendid quality and was used in the hotel at Cal- lahan; very little demand for the product. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, pp. 92-93.

Fiock Bros. Quarry, in Sec. 13, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., near Yreka; con- siderable stone removed; face of the quarry shows massive sandstone, nearly horizontal, dipping slightly east; upper bed is 10 feet thick, coarse grained; of a very uniform texture, and tawny in color. Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 140.

Fir Tree, in Secs. 19 and 20, T. 10 N., R. 8 E., in the Liberty min- ing district, 1 mile southeast of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Bennett Company; comprises 20 acres of patented ground, schist bedrock; 10 feet of gravel; 2 1/2-mile ditch from Salmon River. Idle; has not heen worked for several years.

Fleetwood and Nannie S., formerly known as Old Jackson, in Sec. 15, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining district, 16 miles west of Yreka. Owner, L. W. Cousins; comprises 80 acres; short ore shoots ir granitic-porphyry; seven tunnels from 5 to 800 feet in length. I`ll. Only do assessment work.

Forks of Salmon River, in Secs. 16, 17, 18, 13, 7, 8 and 9, T. 10 N.. R. 7 and 8 E., in the Liberty mining district, 1 1/2 miles northeast of Forks of Salmon in the Klamath Forest Reserve, is the largest hydraulic Photo No. 4--Dam--Forks of Salmon River Mining Company. 850 mine in this district. It is owned by the Forks of Salmon River Min- ing Company, of San Francisco; F. Salvage, president; V. G. Bonaly, secretary, and M. A. Singer, superintendent. The holdings comprise 520 acres of old placer locations, which were rich diggings in the early days. This company controls some 4 miles of the old channels and bars along the North Fork of Salmon River. The bedrock is schist, with 20 to 60 feet of gravel covering the same; only about 3 acres of, ground have been worked. Water is obtained from the North Fork of the Salmon River through a ditch carrying 3800 inches, having a length of 4 miles and a 50-foot pressed overflow dam impounds the water at the intake. The equipment consists of five giants, machine shop, small electrical plant, pipe, derricks, and dwellings; sixteen men at $3 per day are employed. In 1911 and 1912, the yearly production exceeded $60,000; has produced over $200,000 since 1908.

Fort Goff, in Sec. 31, T. 47 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining dis- trict, 14 miles west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, G. Martin; comprises 80 acres of patented land along the Klamath Rlver; schist bedrock; 10 to 60 feet of loose gravel; water obtained from Fort Goff Creek through a ditch 1 1/2 miles long carrying 800 inches; equipment consists of two giants and 3100 feet of pipe; has not been worked since 1911; some good ground; small producer. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 596; XII, p. 283; XIII, p. 401.

Franklin, in Sec. 16, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining district, 8 miles north of Fort Jones at an elevation of 5500 feet. Own- ers, Miller & Arnold; comprises 40 acres on Indian Creek; ore shoot is 120 feet long and 22 inches wide, with slate footwall and quartz- porphyry hanging-wall; 600-foot tunnel, drifts and 60-foot stope; claim production of $90,000; ore runs about $25 per ton and is worked in Baker's mill; leased to Wells & Brown. Idle since July, 1913; 20 tons of $25 rock on the dump.

French Bar Placer, in Sec. 17, T. 46 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River mining district, 1/2 mile northwest of Scott Bar, in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, Z. E. Russell; comprises 20 acres, on Scott River; slate bedrock; 20 feet of gravel; 40-foot tunnel, 5' x 7'; only do assessment work.

French John see Squaw Gulch

G
Return to Top

Gardner and Deming, in Secs. 7 and 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining district, 5 1/2 miles northeast of Greenview. Owners, Weed & Gardner; comprises 150 acres of patented land; bedrock is quartz-porphyry with quartz stringers running through it; 10 to 50 feet of gravel. Idle. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 402.

Geeshan & Keller, in Sec. 30, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 2 miles west of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Geeshan & Kellner; comprises 20 acres on the Klamath River; slate bedrock; 50 feet of gravel; water from North Fork of Salmon River through 1 1/2-mile flume; one giant, 1200 feet of pipe and derrick; has been a good producer; worked on a small scale during the winter.

Gilta See Gold Hill

Gold Hill, in Secs. 28 and 29, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty min- ing district, in town of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, G. W. and O. R. Bigelow; comprises 80 acres on North Fork of Salmon River; slate bedrock; 10 to 80 feet of gravel; water from Eddy's Gulch through 2 miles of ditch; three giants, 1200 feet of pipe and hand der- rick; good producer; operated during the winter when water is plentiful.

Gold Hill, formerly known as the Gilta, in Sec. 12, T. 9 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district, in Klamath Reserve, at an eleva- tion of 3500 feet. Owner, E. A. Dannenbrink; comprises 60 acres of pat- ented land; ore shoot is 250 feet long and 3 feet wide, in slate and diorite; several thousand feet development work, consisting of tunnels, crosscuts and stopes; equipment consists of dwellings, and 10-stamp mill operated by steam and water power, idle at present; twelve men employed, doing prospect work; property has been a producer.

Gold Lead, in Sec. 8, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River mining district, 1 1/4 miles north of Scott Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, M. Andrews; comprises 20 acres on the Scott River; slate bedrock; 10 to 20 feet of gravel; water from Tom Creek through 1 mile of ditch; 90 feet tunnel (5' x 7'), on bedrock; equipment: car, blacksmith shop, mining tools; one man employed at $3 per day; production gen- erally about $4000 (five months run); some coarse gold found on the bedrock; easy ground to work.

Golden see Brown Bear

Golden Ball See California Consolidated

Golden Eagle See Sheba

Golden Eagle Bibl.: Report VIII. p. 600; XIII, p.403. Golden Eagle, formerly known as the Sheba, in Sec. 7, T. 44 N.. R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining district; 10 miles north of Fort Jones; was one of the producers in this section. It is owned by the Indian Creek Mining Company of San Francisco; president, I. J. Coe, and superintendent, T. E. Morrison; comprises 80 acres, patented; ore shoots are 200 feet long and 15 inches wide, with diabase footwall and quartz- porphyry hanging-wall; 750-foot tunnel, drifts and stopes, making sev- eral thousand feet of development work; the equipment, consisting of 50 h.p. boiler and 5-stamp mill, have been removed from the property and company has closed down and practically abandoned the buildings; has paid some dividends. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 625.

Golden Nugget see Elliott

Golden Seal, in Sec. 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino minin~ district, 5 miles northeast of Greenview at an elevation of 3200 feet. Owner, V. Pitz; comprises 20 acres, located in 1885; 300-foot ore shoot 8 inches wide, in syenite and quartz-porphyry; 525-foot tunnel on thc vein; a few pockets of high grade taken out. Owner works the claim in the winter.

Golden West, formerly known as the King, in Sec. 15, T. o9 N.. R. 10 W., in the Sal~non River mining district, 13 miles west of Calla- han, in the lilamath Reserve. Owner, J. S. Baggs; comprises 60 acres on Trail Creek at an elevation of 7000 feet; fissure vein in schist: 200-foot tunnel, still in ore; one man is employed; good prospect, with well-defined ledge of free milling ore, 4 feet wide and running from $8 to $15 per ton; discovered in 1904.

Gordon, in Sec. 17, T. 18 N ., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 5 miles northeast of Happy Camp in Klamath Reserve. Owner, 851 C. Gordan; comprises 60 acres; schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; three men employed during operating season; yearly production about $4000. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 283; XIII, p. 403. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 132.

Grey Eagle, (formerly known as the Dewey), in Sec. 4, T. 17 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 8 miles northwest of Happy Camp. Owner, Incorporated Company, of New York; J . D. Farish, manager; Fred H. Dakin, superintendent; comprises 240 acres, patented; on Indian Creek at an elevation of 2550 feet; a strong vein from 10 to 80 feet wide in schist with a northwest and southeast strike and a dip of 45' E.; ore shoot over 300 feet long, consisting of chalcopyrite and pyrite; eight tunnels from 50 to 600 feet in length, six being crosscuts and two on the ledge; and several hundred feet of drifts and raises; large tonnage blocked out; ore carries from 2 1/2% to 18% copper and $1.50 per ton in gold; strong gossan croppings on the sur- face; five men employed; property located in l892 and sold to present company in 1908.

Grider, in Secs. 12, 15, 10, 14 and 11, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district, 9 miles southwest of Hamburg Bar in Klamath Reserve. Owner, J. B. Grider; comprises 245 acres, patented; on the Klamath River; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of gravel; water from Grider Creek through 3-mile ditch of a capacity of 240 inches; equip- ment consists of dwellings, two giants and 1500 feet of pipe; operating season from four to five months; average production monthly of $2000. Idle at present on account of lack of water.

Griffin Onyx Quarries are situated 6 miles south of Berryvale. Speci- mens in the State Mining Bureau are 7355 and 8969. Bibl.: Bull. 37, p. 112.

Grizzly Gulch, in Sec. 14, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining district, 10 miles north of Fort Jones at an elevation of 7000 feet. Owner, J. Shelly; comprises 60 acres; short ore shoots in diabase; worked for pockets; said to have produced $4000 from 80-foot tunnel. Idle.

Gumboot, in Sec. 15, T. 45 N., R. 9 W., 8 miles east of Scott Bar, in the Scott River mining district in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, A. Simon; comprises 40 acres; ore is base with depth (some chalcopy- rite), occurring in slate; length of ore shoot not determined; 120-foot tunnel; 60-foot shaft; only do assessment work. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 404.

Haley , formerly known as the Halstead, in Sec. 7, T. 16 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 10 miles southwest of Happy Camp in Klamath Reserve. Owner, M. Doolittle; comprises 40 acres of pat- ented land; schist bedrock; 10 to 30 feet of gravel; some boulders and some cement. Idle for several years. Bibl.: Rcport VIII. p. 601; XIII, p. 404.

Halstead see Haley

Hammer, in Secs. 36, 1 and 4, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg Bar mining district, 1/2 mile west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Johnson & Caldwell; comprises 60 acres along the Klamath River; schist bedrock; 30 to 40 feet of gravel; water from Kuntz and Mill creeks through a 3-mile ditch; four giants, 1000 feet of pipe, and dwelling; property leased; worked one month in 1913 and produced $400; some good ground. Idle at present.

Hansen, formerly known as Knownothing Creek, in Secs. 1 and 12, T. 9 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district, 8 1/2 miles southwest of Forks of Salmon, in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Roberts & Hagland; comprises 60 acres of patented land, located in 1880; short ore shoot, in slate and quartz-porphyry; several tunnels, longest being 850 feet, equipment, dwelling and old arrastra; two men employed doing pros- pect work; has been a small producer. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 622.

Happy Home, formerly known as the Maplesden, in Sec. 31, T. 46 N., R. 10 W., in the Hamburg Bar mining district in the Klamath Forest Reserve, 1/4 mile east of Hamburg Bar. Owner, Maplesden Brothers; comprises 40 acres on the Klamath River; schist bedrock; large portion of this ground has been worked; good pay on bedrock; two men are employed cleaning up the sluice boxes. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 594.

Hardscrabble, in Sec. 17, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the IJiberty mining district, 14 miles southeast of Rtna Mills in the Klamath Reserve. t~Owner, Hardscrabble Mining Company, of I~os Angeles; C. B. Parrott, president; John Nefroney, superintendent; comprises 140 acres, at an ~; elevation of 6100 feet j length of ore shoot not determined; country rock -~ in dioritic-schist; 400-foot tunnel; two men employed. Highland Mine ~r to the northeast.

Hardscrabble, in Secs. 1 and 12, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Dead- wood mining district, 6 miles north of Fort Jones. Owner, J. D. Duane; comprises 20 acres, patented, on McAdams Creek; quartz-por- phyry bedrock; 30 to 50 feet of gravel; water from McAdams Creek through a ditch 2 miles long; rich diggings years ago, worked by Chinese. Idle at present. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 404. 852

Hazel, in Sec. 25, T. 47 N., R. 8 W., in the Cottonwood mining district, 4 miles southwest of Hornbrook, is the only large producer in this district. It is owned bv the Hazel Gold Mining Company, of Chico; J. A. Jillson. president, and J. W. Roper, secretary. The group com- prises 80 acres of patented land in the Klamath National Forest Reserve at an elevation of 2800 feet. There are three veins, known as the Potato Patch, "C" and Hazilett, which occur in the slate, the last two being practically parallel. The ore shoot is 150 feet long and 3 feet in 834

Hi You, in Sec. 29, T. 44 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood mining dis- trict, 8 miles north of Fort Jones. Owners, Wyman and Richman; comprises 40 acres, patented, on Deadwood Creek; quartz-porphyry bedrock; 30 to 50 feet of gravel; water from Deadwood Creek through a ditch 1 1/4 miles long; two giants and 2000 feet of pipe; only worked a few times since 1905; good producer years ago. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 405.

Hickey, in Secs. 24 and 25, T. 40 N., R. 12 W., in the Liberty min- ing district, 2 miles west of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Pike & Hickey; comprises 20 acres, patented, on North Fork of Salmon River; slate bedrock; 25 to 70 feet of gravel; water from North Fork of Salmon River through 3-mile ditch. Idle in 1913; small producer when operated. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 405.

Hicks, formerly known as China Gulch. In Sec. 2, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., 7 miles northwest of Hornbrook in the Klamath Reserve. Owner. J. T. Hicks. Comprises 40 acres. Ore shoot said to be 600 feet long. but only 3 inches wide on the surface, occurring in granite. Surface stripped of overburden and ore exposed a few feet below, which was crushed in an arrastra; 150-foot tunnel; 8-foot arrastra, run by water power; tailings impounded (150 tons on hand), which are to be treated in cyanide plant soon; said to assay from $5 to $15 per ton. Idle at present. Small producer.

Highland, in Sec. 25, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Cottonwood mining district, 3 miles west of Hornbrook in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, 835 C. A. Myers. Comprises 60 acres; ore shoot is 125 feet long and 10 inches wide, being free milling and high grade; formation is slate; 1500-foot tunnel on the vein; idle at present; discovered in 1903 by Donnelly Bros.; then abandoned and relocated by Rogers, who aban- donded it, and was relocated by present owner; small producer.

Highland, in Sec. 16, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining district, 11 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve, is one of the noted quartz mines of this county. It is owned by the Belgium-Bohemian Mining Company of Belgium. H. E. Mattern, superintendent. Comprises 100 acres at an elevation of 6400 feet. Supplies are brought over a 3-mile trail by means of pack animals, ore shoots are about 130 feet long and 2 feet wide, having a strike of N. 40' E and a dip of 30' SE.; footwall is dioritic-schist and hang- ing-wall is quartz-porphyry; workings consist of tunnels, the main tunnel having a length of 600 feet; there are several thousand feet of development work, all near the apex of the mountain, so that only a shallow depth has been obtained; equipment consists of cars, mining tools, assay office, dwellings, and a 10-stamp mill (modern pattern) run by gasoline; twenty-six men are employed; said to have produced over $350,000; best ore found in pockets; discovered in 1899 by P. Musick, who extracted $80,000 from pockets.

Highland, known also as the Old Highland. In Sec. 12, T 39 N., R. 10 W., in the Salmon River mining district, 12 1/2 miles northwest of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Denny-Bar Company. Comprises 60 acres on Trail Creek; fissure vein between walls of granite and schist, being an extension of the Trail Creek ledge; 200-foot tunnel, and 400 feet of drifts; ore is free and easily worked; idle at present; owners only do assessment work; Trail Creek prospect to the south. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 405.

Hoboken, in Sec. 21, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood mining district, 11 miles north of Fort Jones. Owner, T. A. Walker. Com- prises 40 acres, patented, on Cherry Creek; 120-foot ore shoot, 10 inches wide, with diabase foot and slate hanging-walls; 600-foot tunnel and 250-foot drift; small producer at one time, the ore being crushed in an arrastra; idle since 1907. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 284; XIII. p 406.

Homestake, in Sec. 15, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Taylor & Bobs; J. F. Boyle, superintendent. Comprises 120 acres on the same lode as the Highland mine; formation is quartz-porphyry and dioritic schist; worked by means of tunnels; high grade (pocket) gold extracted, which has made the property noted; discovered in 1902; elevation is 6100 feet; eight men are employed; has produced several thousand dollars in high grade; 2-mile trail from wagon road.

Hooper Hill, formerly known as Preckel, in Sec. 21, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott Bar mining district, 1/2 mile southeast of Scott Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, H. Preckel; comprises 20 acres along Scott River; slate bedrock; 20 feet of gravel; water from Pat Ford Creek through 1 mile of ditch; equipment: one giant, 1100 feet of pipe and dwelling; worked on a small scale. Idle on account of lack of water.

Hoosier Hill, in Sec. 36, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg Bar mining district, 1/2 mile west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, C. L. Willard; comprises 32 acres of patented ground, located in 1856; bedrock is schist; 20 to 50 feet of gravel; two giants and 800 feet of pipe; rich ground worked years ago; leased, and only short season in 1913 due to shortage of water; small production.

Huey Hill, in Sec. 25, T. 18 N., R. 6 E., in the Happy Camp Mining district, 14 miles north of Happy Camp in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, D. Huey; comprises 40 acres, patented; schist bedrock; 20 feet of gravel; two giants and pipe; only worked in a limited way, small pro- ducer; some good gravel. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 407.

Hummer, in Sec. 18, T. 40 N., R. 7 W., in Callahan mining district; owned by Mischler & Rollins, of Callahan. Claims worked to a limited extent by shallow shafts and open cuts; formation is serpen- tine, though the ore deposits are connected with dikes of quartz- porphyry which have penetrated the serpentine; ore lies in irregular bodies, consisting of pyrrhotite and other sulphides, carrying copper; ore said to contain nickel. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 123.

Humpback, formerly known as Fagundez, in Secs. 4, 5, 8 and 9, T. 39 N., R. 11 W.. in the Liberty mining district; 3 miles south of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Comprises 80 acres of patented land on Eddy's Gulch; elevation 3400 feet; length along lode 6000 feet; ore shoot is 80 to 100 feet long and 1 foot wide; strike N. 20' E., dip 25' NE.; formation is slate; workings consist of 250-foot tun- nel, drifts and crosscuts; small producer; idle for several years. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 619.

Imperial Heights Imperial Heights, in Sec. 33, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 2 miles south of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, Ed Hickey; comprises 40 acres on North Fork of Salmon River; slate bedrock; 20 to 80 feet of gravel; water from Shel- latoe Gulch through 2-mile ditch; 2 giants, 1700 feet of pipe and der- rick; operated during the winter; small producer.

Indian Bar, in Sec. 30, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., 6 miles northeast of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Ayles & Dunn; comprises 40 acres; schist bedrock; 15 feet of gravel. Idle; only do assessment work. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 277: XIII. p 407.

Inyo, in Sec. 2, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining district, 11 miles west of Yreka in Klamath Reserve at an elevation of 3100 feet. Owner, J. D. Fairchild. Comprises 20 acres, discovered in 1909; short ore shoots in quartz-porphyry pocket mine; produced $4000. Idle. Only do assessment work.

Ironsides, formerly known as Little Wonder, in Sec. 26, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in Greenhorn mining district. 7 miles southwest of Yreka, in Klamath Reserve. Owner, James Ironsides; worked as a pocket mine; three short tunnels; small producer of high grade ore. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 285; XIII, p. 408.

J. Walker, of Greenview, has a deposit of grayish colored clay of good quality, located in Sec. 32, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., M. D. M.; a good grade of bricks manufactured at one time. Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 258.

Jack Lowden, in Sec. 13, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district, 10 miles west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, J. S. Lowden; comprises 140 acres of patented land along the Klamath River; slate bedrock; 5 to 40 feet of gravel; water from 853 Walker Creek through 2 1/2-mile ditch of 1500 inches capacity; one giant and 2500 feet of pipe; four to five month operating season; good ground.

Jackson see Buckeye Bar

Joe Ramus, in Sec. 6, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott Bar mining district, 3 miles north of Scott Bar, on Scott River in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, G. A. Milne; comprises 60 acres; slate bedrock; 20 feet of gravel; water from Tom Creek; through 2 1/2 miles of ditch; equipment: two giants and 1000 feet of pipe; yearly production about $7500; worked years ago by rocker and said to have produced $500,000; two men employed at present; idle on account of lack of water; some good ground.

John Miller, in Sec. 3, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining district, 4 miles north of Yreka. Owner, J. A. Tiexeria; in Klamath Forest Reserve; 40 acres patented; 10 feet of gravel; slate bedrock. Idle for several years. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 409. 860

Johnson and China Paul, in Sec. 12, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., in Quartz Valley mining district, 7 miles north of Greenview. Owner, S. H. Hol- gate. Comprises 80 acres; 200-foot ore shnot, 10 inches wide, in diabase; 680-foot tunnel; some rich pockets extracted from Johnson claim; idle since 1910 Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 626

Jumbo see Ruby Basin

K
Return to Top

Kangaroo, , in Sec. 29, T. 40 N., R. 7 W., in the Callahan mining district, 9 miles southeast of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner C. O. Johnson. Comprises 60 acres; short ore shoot, in diorite and granitic-porphyry, 220-foot tunnel and 400 feet of drifts; worked for pockets; some high grade ore extracted.

Katie May, , in Sec. 24, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Greenhorn mining district, 6 miles west ol Yreka in Klamath Reserve. Owner, A. S. Calkins; comprises 20 acres; located in 1886; relocated in 1900, short ore shoots in diorite and slate; 250-foot tunnel and 80-foot shaft; one stope, 60 feet by 4 feet by 50 feet; ore in sight consists of 100 tons, valued at $14 per ton; only do assessment work. Bibl.: Report XlII, p. 409.

King See Golden West

King Solomon, King Solomon, in Secs. 6 and 7, T. 38 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 12 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve, is another of the quartz producers of Siskiyou County. It is owned by C. B. Cottrell, of Westerly, R. I.; W. H. Young, superintendent, and comprises 40 acres located in the eighties by P. Dannenbrink; length along lode 3000 feet; length of ore shoot, 230 feet; width 5 feet; strike north and south; dip 60' E.; footwall, quartz-porphyry; hanging-wall slate; ore free milling; workings: 130-foot shaft, tunnels, longest being 460 feet, over 1000 feet of drifts, cross-cuts and stopes, making in all several hundred feet of development work; equipment: cars, 30 h.p. boiler, small hoist, dwellings and an 8-stamp mill; has been a good producer and pay ore in sight;five men employed at present; mine being opened up so as to have a considerable tonnage blocked out. Little Bonsa, in Sec. 9, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mIning district, 4 1/2 miles north of Yreka. Owner, C. N. Gordon; in Klamath Reserve; 20 acres located in 1910; short ore shoot, 6 inches wide; two tunnels, longest 40 feet; idle since 1912.

Klamath Hot Springs, in Sec. 27, T. 48 N., R 3 W., at Klamath Springs. Owned by Edson Estate; claimed good for rheumatism and blood diseases; several dwellings on the property. Bibl.: Mineral Springs of California, Anderson, p. 183.

Klamath River Gold Mining Company, in Sec. 15, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., the Cottonwood mining district, 12 miles southwest of Hornbrook in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Klamath River Gold Mining Com- pany; comprises 20 acres on old bar of Klamath River; bedrock is slate; gravel 5 to 20 feet deep; old shafts to bedrock; company spent considerable money without any return. Idle.

Klein, formerly known as the Casey, in Sec. 4, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 2 1/2 miles south of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, Woodfill & Luddy; comprises 50 acres; slate bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; water from Eddy's Gulch through 1/2 mile of ditch; one giant and 500 feet of pipe; worked on a small scale during the winter; small producer. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 286; XIIl, p. 411.

Knownothing Creek See Hansen

Lewis see Big Ledge

Little, in Sec. 12, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district; 10 miles west of Hamburg Bar. Owners, Little &; Straisch; comprises 60 acres, located in 1899; ledge 39 feet wide, with northwest and south- east strike and dip of 20' E.; in schist and limestone; 40-foot tunnel. Idle.

Little Bonsa, in Sec. 9, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mIning district, 4 1/2 miles north of Yreka. Owner, C. N. Gordon; in Klamath Reserve; 20 acres located in 1910; short ore shoot, 6 inches wide; two tunnels, longest 40 feet; idle since 1912.

Little Queen see Morris and Carlock

Little Wonder see Ironsides

Lou Daggettt See Siskiyou River Ben

Lowden, formerly known as McCreary, in Secs. 2 and 35, T. 45 and 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg mining district, 1/2 mile south of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, J. S. Lowden; comprises 60 acres, 20 of which are patented, and follows the course of the Klamath River; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of gravel; water from Tom Creek through a ditch 2 miles long; two giants and 1000 feet of pipe; worked on a small scale; idle on account of scarcity of water. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 286; XIII, p. 413.

Luce, in Sec. 41 (sic), T. 41 N., R. 8 W., in tbe Deadwood mining dis- trict, 3 miles north of Fort Jones. Owner, A. H. Luce; comprises 160 acres, patented, located in 1907; dike in schist, 300 feet wide and can be traced for 1500 feet, and is of good quality taking a fine polish and easily worked; only small amount extracted from shallow cuts. Idle at present.

Lucky Strike, in Sec. 33, T. 41 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining district, 9 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Mining Company, of Los Angeles; president, T. Eagerly; superintendent, W. F. Smith. Comprises 80 acres; short ore shoot in hornblende schist; 450-foot tunnel; some high grade ore found near the surface; two men employed.

Lucky Bob, in Sec. 2, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Virginia Dale min- ing district, in town of Gottville. Owners, Freshour Brothers; com- prises 40 acres, being a bench and bar along the Klamath River; slate bedrock; 7 feet of gravel; old shafts from 30 to 50 feet deep; good producer years ago; worked by leasers at times, but idle at present. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 287; XIII, p. 413. 863

Lucky Strike, in Sec. 28, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Greenhorn mining district, 1 1/2 miles northwest of Yreka. Owner, F. M. Osgood; superintendent, J. M. Beale; 160 acres, located in 1865; formation, slate; doing development work; 1000 tons of ore in sight; four tunnels and one 80 foot shaft; nine men employed. Some ore treated in custom mill at Yreka.

Malloy See Oregonian Group

Maplesden see Happy Home

Marble Mountain, a very large belt in Secs. 16, 19, 20 and 21, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., M. D. M., is a noted landmark; the limestone is metamorphosed, producing all varieties and colors of marble, but principally pure white. (See photo No. 5.) Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 107.

Marrian and Goodale, in Sec. 15, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining district, 9 1/2 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, Incorporated Company, of San Francisco; James Hogan, manager; comprises 80 acres, located in 1903; short ore shoot,in hornblende schist; 480-foot tunnel; rich bunches of high grade found; 2-stamp mill driven by steam power; dwellings; has been a small producer; idle at present.

McClaughry Group, McCraughry Group, in Sec. 8, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining district, 14 miles northwest of Yreka in Klamath Reserve. Owner, C. Humphreys; comprises 80 acres; formation is dolomite; 160-foot ore shoot, 2 feet wide; free milling; 600-foot tunnel; ore reserve consists of 1500 tons, assaying $20 per ton. Idle.

Wm. McConnell's claim , Humbug Creek, took out in one season, $34,000; same claim, next season, $28,000; same claim, next season, $22,000; total, $84,000; pick and shovel, and use of derrick, from one acre. 844 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.

McCreary see Lowden

McDaniels, in See. 6, T. 41 N., R. 9 W., M. D. M., on road from Etna to Sawyer's Bar. Owned by R. McDaniels of Etna; seams of diabase through the marble and body of pure white marble much smaller than in the Parker deposit. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 632; Bull. No. 38, p. 107. 868

McGuffey, in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River mining district, in town of Scott Bar in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, T. G. McGuffey; comprises 40 acres, on Scott River, located in 1873; slate bed- rock; 20 to 40 feet of gravel; equipment consists of two giants, and 600 feet of pipe; worked on a small scale; has been a good producer. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 287; XIII, p. 415.

McKeen see Cummings

McKinney Creek, in Sec. 9, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in Oak Bar Mining district, 26 miles west of Hornbrook. Owners, S. H. and S. R. Crary, in Klamath Forest Reserve; contains 40 acres; schist bedrock; 12 feet of gravel; water from McKinney Creek through a ditch 2 1/2 miles long.

McMahon , in Sec. 25, T. 40 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 3 miles southeast of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, C. A. Crowley; comprises 40 acres, on the Scott River; schist bedrock; good pay in the soft spots; 150-foot tunnel; old 40-foot shaft (caved); worked a little during the winter; small producer. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 287; XIII, p. 415.

McNeal see Nordheimer

McNeals see Forks

Michigan-Salmon, formerly known as the Red Hill, in Secs. 19, 20, 21 and 28, T. 10 N., R. 8 E., 1 1/2 miles east of Forks of Salmon in the Klamath Forest Reserve, is one of the noted hydraulic mines in the Lib- erty district, and comprises 600 acres, 40 of which are patented. It is owned by the Michigan-Salmon Mining Company of Detroit, Mich.; president, S. Stevens; secretary, George Whitworth; superintendent, L. E. Taggett. These holdings, extending along the Salmon River for a distance of 2 1/2 miles, consisting of old river bars and benches, include the well known Red Hill, Missouri Bar, Cash, Clovis and Rocky Bar placers, which were good producers during pioneer mining days. The 854 general course of the channel is southwest; depth of gravel 20 feet; bed- rock consists of slate and schist; about 60 acres have been worked; water is obtained from Knownothing Creek through 1 mile of ditch and 3 miles of flume, having a capacity of 40 inches; the equipment consists of two Ruble elevators (which are 90 feet long, 8 1/2 feet wide and pitch at an angle of 17'), dwellings, three giants. pipe, etc.; six men employed continually and twelve during operating season of seven months; operating cost about $12,000 per year; good profit made from operations. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 615; XII, p. 290; XIII, p. 422.

Milich , in Sec. 2, T. 10 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district, 5 miles northwest of Forks of Salmon. Owner, P. Milich; comprises 20 acres; schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; water from Crapo Creek through 1 1/2-mile ditch. Idle since 1911. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 288; XIII, p. 415.

Miller, in Sec. 34, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 5 miles southeast of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Jackson & Biedenbeck; comprises 20 acres; schist bedrock; 40 feet of gravel; 2 tunnels l00 and 60 feet in length on the bedrock; water from Jackson Creek through 1/2 mile of flume; no production since 1911; some good ground. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 415.

Monarch,, , in Sec. 7, T. 40 N., R. 7 W., Callahan mining district; owned by Monarch Copper Mining Company, of Callahan; 240 acres, patented; tunnels and shafts (shallow); sulphide ore. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 124.

Monarch, , in Sec. 8, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district. Owner, G. R. Godfrey; comprises 40 acres, on Eddy Creek, at an elevation of 3300 feet; pocket mine; 150-foot tunnel; pockets occur in slate; only do assessment work.

Montezuma , in Sec. 20, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Callahan mining district, in town of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, Hop- yick; comprises 20 acres on the Scott River; schist bedrock; 20 to 50 feet of gravel; Chinese working over an old dump; noted producer years ago; best ground worked out. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 6l2; XII, p. 288; XIII, p. 416.

Morrison & Carlock, formerly known as the Little Queen, is located in the Quartz Valley mining district, in Sec. 13, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., 4 miles northwest of Greenview, and comprises 60 acres of patented land. It is owned by the Richman Company of Fort Jones and has a production record of $500,000. Idle since 1907 on account of lawsuits. Altitude, 2800 feet; course of vein, N. 20' E:, dip 45' E.; vertical depth 400 feet (shaft, size 5' x7'); number of levels, eight;1200-foot drift to the west on this level; walls, limestone and quartz-porphyry; length of ore shoot 350 feet; width 16 inches; 1500-foot tunnel on vein; character of ore, brittle smoky quartz, free milling; mine equipment: 35 h.p. steam hoist, Gould water pump, cages, dwellings, assay office; reduction equipment: l0-stamp mill built by Union Iron Works, operated by electricity.

Mount Vernon, in Sec. 25, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Greenhorn mining district; 6 miles southwest of Yreka in Klamath Reserve. Owner, Incorporated Eastern Company; ore shoots are 150 feet long and 2 feet wide, occurring in slate; strike N. 40' E.; dip 50' S.; three tunnels longest being 1200 feet on the vein; equipment: dwellings, assay office and 10-stamp mill driven by electricity, power being obtained by California-Oregon Power Company; has been a producer; worked at times by leasers; idle at present.

N
Return to Top

Native Son , in Sec. 13, T. 10 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district, 1 mile northeast of Forks of Salmon in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, M. L. Mills; comprises 20 acres; schist bedrock, coarse gold being found on same; 30 feet of gravel; adjoins Forks of Salmon mine; only short season's run on account of lack of water; some good gravel.

Nigger Boy, Nigger Boy, in Sec. 2, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Cottonwood mining district, 5 miles southwest of Hornbrook in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, W. H. Allison; comprises 60 acres. located in 1898; formation 838 is slate and diorite; ore shoot is 180 feet long and 2 feet wide, two tunnels, 1000 and 80 feet long on vein; equipment: dwellings, mining tools, blacksmith shop, 2-stamp mill driven by steam and water power; 1 1/2 mile ditch from Ash Creek; under bond to Commercial Copper and Gold Mining Company, of Tallant, Oregon; three men are employed; some production, and ore reserves, claimed.

Nordheimer, formerly known as McNeal, in Sec. 3, T. 10 N., R. 7 E., 5 miles southwest of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Nordheimer Mining Company; H. B. Morey of Menlo Park, secretary; Ed Kingston, superintendent; comprises 60 acres of patented land on Salmon River; schist bedrock; 15 to 25 feet of gravel; equip- ment two giants, pipe and dwellings; five men employed at rate of $3 per day; has been a good producer. Idle on account of lack of water. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 611.

The Northern California Dredge Company, owning several acres of land along the Klamath River in Sec. 36, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., M. D. M., about 1/2 mile west of Hamburg Bar, endeavored to work their land by means of a suction dredge, which proved a failure. The dredge has been idle since 1911.

O'Donnell, in Secs. 3, 4 and 10, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkins- ville mining district, 3 miles north of Yreka. Owner, Mrs. O'Donnell, in Klamath Forest Reserve; 45 acres patented; worked since 1856; slate bedrock; 10 to 20 feet of gravel; small production.

Ohio Group, in Sec. 8, T. 46 N., R. 6 W., in Fool's Paradise min- ing district; 7 miles south of Hornbrook. Owner, W. Seeman; 60 acres, patented, located in 1903; formation, syenite and diorite base ore; 300-foot oreshoot, 1 foot wide; 500-feet tunnel. Idle.

Old Highland see Highland

Old Indian, in See. 4, T. 9 N., R. 8 E., in Liberty mining district; 9 miles southwest of Forks of Salmon, in Klamath Reserve. Owner, A. Nally; comprises 40 acres, located in 1892; short ore shoot in serpen- tine; 200-foot tunnel; old 120-foot shaft (caved), worked as a pocket mine; only do assessment work.

Old Jackson see Fleetwood and Nannie S.

Old Vet and Eclipse, in Secs. 10 and 11, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining district, 10 miles northwest of Yreka in Klamath Reserve at an elevation of 3900 feet. Owner, J. P. Horn: comprises 40 acres; two parallel veins in granite; three tunnels, Iongest being 100 feet; few tons of ore milled, gave returns of' $14 on plates. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 418.

Oregonian Group, formerly known as the Malloy, in Secs. 15, 16, 21and 22, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 3 miles northeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, D. Malloy; comprises 60 acres, located in 1886; 160-foot ore shoot 5 feet wide, strike N. 30' E, dip 40' NE.; strong ledge in granite; 420-foot tunnel;only do assessment work. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 289; XIll, p. 419.

Oro Grande, in Secs. 10 and 11, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in the Humbug mining district, 12 miles northwest of Yreka in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Trask & Corinson; comprises 100 acres, located in 1860 and relocated in 1892 by present owners; four parallel veins, having dolomite foot and porphyry hanging-walls; 300-foot ore shoot, 2 feet wide; 300- foot tunnel and 160-foot shaft; one stope 80 feet by 4 feet by 40 feet; 10-foot arrastra run by water from Humbug Creek; owners claim ore reserve of 1000 tons, value $16: produced to date $20,000; some of the ore pans $40 per ton; owners do all the work. Bibl.: Report, XIII, p. 419.

Overton, in Sec. 16, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining district; 13 miles southeast of Etna MilIs in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Overton Gold Mining Company; C. E. Overton, president; 839 L. E. Buckner, superintendent; comprises 80 acres. ore shoots are 100 feet long and 20 inches wide, in dioritic schist; 420-foot tunnel, drifts and stope; 120 tons of ore on the dump, which is carried on mules to the Advance mill, a distance of 2 miles (5 mules handle 1 ton each trip, or 8 tons per day); property is idle at present; small producer.

P
Return to Top

Paine, in Sec. 21, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., 28 1/2 miles west of Hornbrook in the Oak Bar mining district in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, A. A. Paine; schist bedrock; 8 feet of gravel; comprises 20 acres. Idle.

Paradise Flat, in Sec. 29, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 1/8 mile west of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, A. Meyers; comprises 40 acres, patented along North Fork of the Salmon River; slate bedrock; 10 to 50 feet of gravel; old bench; 1000- foot tunnel; only worked on a small scale; said to have produced $140,000; seems to be a second bench, carrying good pay.

Parker, in Sec. 32, T. 42 N., R. 9 W., near Etna. Owned by A. Parker, Jr.; belt from 100 to 200 feet wide at elevation of 4000 feet; marble heavily bedded, in places being perfectly white and fine-grained, while in other places it is pink-colored and very coarsely crystalline; worked to a limited extent. Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 107.

Peter Smith, of Etna, owns a bank of clay in Sec. 21, T. 42 N., R. 9 W., M. D. M. This deposit consists of 4 feet of clay of good quality, from which bricks were burned and used in buildings in Etna. Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 257.

Phillips, in Sec. 6, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining dis- trict; 14 miles west of Hamburg Bar. Owner, S. Phillips; comprises 40 acres, located in 1900; ledge 30 to 100 feet wide, with northwest and southeast strike and dip 35- E.; in schist and limestone; 110-foot tunnel; strong gossan cropping traceable for 1500 feet; only do assess- ment work.

Pilot Knob, in Secs. 23, 24 and 26, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in the Virginia Bar mining district 3 miles north of Gottville in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Pilot Knob Mining Company; president, W. D. Wall; secretary and superintendent, T. K. Anderson; home office, Gottville; comprises 310 acres; formation, hornblende schist; three veins; length and width of ore body not determined; crosscut tunnel 340 feet long, not in ore as yet; several small tunnels in ore; ore is free milling and runs $20 per ton; equipment consists of assay office, several dwellings, 600 feet of aerial tramway; 5-stamp Risdon Iron Works mill (850-pound stamps) run by water power; two men employed; last ore milled gave returns of $18 per ton from 16 tons; located in 1882.

Pine Grove From Pine Grove Mine, from a pit 100 feet square, on bedrock, and 18 feet deep, $6,000 was extracted.

Pine Grove, hydraulic mine, in Sec. 10., T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in the Oak Bar mining district; is one of the famous placer properties on the Klamath River. It is 28 miles west of Hornbrook at an elevation of 2600 feet and comprises an old river bar containing 100 acres. The pay gravel is over 1000 feet wide in places, with a depth of 18 feet and a northeast and southwest course, following the south bank of the Kla- math River. The bedrock is schist of medium hardness, and coarse gold is found here. It was formerly worked with hydraulic elevators, but at present a drag scraper is used to convey the gravel to the sluice boxes, a 2-reel steam hoist being attached to the scraper. Water for the sluice boxes is pumped from the river. Wood is the fuel used. The owner, H. H. Barton, has bonded this group to W. B. Carlock, of San Francisco; eight men are employed; about 30 acres have been worked 855 and some of this ground, removed years ago, was very rich. From a pit 100 feet square on bedrock, at a depth of 18 feet, over $6000 was taken out. In one day $300 of bedrock pay was panned out. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 592. From Pine Grove Mine, from a pit 100 feet square, on bedrock, and 18 feet deep, $6,000 was extracted.

Plutus, in Secs. 12 and 14, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in Callahan mining district; owned by McCarter, of Callahan; comprises five claims; ore, (pyrrhotite with small percentage of copper); occurs in gabbro and ser- pentine. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 123.

Polar Bear, in Sec. 12, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Callahan mining district; owned by Welkes & Sons; comprises one claim; ore bodies 6 feet wide, consisting of chalcopyrite and pyrrhotite, in serpentine; 200 tons extracted, said to carry 17% copper. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 124.

Portuguese, in Sec. 4, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining dis- trict, 12 miles west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, H. Wood; comprises 140 acres of patented land along the Kla- math River; schist bedrock; 20 to 50 feet of gravel, with from 4 to 10 feet of cemented gravel in places, requiring blasting; water is obtained from Portuguese Creek through 1 1/2-mile ditch; equipment consists of three No. 2 giants, dwellings and 2500 feet of pipe; yearly production from $10,000 to $15,000; about 30 acres have been worked to date; bonded to Jerome Mining Company, of San Francisco. Idle on account of lack of water. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 595; XII, p. 290; XIII, p. 420.

Portuguese Company, at Oak Bar, took out, with eleven men and use of derrick, in three days, by hand shoveling, $3000, or at rate of $1000 per day.

Poverty Point, in Sec. 18, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in the Oak Bar mining district, 32 miles west of Hornbrook on Klamath River. Owner, H. H. Barton; 200 acres (40 acres patented); located in 1876; in Klamath Reserve; country rock, schist and diorite; 20 feet of gravel; 2400-foot tunnel (caved); produced $23,000. Idle for ten years. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 592; XIII, p. 420.

Preckel see Hooper Hill

Preston Peak, at head of South Fork of Indian Creek, 1 1/2 miles north of Preston Peak; owned by Preston Peak Copper Mining Company; ledge 20 to 30 feet wide, in diorite; ores are pyrite and chalcopyrite; 300-foot tunnel in ore; ore said to carry 12% copper with gold; one of the pioneer discoveries of the Siskiyou belt. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 132.

Prospect Hill, in Sec. 30, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., 11 miles from Orleans in the Cottage Grove mining district in Klamath Reserve. Owners, C. S. Little; several small tunnels in porphyry; free milling, 3-stamp mill; small production.

Providence, in Sec. 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining district, 5 miles northeast of Greenview. Owners, Kradel Brothers; comprises 40 acres; short ore shoot in diabase; worked for pockets; 650-foot tunnel; small producer. Idle; only do assessment work. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 421.

Quartz Gulch see Wingate Hill

Quarts Hill, in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River mining district, 1/2 mile south of Scott Bar on Scott River in Klamath Reserve. Owner H. G. Noonan, of San Francisco; comprises 45 acres of patented land on Quartz Hill, located in 1862; ore occurs in slate, and has heen worked both as a quartz and hydraulic mine, the surface having been worked as a placer deposit at one time; water is obtained from Mill Creek through two ditches, one 6 miles and the other 5 miles in length; the strike is northeast and southwest; the bedrock, so-called, consists of alternate beds of slate and quartzite, enclosed by two parallel dikes, 1800 feet apart. The whole mass is crushed by these dikes of quartzite; practically only the surface has heen worked; yearly production is from $10,000 to $12,000; equipment consists of old 10- stamp mill, two giants, and 1500 feet of pipe; some rich pockets found in the quartz seams. Idle at present. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 290; XIII, p 421.

Rainbow, Rainbow, in Sec. 24, T. 40 N., R. 5 W., in the Mt. Eddy mining district, 4 miles southwest of Sisson; owned by Wood & Sheldon Lum- ber Company; comprises 300 acres; tunnels and open cuts; one tunnel 400 feet long; ledge is 6 feet wide, in serpentine; ore is massive sul- phides; gossan croppings 100 to 600 feet wide are exposed for over 820 MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES, a mile on a spur of Mt. Eddy, having a strike of 70- NW. ancl dip of 60-; company's railroad near property ; property was first worked for gold, thirty years ago. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 125. Rainbow, in Sec. 24, T. 40 N., R. 5 W., in the Mt. Eddy mining district, 4 miles southwest of Sisson; owned by Wood & Sheldon Lum- ber Company; comprises 300 acres; tunnels and open cuts; one tunnel 400 feet long; ledge is 6 feet wide, in serpentine; ore is massive sul- phides; gossan croppings 100 to 600 feet wide are exposed for over 820

Ramis See Dick Morris

Red Hill, Red Hill, in Sec. 4, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in the Hawkinsville mining district; 5 miles north of Yreka. Owner, J. Phillips; in Klamath 840 Reserve; 13-inch vein; free milling; 40 acres, located in 1903; three tun- nels, one 304 feet long; formation quartz-porphyry; ore treated in cus- tom mill at Yreka. Produced $6,000.

Red Hill see Michigan-Salmon

Red Hill see Russian Hill

Reeder Group, Reeder Group, in Sec. 8, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in Fool's Paradise mining district; 6 1/2 miles south of Hornbrook. Owner, B. C. Reeder; I20 acres, located in 1875; formation slate; three tunnels, longest 250 feet; rich pockets taken out on Bonanza claim, largest being $20,000; said to have produced $50,000 to date; owner works claims.

Reeves see China Creek

Robinson Gulch, in Sec. 18, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining district, 14 miles southeast of Etna Mills at an elevation of 5400 feet. Owners, Robinson Gulch Mining Company, of Etna Mills; C. M. Chase, president; A. A. Dyer, superintendent; comprises 80 acres located in 1903; short ore shoot in hornblende schist; 100-foot tunnel; only do assessment work; small pocket discovered on the surface.

Rothrop, , in Secs. 5, 6, 7 and 8, T. 43 N., R. 8 W., 4 miles nortb- east of Fort Jones; owned by George Henderson; comprises 15 claims; developed by shafts and tunnels; ledge 6 feet wide in serpentine; some of the ore is reported to carry 20% copper. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 125.

Rough & Frye, in Sec. 30, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., 11 1/2 miles from Orleans, in the Cottage Grove mining district in Klamath Reserve. 0wner, C. Frye; 40 acres located in 1913; 175-foot tunnel and open cuts on surface for 600 feet; vein is 11 feet wide; free milling; some ore runs $15 per ton; doing development work.

Ruby Basin, formerly known as the Jumbo, in Sec. 36, T. 40 N.. R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 4 miles east of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, I. Cullberg, Jr., of Arcata, com- prises 100 acres on White's Gulch; 160-foot ore shoot; free milling, 3 feet wide, north and south strike and dip 40' E.; in slate, 800-foot tunnel, 500 feet of drifts and 60-foot stope; old 10-stamp mill, driven by water power; small producer at one time. Idle at present.

Russian Dump see Russian Hill

Russian Hill, formerly known as Russian Dump, Ahlgren, and Red Hill, in Secs. 23 and 24, T. 40 N., R. 12 W., in the Liberty mining district, 5 miles west of Sawyer's Bar. Owner, A. Ahlgren; comprises 80 acres on North Fork of Salmon River; slate bedrock; 40 to 80 feet of gravel; water from North Fork of Little Salmon River, through 3- mile ditch; two giants, 2800 feet of pipe and derrick; good producer, having been worked since the eighties; operated during the winter. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 276; XIII, p. 386.

Rycroft, in Sec. 14, T. 39 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 6 1/2 miles southwest of Callahan in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, S. Rycroft; comprises 60 acres, on Slide Creek; schist bedrock; 20 to 40 feet of gravel; two giants and 1000 feet of pipe; considerable gold extracted in past years. Idle. Do only assessment work. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 423.

S
Return to Top

Saint Lawrence, in Sec. 12, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., in the Quartz Val- ley mining district, 6 miles north of Greenview. Owner, A. G. Myers; comprises 20 acres; pockets in the quartz-porphyry; 220-foot tunnel. Idle.

Santana Brothers, in Sec. 11, T. 45 N., R 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining district, 2 1/2 miles north of Yreka. Owners, Santana Brothers, formerly known as Joe Lemois; 60 acres located in 1856; 7 feet of gravel; slate bedrock; small production. Idle until spring. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 424.

Sauer Kraut, in Sec. 34, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district, 9 miles southwest of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Chinese Company; comprises 40 acres of patented land; slate bedrock, 15 feet of gravel; produces about $2000 per year; rich gravel in the early days. Idle on account of lack of water; use two No. 2 giants. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 291; XIII, p. 424.

Schuler, in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River mining district in the town of Scott Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, M. Schuler; comprises 20 acres on Scott River; slate bedrock; 20 to 30 feet of gravel; 60 feet tunnel in river bank; only do assessment work; some rich ground worked at one time. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 425.

The Scott River Dredging Company operated a dredge on the Scott River near Callahan during 1908 and 1909. The project was finally abandoned and the machinery sold to the Trinity Dredging Company, and hauled to Trinity Center, Trinity County, where it was installed. Bibl.: Bull. No. 57, p. 221.

Scott Springs,, in Sec. 7, T. 39 N., R. 3 W., 3 miles north of Duns- muir; water and formation similar to Shasta Springs. Owned by J. J. Scott & Company. Bibl.: Report XI, p. 452.

Seiad, in Sec. 11, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district, 9 1/2 miles west of Hamburg Bar in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, T. K. Towne; comprises 60 acres along the Klamath River; schist bed- rock; 5 to 20 feet of gravel; water from Seiad Creek through 2-mile ditch; giant and pipe; do only assessment work

Shasta Springs, on the Oregon branch of the Southern Pacific Rail- road in Sec. 12, T. 39 N., R. 3 W., are owned by the Shasta Springs Mineral Water Company, and the only water from Siskiyou County on the market. These springs were first brought to notice during the con- struction of the railroad in 1887. The three springs--Shasta, Glacier and Keystone--are all about 300 feet apart. The water has a temperature of 51' F., and contains con- siderable carbonic acid gas, magnesium, potassium, iron, and a little manganese, lithium and arsenate. The bedrock is tufa, overlaid with doleritic lava. The equipment consists of bottling works and dwellings. Bibl.: Report XI, pp. 449-451; Mineral Springs of California, Anderson, p. 244.

Sheba see Golden Eagle

Sheffield see Uncle Sam Consolidated

Shiner,, in Sec. 7, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district; 12 miles west of Hamburg Bar. Owner, C. Shiner. Comprises 40 acres, at an elevation of 2000 feet; located in 1899; ledge 30 to 100 feet wide, with northwest and southeast strike and dip of 30- E., in schist and limestone; 80-foot tunnel; strong gossan cropping; ore is chalcopyrite. Only do assessment work.

Sightman see Cecilville

Simas and Rose, in Sec. 25, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in Greenhorn mining district, 4 1/2 miles west of Yreka. Owners, Simas & Rose; in Klamath Forest Reserve; 160 acres patented; located in 1870; 8 feet of gravel; slate bedrock; 2 miles of ditch; season from February to June. Idle.

The Siskiyou Coal Manufacturing Company's holdings near Horn- brook have been exploited by several open cuts along the croppings. The vein is 5 feet wide, with 30 inches of good lignite. Coal has been reported near Oak Bar, but is inferior in quality to the other deposits. Bibl.: Report XI, p. 449.

Siskiyou Dredging Company On1y one dredge in operation in Siskiyou County during the year 1913. This boat, owned by the Siskiyou Dredging Company, is working on McAdams Creek, some 5 miles north of the town of Fort Jones.

Siskiyou Klondike, in Secs. 15 and 16, in the Oak Bar mining district, 24 miles west of Hornbrook in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, H. H. Barton; comprises 40 acres; bedrock schist; 10 feet of gravel; 2-mile ditch from McKinney Creek; located in 1865; some pro- duction. Idle.

Siskiyou Mineral, in Secs. 33 and 34, T. 48 N., R. 9 W., 14 miles northwest of Walker. Owned by J. Garreston; water contains con- siderable iron and magnesia, and said to be good for blood diseases; con- ducted as a summer resort; several dwellings on the property. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 521.

Siskiyou Mines Company, in Secs. 2, 1, 6, 7, 5, 12 and 18, T. 16 and 17 N., R 7 and 8 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, in town of Happy Camp, is the largest hydraulic mine in this section. It is owned by the Siskiyou Mines Company, of New York City; Dr. Har- beck, president; C. A. Gardiner, secretary, and W. A. Maguire, super- intendent. These holdings, comprising 1500 acres, of which 640 are patented, follow the Klamath River and include several famous old placer claims which were rich and which were only superficially worked by the early miners. The general course of the channel is northwest and southeast; bedrock is schist; gravel from 10 to 60 feet deep, consisting of bars and benches; water is obtained from Thompson Creek, through 3 miles of ditch and 10 miles of flume; equipment consists of five giants, several thousand feet of pipe and dwellings; ten men employed at pres- ent; operating expenses are heavy during the season.

Siskiyou Quicksilver Mining Company, of San Francisco, comprise several acres on the headwaters of the West Fork of Beaver Creek, some 15 miles west of Cole's Station. The develop- ment consists of several hundred feet of tunnelling and drifts. The reduction plant consists of a 10-ton furnace. Idle for some time; had a small production. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 370; XIII, p. 602; Bull. 27, p. 196.

Siskiyou River Bend see Lou Daggett

Slide Creek see Belle Josephine

Skelton , in Sec. 26, T. 41 N., R. 9 W., in the Liberty mining dis- trict, 5 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, D. Skelton; comprises 20 acres, located in 1893; 130-foot vein, 4 feet wide, but base in character and probably too low grade to pay to work, as it only carries $3 in gold per ton, 2% copper and a little silver2. Idle at present.

Slumway, in Sec. 3, T. 10 N., R.7 E., in the Liberty mining district, 4 1/2 miles northwest of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, Bennett Company; comprises 40 acres of patented ground; schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; water from Slumway Creek, through 3 mile ditch. Idle since 1910. SISKIYOU COUNTY. 857

Soapstone is found in several places in Siskiyou County, a large expose being noted in the northeast sections of T. 45 N., R. 11 W., south- east of Hamburg Bar, having a course of N. 50' E. and can be traced toward the ridge west of Scott River and is 50 feet wide; it is of good quality and resists the effect of fire for years in fireplaces; also used in sheets 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch thick for stove backs. There is another large belt south of Marble Mountain, in T. 13 N., R 8 E., H.M, near the head of Wolley Creek.

Southern Pacific Railroad Company owns several quarries in Sec. 29, T. 47 N., R. 6 W., near Hornbrook; stone breaks in large blocks, some weighing 4 to 5 tons; quarries worked by plug and feather method; sandstone used in construction of Jones & Horn buildings in Horn- brook, built in 1888 and shows no signs of weathering. Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 140.

Specifmen, in Sec. 15, T. 40 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 5 miles west of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, W. Ellis; comprises 60 acres, on Craig's Gulch; short ore shoot in hornblende schist; worked for pockets, and some rich specimens extracted; 150-foot tunnel. Idle at present. Bibl.: Report XIII p. 427.841

Squaw Gulch, also known as French John, in Sec. 1, T. 40 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district; 4 miles northwest of Calla- han in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, D. L. Jones; comprises 60 acres; schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; two giants and 800 feet of pipe; water from Sugar Creek through a ditch 9 miles long, carrying 800 inches; worked only in winter; small producer; worked years ago as a drift mine and some rich gravel removed.

Star, in Sec. 12, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., in the Quartz Valley mining district, 6 miles north of Greenview. Owner, F. Star; comprises 20 acres, located in 1882; pockets in the quartz porphyry; 700-foot tunnel. Idle.

Steele Quarry, in Sec. 27, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., 3/4 mile southeast of Yreka. Owned by J. M. Steele; comprises 100 acres, located in 1896; deposit just being opened up and its extent not determined as yet; plant consists of a crusher, operated by gasoline, cars, and mining tools; five men are employed; rock used on streets in Yreka.

Sterling, in Sec. 20, T. 42 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood mining district, 13 miles northwest of Fort Jones at an elevation of 7300 feet. Owner, W. Crocker; comprises 40 acres on east fork of Deadwood Creek; short ore shoot in slate and diabase; worked for pockets; some rich ore extracted; 620-foot tunnel; only do assessment work. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 428.

Sturn, formerly known as the Colby, in Sec. 2, T. 16 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 1 mile north of Happy Camp in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, G. H. Compton; comprises 200 acres of patented land, on old river channel; schist bedrock; equipment consists of small reservoir to collect surface waters, 2 miles of ditch, one giant, and 1000 feet of pipe; production $2000 per season of three months; lack of water limits mining operations; good ground.

Sugar Hill, in Sec. 20, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Callahan mining district, 5 miles southwest of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, G. W. Smith; comprises 40 acres on Fox Creek; schist bedrock, 864 coarse gold being found in crevices in this bedrock; 320-foot tunnel, 40-foot shaft (caved); 20 to 40 feet of gravel, loose. Idle; only do assessment work; some good pay, extracted years ago. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 611.

Sulphur Springs, in Sec. 18, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in the Virginia Bar mining district, 7 miles north of Gottville, on Empire Creek in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, E. Campbell; comprises 20 acres; schist bed- rock; 3 to 5 feet of gravel; only small production in 1912.

Sundown, in Sec. 19, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in Virginia Bar mining district, 4 miles north of Gottville in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Denver Mining Company, C. A. Von, president; home office, Denver, Colorado; comprises 60 acres: formation, diorite and schist; ore shoot 100 to 120 feet long, 2 feet wide; two tunnels, 150 and 800 feet long; 5-stamp mill driven by water power; I mile ditch from Dutch Creek; small production. Idle. xxxxx

Sylvester Ramus , in Sec. 11, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining district, 2 1/2 miles north of Yreka. Owner, S. Ramus; in Klam- ath Forest Reserve; 87 acres; water from lower Greenhorn ditch, 6 miles long; 5 feet of gravel; slate bedrock. Idle; worked each spring; small output.

T. A. Reynolds, of Fort Jones, had an old brick kiln, using surface clay, from a deposit in Sec. 11, T. 43 N., R. 9 W. Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 257.

T. Hamilton, of Fort Jones, formerly made bricks from the surface clay from a deposit in Sec. 2, T. 43 N., R. 9 W. Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 257. 817

Taft, in Sec. 30, T. 11 N., R. 8 E., in Liberty mining district, 9 miles northeast of Forks of Salmon by trail; in Klamath Reserve; at at elevation of 2800 feet. Owner, C. Taylor; comprises 40 acres, located in 1908; pocket gold in slate; 100-foot tunnel; small production. Idle.

Talc is a hydrous silicate of magnesia (4 MgO, 5 SiO2, H2O) that occurs in different varieties, of which soapstone is one of the most important. Soapstone is more compact and harder than talc and is used in the manufacture of many articles, such as bath and laundry tubs, switch- boards for electrical plants, sinks, griddles und many other articles. Talc is used as a powder, or flour talc, and as pieces sawed into various sizes and shapes. The flour talc is used in fireproof paints, electric insulators, boiler and steam pipe coverings, toilet powder, in the manu- facture of powder and other articles.

Taylor and Maplesden see Deep Channel

Tebbe, , in Sec. 32, T. 4 N., R. 9 W., in the Oak Bar mining dis- trict; 4 miles north of Oak Bar. Owner, G. A. Tebbe. Comprises 40 acres; ledge 30 feet wide in schist and limestone; 120-foot tunnel in ore. Idle.

Teddy-Avalon, in Sec. 18, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in Virginia Bar min- ing district, 7 miles north of Gottville in Klamath Reserve. Owner, E. J. Durkee; comprises 40 acres; formation is granite; short ore shoot, 1 foot wide; 125-foot tunnel; little high grade taken out; free milling.

Ten Eyck, in Sec. 28, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., in the Liberty mining dis- trict, 3 miles northwest of Somes Bar. Owner, W. Lord; comprises 80 acres, slate bedrock; coarse gold found in bedrock crevices; two giants; good producer for a number of years; yearly production said to exceed $20,000; fifteen men employed during season; four men working at present; water from Ten Eyck Creek. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 605; XIII, p. 430.

Thomain, in Sec. 5, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining dis- trict, 4 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, F. and C. F. Thomain; comprises 20 acres, on Eddy's Gulch; slate bedrock; 10 to 30 feet of gravel; water from Eddy's Gulch through 1 mile of flume; one giant and 800 feet of pipe; operated only during the winter; small producer.

Thompson Creek, in Sec. 8, T. 17 N., R 8 E., H. M., in the Happy Camp mining district, 8 1/2 miles northeast of Happy Camp on Thomp- son Creek. Owner, J. C. Wood, comprises 40 acres, located in 1890; large massive beds in schist and serpentine, few open cuts, so that extent of marble deposit not determined; it is hard and takes a good polish; the crystals are large, white and translucent. Idle.

Tom Rogers, in Sec. 11, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining district, 2 miles north of Yreka. Owner, Phillips Brothers; in Klamath Forest Reserve; 113 acres, patented; discovered in 1860; water from Greenhorn Creek; short season. Idle since May; 5 to 10 feet of gravel; slate bedrock. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 430.

Trail Creek, in Sec. 12, T. 39 N., R. 10 W., in the Salmon River mining district, 12 miles west of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, Trail Creek Mining Company, of Callahan; George A. Foster, president and superintendent; George Hart, secretary; comprises 100 acres on Trail Creek at an elevation of 7200 feet, reached by trail from Callahan. The fissure vein occurs between schist walls, with a strike of N. 40' W., and a dip of 60' N.; ore shoot is 300 feet long and 2 feet wide; workings consist of an 850-foot tunnel, several small drifts and a stope 200 feet in length; equipment consists of two 3 1/2-foot Huntington mills (capacity is 20 tons in twenty-four hours, through 50-mesh screen) run by waterpower; tools, ore cars and dwellings; seven men are employed; owner claims an ore reserve of 3000 tons of rock; free milling; yearly production 1912 (seventy days' run) was $15,000; production to date $40,000: best prospect in the district.

Portuguese Company, at Oak Bar, took out, with eleven men and use of derrick, in three days, by hand shoveling, $3000, or at rate of $1000 per day.

Uncle Sam Consolidated,, formerly known as the Sheffield, in Secs. 3 and 10, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 7 miles south of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Shef- field Estate; comprises 60 acres between White and Eddy gulches; located in 1873. Length along the lode, 3000 feet; length of ore shoot, 110 feet, and width 2 feet; vertical depth below outcrop, 300 feet; strike N. 20' E., dip 25' NE.; footwall, slate; hanging wall, quartz- porphyry; length driven on vein, 420 feet; ore free milling; water supply from White's Gulch through 1 1/2 miles of ditch and 1/2 mile of flume; old workings consisting of stopes and drifts are caved; equip- ment consists of dwellings and old 8-stamp mill, 780-pound stamps; producer for several years; some good ore in workings. Idle at present. BibI.: Report VIII. p. 619; XI, p. 433; XII, p. 293; XIII, p. 431.

Upper Soda Springs, in Sec. 24, T. 39 N., R. 4 W., 2 miles north of Dunsmuir. Owned by George McCloud; water is heavily charged with carbonic acid gas; formation is similar to the Shasta Springs section; water not on the market. Bibl.: Report XI, p. 452; Mineral Springs of California, Ander- son, p. 260.

Van Brunt see Davis

Vesuvianite Vesuvianite is found on the South Fork of Indian Creek, 12 miles north of Happy Camp, on land owned by Dr. A. E. Heighway; dis- covered in 1901; outcrops for 300 feet along the hillside, above the creek, and large masses have fallen into the bed of the creek below. It is a hard and handsome stone, olive to green in color, and takes a fine polish. The associated rock is serpentine; the rich translucent green color, fine-grained sub-splintery fracture and brilliant luster, when polished, strongly suggest jade, and many have called it by that name; deposit has not been worked. This variety of vesuvianite also known as californite. F. H. Dakin of San Franclsco also has claims covering portions of the deposit. Bibl.: Bull. No. 37, pp. 93-94; Bull. No. 67, pp. 125-126.

W
Return to Top

Walker see Two and a Half

Welch, in Sec. 1, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district; 14 miles west of Hamburg Bar. Owner, E. Welch. Comprises 40 acres, located in 1899; ledge 30 feet wide, uith northwest and south- east course and dip of 40- E.; in schist and limestone; two tunnels, 30 and 60 feet long; strong gossan cropping. Only do assessment work.

Whistle Bar, formerly known as the Blake, in Sec. 29, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, at Sawyer's Bar in the Kla- math Forest Reserve. Owner, E. Curran; comprises 20 acres on the North Fork of the Salmon River; slate bedrock; 30 to 100 feet of gravel, loose; 400-foot tunnel, 3' x 7'; good producer at one time. Idle at present; only do assessment work; about one half of the gravel has been worked. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 616.

White Bear, in Sec. 13, T. 39 N., R. 12 W., in the Liberty mining district, 9 miles southwest of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Daggett & Smith; comprises 20 acres, north of the Black Bear, on an east and west vein; ore shoot is 100 feet long and 2 feet wide, with a dip of 30' E.; 400-foot tunnel and 2 drifts, each 80 feet in length; equipment: dwelling and 5-stamp mill; good prospect, but only small amount of development work; owners expect to employ several men during the winter. One man at work at present.

Wicks, in Sec. 13, T. 44 N.. R. 10 W., in the Deadwood mining district, 12 miles northwest of Fort Jones at an elevation of 6200 feet. Owner, Weeks Bros.; comprises 40 acres; short ore shoot in diabase, badly faulted; little high grade extracted on the surface; 150-foot-tun- nel. Idle.

Willard, in Sec. 30, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg Bar min- ing district, 3/4 mile south of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Willard & Hickman; comprises 20 acres along the Klamath River; schist bedrock; 30 to 50 feet of gravel; water obtained from Max Creek through 1-mile ditch; one giant and 500 feet of pipe. Only worked in a small way. Bibl.: Report XII, p. 294; XIII, p. 432. 858

Wm. Burns, in Sec. 33, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 2 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, J. R. Peterson; comprises 20 acres, patented; slate bedrock; 10 to 30 feet of gravel; one giant, 500 feet of pipe and a derrick. Worked during the winter season; small producer.

Wm. McConnell's claim, Humbug Creek, took out in one season, $34,000; same claim, next season, $28,000; same claim, next season, $22,000; total, $84,000; pick and shovel, and use of derrick, from one acre. 844

Wilson, in Sec. 29, T. 44 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood mining dis- trict, 8 1/2 miles north of Fort Jones. Owner, F. L. Wilson; comprises 40 acres on Deadwood Creek; quartz-porphyry bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; water from Deadwood Creek through 1/2-mile of ditch; 320 feet bedrock tunnel and 50-foot shaft (caved); best ground has been worked; only do asessment work. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 432.

Windeler, in Sec. 20, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 1 mile north of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, J. C. Windeler; comprises 20 acres on Jackass Gulch; slate bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; one giant and 500 feet of pipe; some coarse gold found on bedrock. Little work during the winter; small producer.

Wingate Hill see Quartz Gulch

Wood & Fehely, in Sec. 4, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district, 11 miles west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Own- ers, Wood & Fehely; comprises 60 acres, patented, on the Klamath River; slate bedrock, best values being found in the soft bedrock; 10 to 30 feet of gravel; water from Thompson Creek through a ditch 1 1/2 miles long; three giants and 1800 feet of pipe; employ four men during the season. Idle in 1912; good ground; has been a steady producer. Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 432.

Wright & Fletcher, in Secs. 7 and 8, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining district, 4 miles northeast of Greenview. Owners, Wright Brothers; comprises 80 acres; bedrock is quartz-porphyry; 20 to 60 feet of gravel; water from Kidder Creek through two ditches, one 9 miles long, also furnishes power for the Johnson mill, and the other, 4 1/2 miles in length, for the hydraulic operations; two giants and 2100 feet of pipe; best ground has been worked and yielded a good production; property only worked on a small scale. Idle on account of lack of water. Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 609; XII, p. 294; XIII, p. 433.

Yellow Butte, in Sec. 25, T. 40 N., R. 5 W:, 15 miles from Mon- tague, on the north slope of Mount Shasta; ovned by Yellow Butte Mining Company; L. D. Ball, superintendent; vein is 5 feet wide, in schist and granite; strike north and south; dip 60- W.; ore is massive sulphide; tunnels and shafts. Idle. Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 126.

Zarina, in Sec. 33, T. 41 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining dis- trict, 9 1/2 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve. Own- ers, Zarina Mining Company, of Etna Mills; J. W. Harris, superin- tendent; comprises 100 acres, located in 1900; elevation, 6500 feet; ore shoot, 130 feet long and 2 feet wide; dioritic schist walls; 350 and 80-foot tunnels, drifts and stopes; equipment consists of dwellings and 5-stamp mill, driven by water power from lake above the property; small producer; not worked on any scale since 1911. One man employed at present; best ore found in pockets, similar to the Highland. 843.