CALIFORNIA STATE MINING BUREAU
FERRY BUILDING, SAN FRANCISCO
FLETCHER HAMILTON - State Mineralogist


REPORT XIV

Of the

STATE MINERALOGIST

Mines and Mineral Resources of Siskiyou County

Of portions of

CALIFORNIA

Chapters of State Mineralogist's Report

Biennial Period 1913-1914

California State Printing Office
1916


    810
    
                                   MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
                                       SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    Field Work in September, 1913.
    
    INTRODUCTION.
    
    Siskiyou County, with an area of 3040 square miles, lies along
    the northern boundary of California, and has Del Norte adjoining it on
    the west, Modoc on the east and Shasta and Trinity counties on the
    south. It has an exceedingly broken and picturesque expanse of moun-
    tains, and canyons cut by many streams running westerly to the Klam-
    ath River and southward to the Sacramento River, the former stream
    coursing through the county for 70 miles.
    
    The most prominent mountain ranges are the Klamath, Scott and
    Salmon.  Mount Shasta, in the southern part, having an elevation of
    14,380 feet, is a noted landmark. The Sierra Nevada lava sheet covers
    a portion of the eastern part of the county, forbidding both mining and
    agriculture.
    
    The mineral wealth, which constitutes the basis of Siskiyou's pros-
    perity, is concentrated in various belts and districts. There are two
    main agricultural sections, the Scott and Shasta valleys, which afford
    supplies for the surrounding country.
    
    Although the day of simple placer mining has passed, the aurif-
    erous gravels still provide the bulk of the county's gold output. Gold
    dredging is being successfully pursued on McAdams Creek, near Fort
    Jones; and as there are many acres of gravel that will yield handsome
    returns by this method of mining, dredging bids fair to become one of
    the important industries of the county.
    
    Hydraulic mining has been extensively pursued along the Klamath
    River and important tributaries, and large areas of pay gravel still
    remain to be worked. The old method of river mining by means of
    wing-dams has practically passed out of existence.
    
    Quartz mining, which really gives stability to the industry, has made
    wonderful strides in Siskiyou County during the past ten years, in
    spite of the lack of transportation facilities, especially railroads.
    The Oregon branch of the Southern Pacific Railroad, which crosses
    the county, connects at Montague with the Yreka railroad, thus afford-
    ing a rail connection for Yreka, the county seat. Wagon roads to the
    remote mining districts are being constructed as rapidly as the funds
    of the county will permit.
    
    The unusual strikes of "high grade" ore in the Salmon range, espe-
    cially in the Homestake and Highland mines, has stimulated lode mining
    and given the county the publicity it deserves. The Black Bear, with
    a production record of over $2,500,000, is the most noted gold quartz
    producer in Siskiyou County. There are many prospects that should
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    811
    
    develop into producers with the expenditure of a moderate amount of
    money. The conditions for mining are ideal, due to the abundance of
    both water and timber, and the California-Oregon Power Company
    affords cheap electrical power to many of the mining sections.
    
    The minerals found within the borders of this county are many and
    widely distributed, among which may be enumerated, gold, platinum,
    silver, lead, chrome, copper, and coal. There are several mineral
    springs also, the most famous being the Shasta, on the line of the
    Oregon branch of the Southern Pacific railroad.
        
    GEOLOGICAL AND TOPOGRAPHICAL FEATURES.
    
    The formation and metalliferous belts of Siskiyou County are not so
    clearly defined as in the middle counties of the State; the Coast and
    Sierra Nevada ranges are here merged into one. The strike of the
    stratification has been changed from west of north to north 20' east.
    
    In the Klamath, Salmon and Scott ranges, the mountains are rough
    and sharply defined, and table lands are seldom seen, as sharp serrated
    ridges have replaced them, with deep gorges and precipitous canyons.
    
    Though the mountains of the western half belong to the Coast
    Range system, their general geological character is that of the Sierras,
    as granites, diorites and metamorphic slates and limestones, similar
    to the latter mountain system, comprise their mass. Between these
    western mountain systems and the lava beds, which cover a large area,
    including much of the drainage area of the Shasta and Little Shasta
    rivers and Cottonwood Creek, is a section, the characteristic rock of
    which is a fossiliferous sandstone. In the Shasta and Willow Creek
    valleys coal seams are found, stratified with the sandstone; these
    seams of lignite (coal) of good quality, vary from a few inches to four
    feet in width and rest on a quartzite substratum, which formed the
    rim rock of the basin.
    
    Following the quartzite in a westerly direction for about 1 mile, a belt
    of magnesian rocks containing iron is observed, which continues for
    some 2 miles, when the main gold-bearing belt of the region is
    encountered.
    
    DESCRIPTION OF STREAMS.

    Klamath River.
    
    This river and its tributaries have been important agents in the dis-
    tribution of placer gold throughout the country (see photo No. 1).
    Its source is in the mountain ranges of northern California and southern
    Oregon, drawing from the Upper and Lower Klamath, Goose and
    Rhett lakes, and flowing southwesterly into the Pacific Ocean at a
    point forming the western extremity of the dividing line between Del
    Norte and Humboldt counties. The length of the Klamath is some
    
    812
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    362 miles, the average grade being 12 feet to the mile, 70 miles of which
    is in Siskiyou County.
    
    Gold is found wherever the river has deposited gravel, whether it
    be in an old channel a thousand feet above the present stream, or in
    the river bottom. Below the mouth of Scott River it has cut its way
    through the northern end of the Coast Range practically at right angles
    to its trend, and runs through a narrow canyon from a few hundred
    to several thousand feet in depth, with banks as steep as the material
    will stand and which are covered with a dense growth of timber and
    
    Photo No. 1. Klamath River near Happy Camp.
    
    brush. At Oak Bar, Happy Camp, Hamburg Bar, Orleans Bar and a
    few other points, the mountains recede far enough from the stream
    to admit of a few acres of level land being farmed; the rest of the
    country is too steep for cultivation.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, pp. 582, 584, 585.
    
    Scott River.
    
    Scott River, one of the important tributaries of the Klamath, enters
    this stream in Sec. 6, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., M.D.M., at an elevation
    of 1650 feet above sea level. It has a length of 61 miles, an average
    course of 20' to the northwest, and is fed by a watershed area of 812
    square miles, with 26 miles of tributaries. This stream flows through
    the mineral districts of Oro Fino, Quartz Valley, Callahan and Scott
    Bar In the vicinity of Callahan, on the headwaters of this stream
    and especially on the South Fork, rich deposits of gravel are found.
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.    

    813 

    which have been mined for many years.  Below Callahan the river
    runs through a portion of Scott Valley, a rich and fertile plateau, which
    is successfully cultivated, and in which are situated the flourishing 
    towns of Etan (sic) and Fort Jones.  The lower end of the river, for about
    4 miles above its mouth, runs through a canyon, and here gold is found
    in the benches on the hillsides and in bars in the river.  Scott Bar,
    in the center of this district and 2 miles from the mouth of Scott River,
    is the village from which supplies are distributed to the adjacent
    territory.

    Bibl.: Report VIII, pp. 593, 594, 605, 606.

    McAdams Creek.

    This stream, a branch of Moffat Creek, tributary to Scott River, rises
    in the Forest Mountain Range and flows in a southerly direction. The
    placer ground on this creek, from its source to its junction, a distance
    of some 10 miles, has been rich, but the valley expands and the soil
    deepens so rapidly that only shallow depths were worked. It is good
    dredging ground, however, and the lower end of the stream is being
    worked by this method of mining.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 618.
    
    Yreka Creek.
    
    Yreka Creek, some 10 miles in length, rises in the Forest Moun-
    tains, flows in a northerly direction and empties into the Shasta River
    in Sec. 1, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., M. D. M. It is fed by several tributaries
    and has been an important gold producer in the past. Near Hawkins-
    ville, 2 miles northeast of Yreka, the county seat, the valley is over 1
    mile wide, and there is still a large area of auriferous gravel unworked,
    due to overburden and difficulty of drainage. Hydraulic elevators have
    been employed, with but poor success. The scarcity of water has also
    been another serious handicap.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 618.
    
    Indian Creek.
    
    Indian Creek, a tributary to the Klamath River, rises in the lofty
    snow-clad peaks of the Siskiyou Mountain Range, near the boundary
    line between California and Oregon. It has a length of 16 miles, flows
    in a southeasterly direction, and its tributaries, east and west, embrace
    14 miles; its watershed area covers 144 square miles. Placer deposits are
    found along the entire length of Indian Creek. Happy Camp, a village
    on the west bank of the Klamath River at the junction of the Klamath
    and Indian Creek, is the distributing point for the country generally
    between Hamburg and Orleans Bar.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 599.
    
    814

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.

    Beaver Creek.
            
    This stream, a tributary to the Klamath River, rises in the Siskiyou
    Mountain Range, near Mount Sterling. It has a length of 12 miles,
    a general southwesterly course and is fed by the north and south forks
    of Hungary (sic) Creek, Bumble Bee, West Fork of Beaver and other
    smaller creeks. Placer mining has been pursued along these creeks for
    the past forty years, and although worked in a crude way considerable
    gold has been produced. The formations consist of granite, serpentine,
    slate and porphyrite-schist, cut by gold-bearing quartz ledges and
    porphyry dikes, which have fed these watercourses for ages.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 591.
    
    Humbug Creek.
   
    This creek, a tributary to the Klamath River, rises in the Humbug
    Mountains and flows in a northeasterly direction. It has a length of
    some 10 miles and has been a noted producer of placer gold. Near
    its source the banks of this stream are steep, the water being confined
    in a well defined canyon, of heavy grade, but as it approaches the
    river it widens out, forming large bars, which have been extensively
    mined. One claim of less than 7 acres has been constantly worked
    for the last thirty-five years, the output to date exceeding $260,000.
    Other creeks in this section tributary to the Klamath and which
    have been noted placer producers are Little Humbug and Barkhouse.
    From the head of Little Humbug over $2,000,000 was extracted by
    ground sluicing, and there is still considerable virgin ground to be
    worked, especially near its mouth, but there is only sufficient water in
    this creek to allow a two or three months' run each year. Barkhouse,
    the next creek below Little Humbug, has also been a noted producer,
    but mining operations are limited on account of the scarcity of water.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 591.
  
    Mineral Production of Siskiyou County from 1894 to 1913 (incl.)
                  from Records of State Mining Bureau.
    
    Substances                             1894             1895            1896
      
    Gold --------------------------- $700,781 83    $950,006 43   $1,091,264 82
    Platinum ---------------------        600 00     -----------  ------------
    Silver -------------                                 177 30         652 65
    Mineral waters -----------------------------      80,800 00        
    
    Totals -------------------------- $761,381 83  $1,030,983 73  $1,091,917 47
       
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    815

    Substances                               1897            1898           1899

    Gold ----------------------------  $842,123 00    $768,804 00    $991,771 00
    Silver ---------------                   34 00         321 00         100 00
      
    Totals -----------------          $842,157 00     $769,125 00    $991,871 00
    
    Substances                            1900             1901             1902    
   
    Gold ---------------------------  $951,397 00     $886,043 00    $906,989 00
    Silver -----------------------      13,986 00          6,408 00       233 00
    Mineral water ----------------      45,000 00      175,000 00     187,500 00

    Totals ---------------- ----------$1,010,883 00  $1,067,451 00 $1,094,745 00    
     
    Substances                1903              1904            1905        1906    

    
Gold ---------------    $613,576 00   $892,685 00   $803,035 00   ----------
Silver --------------         22 00      1,230 00      2,499 00    --------                      Mineral water             50,000 00  50,000 00   --------------------------  
Platinum ----------    -----------------    21 00            93 00   -----------    Sandstone -------    ---------------------------       1,250 00      $1,500 00


    Totals ----------    $663,598 00   $943,936 00   $806,877 00     $1,500 00

    Substances                            1907            1908              1909

Copper --------------------          $39 00   --------------------    ------
Gold --------------------------- 398,017 00     $504,156 00    $416,160 00
Lead ----------------------          140 00             183 00           144 00
Lime -----------------------       1,000 00          1,680 00            300 00
Limestone -----------------          300 00  -------------------       2,200 00
Mineral water --------------      36,250 00        80,000 00         10,000 00
Rubble ------------------        39,000 00 ------------------           500 00
Sandstone -----------------      12,897 00          1,485 00          1,750 00
Silver -------------------        3,037 00          6,125 00          2,145 00
Pumice stone -------------------------------------------------          500 00
Macadam -------------- -----------------------------------------      4,528 00
    Unapportioned, 1900-1909, inclusive -------------------------$1,202,742 00  
  
    Totals -------------------------------------   $490,680 00    $593,629 00  $1,640,969 00
    
    Substances                         1910               1911              1912

    Crushed rock -------------------- $9,475 00        $6,580 00   --------------------
    Gems ---------------------------- 14,745 00          1,000 00            $250 00
    Gold -------------------------- 437,376 00      422,297 00       472,314 00
    Lime -------------------------      735 00            120 00   ---------------------
    Limestone -------------------       525 00              24 00   ---------------------
    Mineral water --------------     60,000 00      120,000 00       120,000 00
    Sandstone -----------------       2,000 00            455 00             250 00
    Silver --------------------       2,322 00         2,561 00          2,980 00
    Chrome ------------------------------     -----------------          2,310 00
    Stone industry ----------- ---------     -----------------             609 00

    Totals  ------------------    $527,178 00    $553,037 00      $598,713 00

 
    816

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES

    Substances                                             1913

    Coal --------------------------------------          $1,500 00
    Gems ------------------------------------               250 00
    Gold --------------------------------------        *180,125 00
    Mineral water -------------------------             120,000 00
    Pumice stone ------------------------                 2,000 00
    Silver ------------------------------------          *1,228 00
    Stone industry -----------------------                4,883 00

    Total -------------------------------------         309,986 00
    *Production from dredging operations included in Stanislaus total.  

      
    ELECTRICAL POWER PLANTS.
    
    The California-Oregon Power Company serves the following towns
    in Siskiyou County with cheap electrical power: Yreka, Montague,
    Hornbrook, Dorris, Ager, Hawkinsville, Thrall, Croy, Fort Jones, Oro
    Fino, Greenview, Walker, Etna, Weed, Sisson, Dunsmuir, and Castella.
    
    The power plants are located at Fall Creek (capacity 2500 k.w.),
    Shasta River (380 k.w.), Klamath Falls (1500 k.w.), Gold Roy
    (2500 k.w.), Prospect (4750 k.w.), a total of 11,630 k.w. In addition
    to the plants mentioned, another is being installed on the Klamath
    River, near Fall Creek, with a capacity of 4000 k.w. and the system
    will then have a total generating capacity of 15,630 kilowatts.
    
    CHROME.
    
    Considerable float of chromite is found near the top of the Forest
    Mountains, in Sec. 13, T., 44 N., R. 8 W., Southern Pacific Railroad
    Company, owner; and in Sec. 18, T. 44 N., R. 7 W., Wm. Ramus and
    Carl Hill, Yreka, owners. The country rock is serpentine; the chromite
    is found in relatively small pieces. No development work has been
    done. Float of chromite is reported in the vicinity of the Dewey mine,
    about 10 miles southwest of Gazelle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, pp. 272, 363.
    
    CLAY PRODUCTS.
    
    T. T. Garvey, of Yreka, owns a large bank of reddish colored clay,
    containing some minute quartz pebbles, in Sec. 27, T. 45 N., R. 7 W.,
    M.D.M.  A good quality of brick has been manufactured and used in
    Yreka.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 257.
    
    T. Hamilton, of Fort Jones, formerly made bricks from the surface
    clay from a deposit in Sec. 2, T. 43 N., R. 9 W.
  
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 257.
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    817
 
    T. A. Reynolds, of Fort Jones, had an old brick kiln, using surface
    clay, from a deposit in Sec. 11, T. 43 N., R. 9 W.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 257.
    
    Peter Smith, of Etna, owns a bank of clay in Sec. 21, T. 42 N.,
    R. 9 W., M. D. M. This deposit consists of 4 feet of clay of good
    quality, from which bricks were burned and used in buildings in Etna.
   
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 257.
    
    J. Walker, of Greenview, has a deposit of grayish colored clay of good
    quality, located in Sec. 32, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., M. D. M.; a good grade
    of bricks manufactured at one time.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 258.
    
    COAL.
    
    The coal deposits north of Yreka, in the vicinity of Hornbrook and
    Ager, have furnished a small amount of coal for domestic use for sev-
    eral years. It is a good grade of lignite, burns freely and leaves no
    klinkers.
    
    The Black Butte Mountain Deposits near Ager, and the Kosh Creek
    deposits near Glazier along Kosh Creek in T. 38 N., R. 1 E., have not
    been developed at all.
    
    The Siskiyou Coal Manufacturing Company's holdings near Horn-
    brook have been exploited by several open cuts along the croppings.
    The vein is 5 feet wide, with 30 inches of good lignite. Coal has been
    reported near Oak Bar, but is inferior in quality to the other deposits.
    
    Bibl.: Report XI, p. 449.
        
    COPPER.
    
    The copper mines and prospects, while of recent development, are
    worthy of careful consideration, and are widely scattered over the cen-
    tral and northern portions of the county. The formations in which
    these deposits occur are either peridotite or gabbro, or a metamorphic
    schist overlying these eruptives, and several of the mountain peaks
    show the reddish-brown color which peridotite assumes in weathering.
    In the Happy Camp district, which has been noted for its placer gold
    production, there are several prospects of merit; and one property, the
    Grey Eagle, has been developed into a copper mine of considerable
    magnitude, with a large tonnage of ore blocked out.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, pp. 120-141.
    
    Blue Ledge, owned by Blue Ledge Mining Company, of New Nork, is
    located in Sec. 21, T. 48 N., R. 11 W., M. D. M., in the Elliott mining
    district in the Siskiyou Mountain range and near the boundary line

    818
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.    
    
    between California and Oregon. Elevation at mine is 4000 feet. Hut-
    ton is the nearest post office. The mine is connected by wagon road
    with Joe Bar, an old placer camp. The ore occurs in a north and
    south vein, dip vertical, its outcrop being traceable for 3000 feet; walls
    are micaceous schist. Ore consists of pyrite, chalcopyrite and other
    sulphides and oxides of iron and copper, the average value being above
    6% copper and $5 per ton in gold. Two main tunnels 250 feet
    apart are connected by winzes and stopes; both show ore and have
    intermediate drifts showing over 150 feet in a solid body 40 feet wide
    in places. The workings comprise over 3000 feet of development. A
    large tonnage of ore blocked out. It is reported that the company has
    planned the erection of a smelter on the Applegate River.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 128.
    
    Copper Queen, in Sec. 3, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Cottonwood min-
    ing district, 10 miles northwest of Hornbrook. Owners, J. D. and R.
    Abbott, of Yreka; comprises 20 acres on Hunter Creek; small ledge in
    lime and diorite-schist, 110-foot tunnel. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 123.
    
    Davis, in Sec. 12, T. 14 N., R. 6 E., in the Happy Camp mining
    district, 13 miles southwest of Happy Camp. Owner, R. Davis. Ledge
    20 to 30 feet wide in schist and limestone; short tunnels; ledge not
    found in place as yet; strong gossan cropping, carrying some gold value;
    bonded to J. D. Farish and eight men employed; F. H. Dakin, super-
    intendent; claims on Clear Creek.
    
    Grey Eagle (formerly known as the Dewey), in Sec. 4, T. 17 N.,
    R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 8 miles northwest of
    Happy Camp. Owner, Incorporated Company, of New York;
    J . D. Farish, manager; Fred H. Dakin, superintendent; comprises 240
    acres, patented; on Indian Creek at an elevation of 2550 feet; a strong
    vein from 10 to 80 feet wide in schist with a northwest and southeast
    strike and a dip of 45' E.; ore shoot over 300 feet long, consisting of
    chalcopyrite and pyrite; eight tunnels from 50 to 600 feet in length, six
    being crosscuts and two on the ledge; and several hundred feet of drifts
    and raises; large tonnage blocked out; ore carries from 2 1/2% to 18%
    copper and $1.50 per ton in gold; strong gossan croppings on the sur-
    face; five men employed; property located in l892 and sold to present
    company in 1908.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 132.
    
    Hummer, in Sec. 18, T. 40 N., R. 7 W., in Callahan mining dis-
    trict; owned by Mischler & Rollins, of Callahan. Claims worked to a
    limited extent by shallow shafts and open cuts; formation is serpen-
    tine, though the ore deposits are connected with dikes of quartz-
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    819
    
    porphyry which have penetrated the serpentine; ore lies in irregular
    bodies, consisting of pyrrhotite and other sulphides, carrying copper;
    ore said to contain nickel. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 123.
    
    Little, in Sec. 12, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district;
    10 miles west of Hamburg Bar. Owners, Little &; Straisch; comprises
    60 acres, located in 1899; ledge 39 feet wide, with northwest and south-
    east strike and dip of 20' E.; in schist and limestone; 40-foot tunnel.
    Idle.
    
    Monarch, in Sec. 7, T. 40 N., R. 7 W., Callahan mining district;
    owned by Monarch Copper Mining Company, of Callahan; 240 acres,
    patented; tunnels and shafts (shallow); sulphide ore. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 124.
        
    Phillips, in Sec. 6, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining dis-
    trict; 14 miles west of Hamburg Bar. Owner, S. Phillips; comprises
    40 acres, located in 1900; ledge 30 to 100 feet wide, with northwest
    and southeast strike and dip 35' E.; in schist and limestone; 110-foot
    tunnel; strong gossan cropping traceable for 1500 feet; only do assess-
    ment work.
    
    Polar Bear, in Sec. 12, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Callahan mining
    district; owned by Welkes & Sons; comprises one claim; ore bodies 6
    feet wide, consisting of chalcopyrite and pyrrhotite, in serpentine;
    200 tons extracted, said to carry 17% copper. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 124.
    
    Preston Peak, at head of South Fork of Indian Creek, 1 1/2 miles north
    of Preston Peak; owned by Preston Peak Copper Mining Company;
    ledge 20 to 30 feet wide, in diorite; ores are pyrite and chalcopyrite;
    300-foot tunnel in ore; ore said to carry 12% copper with gold;
    one of the pioneer discoveries of the Siskiyou belt. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 132.
    
    Plutus, in Secs. 12 and 14, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in Callahan mining
    district; owned by McCarter, of Callahan; comprises five claims; ore,
    (pyrrhotite with small percentage of copper); occurs in gabbro and ser-
    pentine. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 123.
    
    Rainbow, in Sec. 24, T. 40 N., R. 5 W., in the Mt. Eddy mining
    district, 4 miles southwest of Sisson; owned by Wood & Sheldon Lum-
    ber Company; comprises 300 acres; tunnels and open cuts; one tunnel
    400 feet long; ledge is 6 feet wide, in serpentine; ore is massive sul-
    phides; gossan croppings 100 to 600 feet wide are exposed for over
    
    820
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    a mile on a spur of Mt. Eddy, having a strike of 70' NW and
    dip of 60'; company's railroad near property ; property was first
    worked for gold, thirty years ago. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 125.
    
    Rothrop, in Secs. 5, 6, 7 and 8, T. 43 N., R. 8 W., 4 miles north-
    east of Fort Jones; owned by George Henderson; comprises 15 claims;    
    developed by shafts and tunnels; ledge 6 feet wide in serpentine;
    some of the ore is reported to carry 20% copper. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 125.
    
    Shiner, in Sec. 7, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district;
    12 miles west of Hamburg Bar. Owner, C. Shiner. Comprises 40
    acres, at an elevation of 2000 feet; located in 1899; ledge 30 to 100
    feet wide, with northwest and southeast strike and dip of 30' E., in
    schist and limestone; 80-foot tunnel; strong gossan cropping; ore is
    chalcopyrite. Only do assessment work.
    
    Tebbe, in Sec. 32, T. 4 (sic) N., R. 9 W., in the Oak Bar mining dis-
    trict; 4 miles north of Oak Bar. Owner, G. A. Tebbe. Comprises 40
    acres; ledge 30 feet wide in schist and limestone; 120-foot tunnel in
    ore. Idle.
    
    Welch, in Sec. 1, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district;
    14 miles west of Hamburg Bar. Owner, E. Welch. Comprises 40
    acres, located in 1899; ledge 30 feet wide, with northwest and south-
    east course and dip of 40' E.; in schist and limestone; two tunnels, 30
    and 60 feet long; strong gossan cropping. Only do assessment work.
    
    Yellow Butte, in Sec. 25, T. 40 N., R. 5 W:, 15 miles from Mon-
    tague, on the north slope of Mount Shasta; owned by Yellow Butte
    Mining Company; L. D. Ball, superintendent; vein is 5 feet wide, in
    schist and granite; strike north and south; dip 60' W.; ore is massive
    sulphide; tunnels and shafts. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 50, p. 126.
    
    GOLD.
    
    The main gold-bearing belt of Siskiyou County consists of meta-
    morphic slates. granites, diorites, and limestones, with occasionally
    intrusive masses of porphyry, trap and syenite. This belt is from 5
    to 12 miles in width and about 60 miles long, widening and narrowing
    at places on its line of strike, which varies from N. 20' to 30' E.
    In some places it is veined and seamed with stringers of quartz; in
    others it is soft, carrying talc in excess, with irregular bunches of quartz,
    rich in gold, designated in hydraulic mining as "seam diggings" and
    being easily worked with a stream of water under a heavy pressure head.
    In other localities on the belt, where the formation has been fissured,

    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    821
    
    or near the line of contact, quartz veins occur either singly or in groups,
    and as a rule are small, but rich in gold.
    
    This belt is interrupted and broken at several points and is by no
    means prolific in auriferous quartz veins throughout its entire extent,
    nor do the same rocks prevail in all the quartz districts.
    
    A striking feature of the occurrence of the auriferous veins is their
    relation to the culminating peaks of the mountain systems crossed by
    the belt, for they conform to the lines of foliation of the ranges, being
    especially noticeable in the Salmon Range, New River, Knownothing,
    Deadwood and Humbug districts. Quartz Valley and Oro Fino, on
    opposite sides of a minor isolated mountain, are the only exceptions to
    the rule indicated.
    
    Salmon Mountain, composed of eruptive rocks, porphyries and gran-
    ites, seems to have been a disturbing element, as auriferous rocks do
    not come to the surface for about 10 miles beyond. Reaching as far
    as the known southerly limit of this gold-bearing belt extends, and
    crossing it, a belt of argillaceous slate and porphyry, having a width of
    2 miles, is encountered, and then a decided belt of serpentine from 3 to
    6 miles in width is entered, traceable for several miles on its line of
    strike. A belt of micaceous schist is observed at Scott's Bar, and
    westerly from this point belts of granite, limestone, and syenite are
    alternately crossed, until another belt of auriferous slates is entered,
    which has been but slightly prospected.
    
    DESCRIPTION OF MINING DISTRICTS.
    
    Salmon River District.
    
    This district, the largest in Siskiyou County, comprises its entire
    southwestern corner, and includes the drainage area of the Salmon
    River and its tributaries. Topographically, it is a tangle of mountain
    ridges separated by precipitous canyons and river gorges. A wagon
    road 43 miles in length connects Etna, in Scott Valley, with Forks of
    Salmon, a small town located at the junction of the North Fork of the
    Salmon River. All the fairly level land in the district consists of a
    few bars on the Salmon River and its branches, so that this section is
    practically dependent on supplies from the outside.
    
    Its mining industry, which is much scattered, is diversified among
    the several branches of placer and quartz mining, the former being
    followed along the Salmon River and its two principal branches, and
    to a less extent in some of the smaller side canyons making up into
    the gold-bearing quartz belts; large deposits are still untouched on
    the main river and on the South Fork. It is in quartz mining, however,
    that the permanent value of the district is to be realized. The main
    gold-bearing rock belt of the county crosses through the middle of this
    section.
    
    822
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    In the geological center of the district, in the vicinity of Sawyer's
    Bar, several noted gold producers have been developed. They lie at
    the heads of Black Bear, Eddy's and White's gulches, from 4 to 10
    miles distant from Sawyer's Bar. Quartz ledges on Jackass Gulch on
    the north side of the North Fork are being prospected and some pay ore
    developed.  The Black Bear, Klamath, Gold Ball, Fagundez, Uncle Sam
    and Gold Run are the noted mines in this location. There are a number
    of prospects, also, which may develop into producers. In the same
    district near Snowden the recent strikes of "high grade" ore have
    caused considerable excitement. The Homestake, Highland, Overton,
    Zarina and Advance are the best known quartz properties, while the
    Big Cliff and Hardscrabble comprise two of the many promising pros-
    pects.
    
    As a rule the country is heavily timbered and brushy, precipitous,
    and the surface broken, so that the quartz veins rarely show in place
    at the surface.
    
    Bibl.: Report XI, p. 423.
    
    Quartz Valley.
    
    This district, occupying the northwest corner of Scott Valley, has
    two distinct kinds of placer mines. At the southern end of the valley
    the pay gravel lies on a flat, nearly level bedrock, without defined
    channel rims, covered with 60 feet of soft pebbly gravel and alluvium.
    The gold is coarse and water-worn and the deposit has been worked by
    drifting. Its source is probably the gravels of an old buried river,
    traces of which are observable in Douglas Hill, and in benches on the
    west side of the valley north of where Shackelford Creek enters it.
    Other traces of this old channel are found on the western edge of Scott
    Valley as far south as Callahan. The main placer deposit lies on the
    eastern side, and appears to be the result of the direct erosion of the
    ferruginous limestones that compose the western slope of the mountain
    separating Quartz Valley from the main Scott Valley. These lime-
    stones are seamed with auriferous quartz veins for some 5 miles. On
    the eastern slope of this mountain only one ravine seems to have been
    eroded deep enough to get to the gold bearing rocks, but on the Quartz
    Valley side there are four such ravines. These places consist of angular
    fragments of country rock and quartz with sand and clay, in depth from
    1 to 30 feet, covered with a deposit of clay and surfaced with alluvium.
    The shallow placers near the heads of the ravines were worked out by
    the early-day miners. The gold is generally fine, rough and angular;
    and at one point from 8 acres of ground, over $200,000 was extracted
    by means of hydraulic elevators.
    
    Bibl.: Report XI, p. 434.
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    823
    
    Oro Fino.
    
    A low range of hills separates Quartz Valley from Oro Fino. This
    district is 22 miles southwesterly from Scott Bar by the course of the
    river. The auriferous dirt is evidently derived from the erosion and
    decomposition of the mountain sides in the immediate vicinity, as but
    few pebbles or gravel that show the action of running water or wash are
    found intermixed. A small ravine tributary to Oro Fino Creek consti-
    tutes practically all the placer ground in this district, and mining
    operations have been confined to the use of hydraulic elevators. The
    average fineness of the gold in this district is 785. Hydraulic washings
    have yielded from 75 cents to 85 cents per cubic yard of gravel. The
    two principal placer mines are the Eastlick Brothers and the Wright
    & Fletcher. The quartz veins, while numerous, all carry more or less
    gold and are small, and the gold generally occurs in pockets, in the
    limestone. The Green Mountain Tiger and Johnson have been the main
    quartz producers in this section.

    Bibl.:  Report VIII, p. 607; XI, p. 437.

    Scott Bar.
    
    This district, containing both placer and quartz mines, is situated on
    Scott River just above its junction with the Klamath, and was the
    first locality to be mined in Siskiyou County; it has been a remarkably
    
    Photo No. 2. Scott Bar.
    
    rich district, although it includes a very small area (see photo No. 2).
    The gold, generally found on the bedrock, occurs in the form of nuggets,
    and is smooth and water-worn.
    
    824
   
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
     
    There are several large quartz ledges on Quartz Hill, which is across
    the river from Scott Bar, and one ledge is said to have yielded the
    Quartz Hill Hydraulic and Quartz Mining Company considerable gold.
    The surface has been rich hydraulic ground.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 605; XI, p. 447.
    
    Humbug Creek.
    
    This district, on the northeastern slopes of Old Baldy, is exclusively
    a quartz mining region, and is situated in the headwater forks and can-
    yons of Humbug Creek, about 16 miles northwest of Yreka. The first
    mining in the district was carried on in 1854, and since that time
    considerable gold has been produced, although the operations have been
    practically confined to surface workings, due to a theory that the pay
    ore did not go down. As a matter of fact, a more intelligent explora-
    tion of the ore bodies has disproved the conclusions of the pioneer
    miners, and the properties that have been worked to any depth at all
    have yielded good returns, the Spencer and Mountain Belle mines being
    examples. The ledges in the serpentine are small, averaging 1 foot
    in width, and upon reaching the water level carry the gold largely with
    the sulphurets. The adjacent slates and granites are full of ledges
    carrying low-grade gold ores. The sulphurets consist of pyrite, blende
    and galena.
    
    Bibl.: Report XI, p. 444.
    
    Cottonwood.
    
    This district, containing both placer and quartz mines, is located on
    the north side of the Klamath River, some 20 miles northeast of Yreka,
    and to the west of Hornbrook, a station on the Oregon branch of the
    Southern Pacific Railroad. It was originally noted for its rich, shallow
    diggings in Cottonwood Creek and the ravines tributary to it from the
    west. The old blue lead channel, famous for its rich gravel, is here
    exposed by erosion of the sandstone capping and cut through by
    the Klamath River. The gravel is blue and strongly cemented and
    compacted, while the bank contains considerable pipe clay hardened
    almost to the consistency of stone and filled with angular rock frag-
    ments. The gold is coarse, occurring mostly on or close to the bedrock.
    Both the channel and the capping are considerably displaced, and dip
    on an angle of about 12' to the east. In 1887 the outlet of the channel
    was discovered on the Klamath River, although the blue gravel had been
    mined in one of the ravines tributary to the Cottonwood, several years
    previous to that time. Some of the gravel on the bedrock gave returns
    of $6 per cubic yard.
    
    The quartz prospects have been only partially developed and there is
    but little mining activity in this district at the present time. The coun-
    try rocks, slate and quartz-porphyry contain many quartz ledges which
    carry gold values sufficient to warrant careful investigation.
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    825
    
    The Hazel, with a gold production record of over $500,000, is the only
    quartz property that has been worked to any extent.
    
    Bibl.: Report XI, p. 448.
    
    CalIahan.
    
    The placer mines in this district are confined to the old gravel
    channel and bars of the South Fork of Scott River. The channel and
    high bars of the main Scott River, below the junction of the South and
    East Forks at Callahan, was mined for a distance of 3 miles, and a
    large annual gold output obtained. The high bars have been worked
    out and abandoned for a number of years, and the gold in the river
    channel is at such a depth that it cannot be profitably mined. On the
    South Fork, a few claims in the gulches and high bars are worked
    whenever water is available. On Jackson Creek, one of the headwater
    streams of the South Fork, 7 miles above Callahan, hydraulic mining
    is pursued on a small scale. The Montezuma River claim, 1 mile
    southwest of Callahan, was the largest gold producer, having a record
    of $50,000 annually.
    
    Bibl.: Report XI. p. 433.
    
    Happy Camp.
    
    This district, also known as Indian Creek, is situated at the conflu-
    ence of Klamath River and Indian Creek, some 70 miles west of Yreka,
    and contains both placer and quartz mines. The shallow and more
    easily removed gravel deposits have been worked out, but the benches
    are still being hydraulicked for their gold content. There is a large
    expanse of mineral land yet to be developed. The shallow diggings
    yielded large returns and were worked over by the Chinese after being
    abandoned by the white miner. The Classic Hill, on Indian Creek,
    one of the famous hydraulic mines of this district, was worked for a
    number of years by Chinese. The formation consists of a soft talcose
    slate, intercalated with stringers of quartz, which in places concentrate
    and form a well defined quartz vein, rich in gold, the deposit being
    known as "seam diggings." The quartz prospects are worked in a
    very limited way. The Grey Eagle copper mine is the only developed
    property in the district.
    
    GOLD MINES-QUARTZ.
    
    Advance, in Sec. 17, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 13 1/2 miles southeast of Etna Mills, in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Advance Mining Company, of Denver; president, H. E. Wood;
    watchman, C. Ritz. Comprises 100 acres, patented, on Cow Creek.
    Short ore shoots in dioritic schist and limestone; 400-foot tunnel,
    drifts and stopes. Equipment consists of 1500-foot tramway, dwellings,
    and 5-stamp mill, driven by waterpower (water from Russian Creek,
    
    826

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    through 2 miles of flume). Idle for several years. Ore low grade and
    free milling. Hardscrabble prospect to the south.
    
    Bailey, in Sec. 35, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining
    district, 7 miles northwest of Fort Jones, at an elevation of 5000 feet.
    Owner, L. Bailey. Comprises 80 acres on Indian Creek. Short ore-
    shoot, in diabase. Worked for pockets. Some rich ore on the surface.
    Small producer. Idle at present.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 624.
    
    Baker, in Sec. 15, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining dis-
    trict, 7 1/2 miles north of Fort Jones, at an elevation of 5000 feet. Owner,
    George Baker. Comprises 60 acres on Indian Creek. Short ore-shoot
    in slate. Worked for pockets. 300-feet tunnel. Old 5-stamp mill,
    driven by waterpower. Small producer.
    
    Bibl.: Report, VIII, p. 625.
    
    Bender, in Sec. 18, T. 42 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining dis-
    trict, 4 miles north of Etna Mills, in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    A. A. Chamberlain. Comprises 40 acres, at an elevation of 3300 feet.
    Short ore-shoot in limestone and diorite. 340-foot tunnel and 250
    feet of drifts. One 3 1/2-foot Huntington mill, in poor condition. Some
    rich specimens found near the surface. Idle at present.
    
    Ben Neil, in Sec. 1O, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining
    district, 11 miles northwest of Fort Jones at an elevation of 7100 feet.
    Owner, B. Neil. Comprises 40 acres. Short ore shoot in diorite;
    100-foot tunnel. Small pockets taken out. Idle.
    
    Big Ledge, formerly known as the Lewis, in Sec. 8, T. 43 N., R. 9 W.,
    in the Oro Fino mining district, 6 miles northeast of Greenview.
    Owner, G. Lewis. Comprises 20 acres. Pockets in diabase. One ore-
    shoot is 100 feet long and 15 inches wide; 360-foot tunnel. Only do
    assessment work. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 277; XIII, p. 388.
    
    Black Bear, discovered in 1860, is the most noted and largest quartz
    producer in Siskiyou County. It is in Sec. 13, T. 39 N., R. 12 W.,
    in the Liberty mining district; 9 miles south of Sawyer's Bar in the
    Klamath Reserve. Owners, Black Bear Consolidated Mining Company,
    of Rollin; John Daggett, president; leased to Rollin Mining Company
    of San Francisco; J. L. Dunscomb, president; W. A. Farish, Jr.,
    superintendent. The ore bodies occur in lenticular shaped deposits,
    which pinch out at times on the footwall side. The holdings comprise 70
    acres of patented ground, consisting of the Black Bear, South Black
    Bear and Yellow Jacket claims, with 10 acres for millsite; workings
    consist of tunnels and two shafts; altitude, 3600 feet; water supply from
    Black Bear and Auges Creek, through two flumes, each 1 mile long, and
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
     827
    
    1600 feet of pipe; length along lode, 4500 feet; length of ore shoot, 150
    feet; width of ore shoot, 3 feet; footwall, slate; hanging-wall, slate;
    number veins, two.
    
    Black Bear and east and west crossing at right angles; character of
    ore, free milling; strike, north and south; dip, 40' E.; greatest verti-
    cal depth below outcrop, 600 feet; length driven on vein, 1500 feet;
    workings, six tunnels from 100 to 700 feet long; old shaft 550 feet deep
    (six levels); new shaft on Black Bear claim is 475 feet deep (size
    10' x 4'), sunk at an angle of 45' (3 levels); 4000 feet of drifts from
    old shaft, all to the west, several crosscuts; raise 3' x 5' x 30', in new
    shaft from third level (200 feet); old stopes all filled; source of power,
    water and electricity; mine equipment, hoist, cars, compressor plant,
    compressor pump, tools, shops, assay office, dwellings, and 100 h.p.
    electric plant with 2 miles of power line; reduction equipment, 16
    stamp mill, electrically driven (stamps weigh 650 pounds); number
    men employed, top 7, mine 2, total 9; cost (per ton): development,
    $2.00, mining $1.50, treatment $0.80, general $0.60; production to
    date, $3,100,000.
    
   White Bear prospect to the north. From 1872 to 1881 the Black
    Bear mine paid $1,000,000 in dividends; most of the work performed on
    Black Bear claim; good wagon road from Sawyer's Bar to the mine.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, pp. 620, 621; X, p. 656; XIII, p. 389.
    
    BIack Hawk, in Sec. 31, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in Virginia Bar mlning
    district; 5 miles north of Gottville in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Ladd
    & Ogden. Comprises 40 acres; formation granite and schist; ore found
    tn small pockets; 100 foot tunnel; only do assessment work.
    
    Blind Lode, in Sec. 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining
    district; 5 1/2 miles northeast of Greenview. Owner, H. J. Diggles; com-
    prises 20 acres of patented land, located in 1876; 150-foot ore shoot, 6
    inches wide in diabase; four tunnels, longest being 600 feet; some rich
    ore extracted; said to have produced $40,000. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Report, XII, p. 278; XIII, p. 390.
    
    Blue Jay, in Sec. 11, T. 47 N., R. 8 W., in Virginia Bar mining
    district; 5 1/2  miles north of Gottville in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Blue
    Jay Mining Company; president, Mrs. P. D. Bennell; secretary, P.
    Billings; home office, Cleveland, Ohio; comprise 160 acres of patented
    land, purchased from Southern Pacific Railroad Company; formation,
    schist and diorite; one vein 150 feet long and 5 feet wide; low grade;
    two tunnels, 250 and 400 feet long; 10-stamp mill built by Union Iron
    Works; 1000-pound stamps; two Johnson concentrators; water power
    and steam; 2 1/2 mile ditch from North Fork of Empire Creek; small pro-
    duction. Idle since 1907.

    828

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    Blue Lead, in Sec. 26, T. 42 N., R. 9 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 5 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, L. H. Cory; comprises 40 acres of patented land; short ore-
    shoot in diabase; rich on the surface; 580-foot tunnel, old 80-foot shaft
    and drifts comprise several hundred feet of development work; old
    4-stamp mill (650-pound stamp); said to have produced $40,000.
    Idle since 1908.
    
    Bonanza, in Sec. 14, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in Cottonwood mining
    district; 10 miles southwest of Hornbrook in Klamath Reserve. Owners,
    Klondike Mining and Milling Company; president, J. P. Kleprock;
    secretary, L. P. Kleprock; home office, Long Beach; discovered in 1883
    by C. Dovey; formation hornblende schist and granodiorite; short ore-
    shoot; pocket mine; 1600-foot tunnel; equipment, dwellings and 5-foot
    Huntington mill; locator took out $10,000 in a pocket. Idle.
    
    Boyle, in Sec. 8, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining district
    14 miles west of Yreka in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, C. E. Bunker;
    100 acres located in 1880; two parallel veins, strike N. 40' W., and
    dip 60' S.; ore shoot is 200 feet long and 2 feet wide; formation is
    slate; five tunnels from 40 to 900 feet in length; only do assessment
    work. Idle.     
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 278; XIII, p. 390.
    
    Brown Bear, formerly known as Golden and Eveleth's, in Sec.
    2, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 3 miles southeast
    of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Swain and Cleaver;
    comprises 100 acres on White's Gulch at an elevation of 3100 feet; 160-
    foot ore shoot, 18 inches wide, with a course of N. 20' E. and dip of 25'
    E.; 480-foot tunnel, drifts and stope; 4-stamp mill, driven by water
    power, from White's Gulch through 1 1/2 miles of ditch and 1/2 mile of
    flume. Idle at present; has been a producer.

    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 283; XIII, p. 402.


    California Consolidated, formerly known as the Golden Ball mine, 
     in Secs. 16 and 17, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district;
     3 1/2 miles southwest of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. It is   
     owned by the California Consolidated Mining Company; W. H. Young, 
     of Oakland, president; Geo. Ball, superintendent; comprises 384 acres, 
     17 being patented; has been a producer and some ore still in sight, but 
     no system of mining was pursued, so that much useless work was per-
     formned; altitude, 3800 to 4700 feet; fissure vein; length of ore shoot 
     1000 feet; width 6 feet; free milling; strike N. 20' to 40' E., dip
     10' to 40' SE.; footwall, slate (soft); hanging-wall, slate; greatest 
     vertical depth below outcrop, 600 feet; length driven on vein, 1000

     SISKIYOU COUNTY.
   
     829

    feet; two levels, one at 50 and other at 125 feet; drifts, 160 feet, from
    50-foot level, and 80 feet from 125-foot level; another from Stevens tun-
    nel is 140 feet northeast and another 250 feet southwest; two crosscuts,
    120 feet long; two winzes, each 60 feet deep; seven raises; two stopes in
    Stevens tunnel, each being 40 feet by 40 feet; several open cuts; equip-
    ment, 25 h.p. compressor, small hoist, 150 h.p. electrical plant (on
    North Fork of Salmon River at Sawyer's Bar) with 3 miles of power
    line, 1500-foot tramway, dwellings, and 20-stamp mill driven by
    electricity. Idle. Production to date is $473,500; idle since 1910; only
    assessment work being done; property should be a dividend payer if
    properly managed; said to be a continuation of the Black Bear lode.

    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 282; XIII, p. 402.
    
    Cape Cod, in Secs. 18 and 19, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Greenhorn min-
    ing district; 6 miles west of Yreka, in the Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owners, Le May & Bulis; consists of 115 acres (40 acres patented);
    located in 1885; formation, slate and porphyry; two parallel veins, shoot
    300 feet long and 14 inches wide; 300-foot tunnel; produced $12,000.
    Idle.
   
    Central, in Sec. 34, T. 48 N., R. 8 W., in Hungry Creek mining
    district, 16 miles northwest of Hornbrook. Owners, Coil and Haslett.
    Located in 1893, 20 acres. Short ore shoots; ledge 2 feet wide; two
    tunnels, one 400 feet long; formation, granite and schist; free milling.
    Idle. 
                                                                                              .
    Champion, in Sec. 32, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., 10 1/2 miles from Orleans,
    in the Cottage Grove mining district in Klamath Reserve. Owners,
    J. A . Hunter et al.; 180 acres, located in 1899; two veins, in porphyry;
    still in ore in workings; equipment, dwellings and one stamp mill
    (800-pound stamp) driven by water power, and 2-ton cyanide plant;
    water from Ten Eyck Creek through 2000 feet of ditch; claims are on
    the east slope of Prospect Hill; owner claims to have 14,000 tons of
    $15 rock in sight; three men employed; adjoins Twan & Hannan pros-
    pect.

    Cherry Hill, in Sec. 25, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Greenhorn
    mining district; 6 1/2 miles southwest of Yreka in Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, Incorporated Company; several tunnels, longest being 200 
    feet; formation is diorite and porphyry; old 3-stamp mill, driven by
    steam power; adjoins Mt. Vernon on the west; been idle for a number
    of years; small production record.

    Columbia, in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 9 W., in the Scott River mining   
    district, 7 miles northeast of Scott Bar in the Klamath Reserve;
    elevation of 4700 feet. Owner, Scott River Mining Company, of
    Seattle; C. F. Lee, president; comprises 40 acres, on Old Baldy Moun-
    
    830
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    tain; located in 1882; short ore shoot in slate and diabase; workings
    consist of 700-foot tunnel and 120-foot shaft; ore is free milling near
    the surface, but base with depth; equipment consists of dwellings and
    10-stamp mill driven by steam and water power; only do assessment
    work; said to have been a producer at one time.
    
    Bibl.: Report  XII, p. 280; XIII, p. 394.
   
    Condensed, in Sec. 12, T. 38 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining
    district; 15 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, W. H. Cady; comprises 60 acres at an elevation of 2400 feet:
    short ore shoot in granite; little high grade found on footwall side;
    220-foot tunnel. Idle.
    
    Connor, in Sec. 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining
    district; 5 miles northeast of Greenview. Owner, J. Connor; comprises
    20 acres short ore shoot; pay in pockets; 500-foot tunnel; said to have
    produced $15,000. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 395.
    
    Crawley, in Sec. 22, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Callahan mining
    district, 1 1/2 miles southwest of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, C. A. Warden Estate; comprises 60 acres; short ore shoots; pay
    ore occurring in pockets; in hornblende schist; 600-foot tunnel and
    500 feet of drifts, 30-foot stope; old 2-stamp mill, 650-pound stamps;
    said to have produced $60,000; only do assessment work.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 396.
    
    Cub Bear and Blue Jeans, in Sec. 9, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the
    Liberty mining district, 12 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the
    Klamath Reserve. Owners, Siskiyou Syndicate, of Los Angeles; presi-
    dent, I. J. Luce; secretary, M. Marx; superintendent, C. Ritz; com-
    prises 100 acres; elevation 5800 feet; veins, two in number, occur in
    hornblende schist and quartz-porphyry; three short tunnels and open
    cuts, and ore being removed from the latter at present; good prospect;
    80 tons milled, which gave returns of over $20 per ton; five men are
    employed on the Highland lode; discovered in 1898 by Chas. Cory.
    
    Cummings, formerly known as the McKeen, in Sec. 36, T. 40 N..
    R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 3 1/2 miles southwest of Calla-
    han in the Klamath Reserve; has been one of the best quartz pro-
    ducers in this district. It is owned by the Shasta Mining Company, of
    Callahan, with James McKeen as manager-superintendent. and com-
    prises 200 acres, patented, on Wildcat Creek at an elevation of 4200
    feet; strike of the vein is N. 40' E., dip 40' SW.; ore shoots are
    short, being 130 feet long and 3 feet wide, all in granite; main
    tunnel is 800 feet long and, together with the drifts, crosscuts and
    stopes, comprise several thousand feet of work, but no depth has been
    
    831

    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
   
    attained; old Kinkead mill (driven by water power) and a dwelling, on
    the property; has been a good producer, said to exceed $500,000, and
    ore is free and easily worked; idle at present; has been worked since
    1874.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 280; XIII, p. 396.
    
    Dewey, one of the noted quartz mines of Siskiyou County, is located
    in Sec. 23, T. 42 N., R. 8 W., in the Gazelle mining district; 12 miles
    southwest of Gazelle in the Klamath Reserve. It is owned by the
    Squaw Mining Company and comprises 100 acres, patented, at an
    elevation of 6800 feet; the strike of the vein is N. 40' E., dip 30'
    SE. The ore occurs in granodiorite, having a width of 3 feet;
    workings consist of a shaft 400 feet deep, a tunnel 920 feet in length,
    drifts, raises and stopes, all comprising several thousand feet of
    development work; equipment consists of hoist, dwellings, and old
    10-stamp and Huntington mills (poor condition) operated by steam
    and water power; property said to have produced $900,000; discovered
    in the early eighties; idle since 1907.
    
    Double Eagle and Little Quartz, in Sec. 26, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in
    Oak Bar mining district in Klamath Reserve, 30 miles west of Horn-
    brook. Owner, H. H. Barton; comprises 20 acres; pocket mine; ore is
    hornblende schist and granitic-porphyry; 120-foot tunnel; produced
    $10,000, ore being crushed in an arrastra. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 397.
    
    Eliza, in Secs. 4 and 9, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining
    district, 15 miles west of Yreka in the Klamath Reserve. Owners,
    Shur, Yunker & DeWitt, of Yreka. Group comprises 100 acres, located
    in 1865 by D. M. Lash; relocated in 1892 by present owners. Eleva-
    tion is 4500 feet. There is a good wagon road from the property to
    Yreka. The location covers the lode for a distance of 4500 feet. The
    fissure vein occurs in quartz-porphyry and diabase, the former being
    the footwall and the latter the hanging-wall. The strike is N. 20'
    E. and dip 45' E.; ore shoot is 200 feet long and 5 feet wide; a 1400-
    foot tunnel has been driven on the vein, giving 360 feet of backs; above
    this lower tunnel there are four others from 100 to 800 feet in length;
    there are five stopes in all; equipment consists of dwellings and 10-stamp
    mill. Owners claim an ore reserve of 40,000 tons of value of $5 per ton
    and a production to date of $150,000; two men are employed doing
    development work in the lower tunnel; ore free near surface, but
    somewhat base with depth.
    
    Elk Creek, in Sec. 3, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining
    district, 6 miles north of Yreka. Owners, Elk Creek Mining Company;
    president, L. F. Colburn; secretary, J. E. Harmon; home office, Yreka;
           
    832

    MINES AND MINERAL BESOURCES.
    
    100 acres located in 1903, in Klamath Reserve; three parallel veins;
    100-foot ore shoot 14 inches wide; formation, slate and porphyry; two
    tunnels 600 and 450 feet long; 10-stamp mill driven by electricity; pro-
    duction $20,000.  Idle.
    
    Fagundez (see Humpback).
    
    Fleetwood and Nannie S., formerly known as Old Jackson, in Sec.
    5, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining district, 16 miles west o!
    Yreka. Owner, L. W. Cousins; comprises 80 acres; short ore shoots in
    granitic-porphyry; seven tunnels from 5 to 800 feet in length. Idle;
    only do assessment work.
    
    Franklin, in Sec. 16, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining
    district, 8 miles north of Fort Jones at an elevation of 5500 feet. Own-
    ers, Miller & Arnold; comprises 40 acres on Indian Creek; ore shoot is
    120 feet long and 22 inches wide, with slate footwall and quartz-
    porphyry hanging-wall; 600-foot tunnel, drifts and 60-foot stope; claim
    production of $90,000; ore runs about $25 per ton and is worked in
    Baker's mill; leased to Wells & Brown. Idle since July, 1913; 20 tons
    of $25 rock on the dump.
    
    Golden Eagle, formerly known as the Sheba, in Sec. 7, T. 44 N..
    R. 9 W., in the Deadwood mining district; 10 miles north of Fort Jones;
    was one of the producers in this section. It is owned by the Indian
    Creek Mining Company of San Francisco; president, I. J. Coe, and
    superintendent, T. E. Morrison; comprises 80 acres, patented; ore shoots
    are 200 feet long and 15 inches wide, with diabase footwall and quartz-
    porphyry hanging-wall; 750-foot tunnel, drifts and stopes, making sev-    
    eral thousand feet of development work; the equipment, consisting of
    50 h.p. boiler and 5-stamp mill, have been removed from the property
    and company has closed down and practically abandoned the buildings;
    has paid some dividends.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 625.
    
    Golden Seal, in Sec. 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining
    district, 5 miles northeast of Greenview at an elevation of 3200 feet.
    Owner, V. Pitz; comprises 20 acres, located in 1885; 300-foot ore shoot,
    8 inches wide, in syenite and quartz-porphyry; 525-foot tunnel on the
    vein; a few pockets of high grade taken out. Owner works the claim
    tn the winter.
    
    Golden West, formerly known as the King, in Sec. 15, T. 39 N.,
    R. 10 W., in the Salmon River mining district, 13 miles west of Calla-
    han, in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, J. S. Baggs; comprises 60 acres
    on Trail Creek at an elevation of 7000 feet; fissure vein in schist;
    200-foot tunnel, still in ore; one man is employed; good prospect, with
    well-defined ledge of free milling ore, 4 feet wide and running from
    $8 to $15 per ton; discovered in 1904.
    
   SlSKlYOU COUNTY.
    
    833
    
    Gold Hill, formerly known as the Gilta, in Sec. 12, T. 9 N.,
    R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district, in Klamath Reserve, at an eleva-
    tion of 3500 feet. Owner, E. A. Dannenbrink; comprises 60 acres of pat-
    ented land; ore shoot is 250 feet long and 3 feet wide, in slate and
    diorite; several thousand feet development work, consisting of tunnels,
    crosscuts and stopes; equipment consists of dwellings, and 10-stamp mill
    operated by steam and water power, idle at present; twelve men
    employed, doing prospect work; property has been a producer.
    
    Grizzly Gulch, in Sec. 14, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Deadwood
    mining district, 10 miles north of Fort Jones at an elevation of 7000
    feet. Owner, J. Shelly; comprises 60 acres; short ore shoots in diabase;
    worked for pockets; said to have produced $4000 from 80-foot tunnel.
    Idle.
    
    Gumboot, in Sec. 15, T. 45 N., R. 9 W., 8 miles east of Scott Bar,
    in the Scott River mining district in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    A. Simon; comprises 40 acres; ore is base with depth (some chalcopy-
    rite), occurring in slate; length of ore shoot not determined; 120-foot
    tunnel; 60-foot shaft; only do assessment work.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 404.
    
    Hansen, formerly known as Knownothing Creek, in Secs. 1 and 12,
    T. 9 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district, 8 1/2 miles southwest of
    Forks of Salmon, in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Roberts & Hagland;
    comprises 60 acres of patented land, located in 1880; short ore shoot,
    in slate and quartz-porphyry; several tunnels, longest being 850 feet,
    equipment, dwelling and old arrastra; two men employed doing pros-
    pect work; has been a small producer.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 622.
    
    Hardscrabble, in Sec. 17, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 14 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, Hardscrabble Mining Company, of Los Angeles; C. B. Parrott,
    president; John Nefroney, superintendent; comprises 140 acres, at an
    elevation of 6100 feet; length of ore shoot not determined; country rock
    in dioritic-schist; 400-foot tunnel; two men employed. Highland Mine
    to the northeast.
    
    Hazel, in Sec. 25, T. 47 N., R. 8 W., in the Cottonwood mining
    district, 4 miles southwest of Hornbrook, is the only large producer in
    this district. It is owned bv the Hazel Gold Mining Company, of Chico;
    J. A. Jillson. president, and J. W. Roper, secretary. The group com-
    prises 80 acres of patented land in the Klamath National Forest Reserve
    at an elevation of 2800 feet. There are three veins, known as the
    Potato Patch, "C" and Hazilett, which occur in the slate, the last two
    being practically parallel. The ore shoot is 150 feet long and 3 feet in
    
    834

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    width, with a 40' dip to the south. There are five tunnels from 100 to
    1500 feet in length, all in the vein, comprising, with the drifts and
    stopes, several thousand feet of development work. The equipment
    consists of dwellings, assay office, and a 10-stamp Hendy mill (850
    pound stamps) driven by waterpower from Ditch Creek through 1 mile
    of ditch. The property is said to have produced $800,000, but is idle at
    the present time. It was discovered in 1883 by H. Hazilett and then
    sold to the present owners.
    
    Hicks, formerly known as China Gulch.   In Sec. 2, T. 46 N.,
    R. 7 W., 7 miles northwest of Hornbrook in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner. J. T. Hicks. Comprises 40 acres. Ore shoot said to be 600 feet
    long. but only 3 inches wide on the surface, occurring in granite.
    Surface stripped of overburden and ore exposed a few feet below, which
    was crushed in an arrastra; 150-foot tunnel; 8-foot arrastra, run by
    water power; tailings impounded (150 tons on hand), which are to be
    treated in cyanide plant soon; said to assay from $5 to $15 per ton.
    Idle at present. Small producer.
    
    Highland, in Sec. 16, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 11 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve, is
    one of the noted quartz mines of this county.  It is owned by the
    Belgium-Bohemian Mining Company of Belgium. H. E. Mattern,
    superintendent. Comprises 100 acres at an elevation of 6400 feet.
    Supplies are brought over a 3-mile trail by means of pack animals, ore
    shoots are about 130 feet long and 2 feet wide, having a strike of
    N. 40' E and a dip of 30' SE.; footwall is dioritic-schist and hang-
    ing-wall is quartz-porphyry; workings consist of tunnels, the main
    tunnel having a length of 600 feet; there are several thousand feet of
    development work, all near the apex of the mountain, so that only a
    shallow depth has been obtained; equipment consists of cars, mining
    tools, assay office, dwellings, and a 10-stamp mill (modern pattern)
    run by gasoline; twenty-six men are employed; said to have produced
    over $350,000; best ore found in pockets; discovered in 1899 by
    P. Musick, who extracted $80,000 from pockets.
    
    Highland, known also as the Old Highland. In Sec. 12, T 39 N.,
    R. 10 W., in the Salmon River mining district, 12 1/2 miles northwest of
    Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Denny-Bar Company.
    Comprises 60 acres on Trail Creek; fissure vein between walls of granite
    and schist, being an extension of the Trail Creek ledge; 200-foot tunnel,
    and 400 feet of drifts; ore is free and easily worked; idle at present;
    owners only do assessment work; Trail Creek prospect to the south.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 405.
    
    Highland, in Sec. 25, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Cottonwood mining
    district, 3 miles west of Hornbrook in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    
    SlSKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    835
    
    C. A. Myers. Comprises 60 acres; ore shoot is 125 feet long and
    10 inches wide, being free milling and high grade; formation is slate;
    1500-foot tunnel on the vein; idle at present; discovered in 1903 by
    Donnelly Bros.; then abandoned and relocated by Rogers, who aban-
    donded it, and was relocated by present owner; small producer.
    
    Hoboken, in Sec. 21, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood mining
    district, 11 miles north of Fort Jones. Owner, T. A. Walker. Com-
    prises 40 acres, patented, on Cherry Creek; 120-foot ore shoot, 10 inches
    wide, with diabase foot and slate hanging-walls; 600-foot tunnel and
    250-foot drift; small producer at one time, the ore being crushed in an
    arrastra; idle since 1907.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 284; XIII. p 406.
    
    Homestake, in Sec. 15, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Taylor & Bobs; J. F. Boyle, superintendent. Comprises
    120 acres on the same lode as the Highland mine; formation is
    quartz-porphyry and dioritic schist; worked by means of tunnels; high
    grade (pocket) gold extracted, which has made the property noted;
    discovered in 1902; elevation is 6100 feet; eight men are employed; has
    produced several thousand dollars in high grade; 2-mile trail from
    wagon road.
    
    Humpback, formerly known as Fagundez, in Secs. 4, 5, 8 and 9,
    T. 39 N., R. 11 W.. in the Liberty mining district; 3 miles south of
    Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Comprises 80 acres of patented
    land on Eddy's Gulch; elevation 3400 feet; length along lode 6000 feet;
    ore shoot is 80 to 100 feet long and 1 foot wide; strike N. 20' E.,
    dip 25' NE.; formation is slate; workings consist of 250-foot tun-
    nel, drifts and crosscuts; small producer; idle for several years.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 619.
    
    Inyo, in Sec. 2, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug mining district,
    11 miles west of Yreka in Klamath Reserve at an elevation of 3100 feet.
    Owner, J. D. Fairchild. Comprises 20 acres, discovered in 1909; short
    ore shoots in quartz-porphyry pocket mine; produced $4000. Idle.
    Only do assessment work.
    
    Ironsides, formerly known as Little Wonder, in Sec. 26, T. 45 N.,
    R. 8 W., in Greenhorn mining district. 7 miles southwest of Yreka, in
    Klamath Reserve. Owner, James Ironsides; worked as a pocket mine;
    three short tunnels; small producer of high grade ore.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 285; XIII, p. 408.
    
    Johnson and China Paul, in Sec. 12, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., in Quartz
    Valley mining district, 7 miles north of Greenview. Owner, S. H. Hol-
    gate. Comprises 80 acres; 200-foot ore shnot, 10 inches wide, in diabase;
    
    836
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.

    680-foot tunnel; some rich pockets extracted from Johnson claim; idle
    since 1910.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 626.
    
    Kangaroo, in Sec. 29, T. 40 N., R. 7 W., in the Callahan mining
    district, 9 miles southeast of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner
    C. O. Johnson. Comprises 60 acres; short ore shoot, in diorite and
    granitic-porphyry, 220-foot tunnel and 400 feet of drifts; worked for
    pockets; some high grade ore extracted.
    
    Katie May, in Sec. 24, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Greenhorn mining
    district, 6 miles west ol Yreka in Klamath Reserve. Owner, A. S.
    Calkins; comprises 20 acres; located in 1886; relocated in 1900, short
    ore shoots in diorite and slate; 250-foot tunnel and 80-foot shaft;
    one stope, 60 feet by 4 feet by 50 feet; ore in sight consists of 100
    tons, valued at $14 per ton; only do assessment work.
    
    Bibl.: Report XlII, p. 409.
    
    King Solomon, in Secs. 6 and 7, T. 38 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty
    mining district, 12 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath
    Reserve, is another of the quartz producers of Siskiyou County. It
    is owned by C. B. Cottrell, of Westerly, R. I.; W. H. Young, superin-
    tendent, and comprises 40 acres located in the eighties by P. Dannen-
    brink; length along lode 3000 feet; length of ore shoot, 230 feet;
    width 5 feet; strike north and south; dip 60' E.; footwall, quartz-
    porphyry; hanging-wall slate; ore free milling; workings: 130-foot
    shaft, tunnels, longest being 460 feet, over 1000 feet of drifts, cross-
    cuts and stopes, making in all several hundred feet of development
    work; equipment: cars, 30 h.p. boiler, small hoist, dwellings and
    an 8-stamp mill; has been a good producer and pay ore in sight;
    five men employed at present; mine being opened up so as to have a
    considerable tonnage blocked out.
    
    Little Bonsa, in Sec. 9, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mIning
    district, 4 1/2 miles north of Yreka. Owner, C. N. Gordon; in Klamath
    Reserve; 20 acres located in 1910; short ore shoot, 6 inches wide; two
    tunnels, longest 40 feet; idle since 1912.
    
    Lucky Strike, in Sec. 33, T. 41 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 9 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Lucky Strike Mining Company, of Los Angeles; president,
    T. Eagerly; superintendent, W. F. Smith. Comprises 80 acres; short
    ore shoot in hornblende schist; 450-foot tunnel; some high grade ore
    found near the surface; two men employed.

    Lucky Strike, in Sec. 28, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Greenhorn mining
    district, 1 1/2 miles northwest of Yreka. Owner, F. M. Osgood; superin-
    tendent, J. M. Beale; 160 acres, located in 1865; formation, slate; doing

    SISKIYOU COUNTY

    837
        
    development work; 1000 tons of ore in sight; four tunnels and one
    80 foot shaft; nine men employed. Some ore treated in custom mill at
    Yreka.
    
    Marrian & Goodale, in Sec. 15, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty
    mining district, 9 1/2 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath
    Reserve. Owner, Incorporated Company, of San Francisco; James
    Hogan, manager; comprises 80 acres, located in 1903; short ore shoot,
    in hornblende schist; 480-foot tunnel; rich bunches of high grade
    found; 2-stamp mill driven by steam power; dwellings; has been
    a small producer; idle at present.
    
    McCraughry Group, in Sec. 8, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Humbug
    mining district, 14 miles northwest of Yreka in Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, C. Humphreys; comprises 80 acres; formation is dolomite;
    160-foot ore shoot, 2 feet wide; free milling; 600-foot tunnel; ore
    reserve consists of 1500 tons, assaying $20 per ton. Idle.
    
    Monarch, in Sec. 8, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining dis-
    trict. Owner, G. R. Godfrey; comprises 40 acres, on Eddy Creek,
    at an elevation of 3300 feet; pocket mine; 150-foot tunnel; pockets occur
    in slate; only do assessment work.
    
    Morrison & Carlock, formerly known as the Little Queen, is located
    in the Quartz Valley mining district, in Sec. 13, T. 43 N., R. 10 W.,
    4 miles northwest of Greenview, and comprises 60 acres of patented
    land. It is owned by the Richman Company of Fort Jones and has
    a production record of $500,000. Idle since 1907 on account of law-
    suits. Altitude, 2800 feet; course of vein, N. 20' E:, dip 45' E.;
    vertical depth 400 feet (shaft, size 5' x7'); number of levels, eight;
    1200-foot drift to the west on this level; walls, limestone and quartz-
    porphyry; length of ore shoot 350 feet; width 16 inches; 1500-foot
    tunnel on vein; character of ore, brittle smoky quartz, free milling;
    mine equipment: 35 h.p. steam hoist, Gould water pump, cages,
    dwellings, assay office; reduction equipment: l0-stamp mill built by
    Union Iron Works, operated by electricity.
    
    Mount Vernon, in Sec. 25, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the Greenhorn
    mining district; 6 miles southwest of Yreka in Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, Incorporated Eastern Company; ore shoots are 150 feet long
    and 2 feet wide, occurring in slate; strike N. 40' E.; dip 50' S.;
    three tunnels longest being 1200 feet on the vein; equipment: dwellings,
    assay office and 10-stamp mill driven by electricity, power being
    obtained by California-Oregon Power Company; has been a producer;
    worked at times by leasers; idle at present.
    
    Nigger Boy, in Sec. 2, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Cottonwood mining
    district, 5 miles southwest of Hornbrook in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, W. H. Allison; comprises 60 acres. located in 1898; formation
        
    838

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    is slate and diorite; ore shoot is 180 feet long and 2 feet wide, two tun-
    nels, 1000 and 80 feet long on vein; equipment: dwellings, mining tools,
    blacksmith shop, 2-stamp mill driven by steam and water power; 1 1/2
    mile ditch from Ash Creek; under bond to Commercial Copper and
    Gold Mining Company, of Tallant, Oregon; three men are employed;
    some production, and ore reserves, claimed.
    
    Ohio Group, in Sec. 8, T. 46 N., R. 6 W., in Fool's Paradise min-
    ing district; 7 miles south of Hornbrook. Owner, W. Seeman; 60
    acres, patented, located in 1903; formation, syenite and diorite base
    ore; 300-foot oreshoot, 1 foot wide; 500-feet tunnel. Idle.
    
    Old Indian, in See. 4, T. 9 N., R. 8 E., in Liberty mining district;
    9 miles southwest of Forks of Salmon, in Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    A. Nally; comprises 40 acres, located in 1892; short ore shoot in serpen-
    tine; 200-foot tunnel; old 120-foot shaft (caved), worked as a pocket
    mine; only do assessment work.
    
   Old Vet and Eclipse, in Secs. 10 and 11, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in the
    Humbug mining district, 10 miles northwest of Yreka in Klamath
    Reserve at an elevation of 3900 feet. Owner, J. P. Horn: comprises
    40 acres; two parallel veins in granite; three tunnels, Iongest being 100
    feet; few tons of ore milled, gave returns of' $14 on plates.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 418.
    
    Oregonian Group, formerly known as the Malloy, in Secs. 15, 16,
    21and 22, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 3 miles
    northeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, D. Malloy;
    comprises 60 acres, located in 1886; 160-foot ore shoot 5 feet wide,
    strike N. 30' E, dip 40' NE.; strong ledge in granite; 420-foot tunnel;
    only do assessment work.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 289; XIll, p. 419.
    
    Oro Grande, in Secs. 10 and 11, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in the Humbug
    mining district, 12 miles northwest of Yreka in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Trask & Corinson; comprises 100 acres, located in 1860 and
    relocated in 1892 by present owners; four parallel veins, having dolomite
    foot and porphyry hanging-walls; 300-foot ore shoot, 2 feet wide; 300-
    foot tunnel and 160-foot shaft; one stope 80 feet by 4 feet by 40 feet;
    10-foot arrastra run by water from Humbug Creek; owners claim ore
    reserve of 1000 tons, value $16: produced to date $20,000; some of
    the ore pans $40 per ton; owners do all the work.
    
    Bibl.: Report, XIII, p. 419.
    
    Overton, in Sec. 16, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining
    district; 13 miles southeast of Etna MilIs in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Overton Gold Mining Company; C. E. Overton, president;
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    839
    
    L. E. Buckner, superintendent; comprises 80 acres. ore shoots are 100
    feet long and 20 inches wide, in dioritic schist; 420-foot tunnel, drifts
    and stope; 120 tons of ore on the dump, which is carried on mules to
    the Advance mill, a distance of 2 miles (5 mules handle 1 ton each trip,
    or 8 tons per day); property is idle at present; small producer.
    
    Pilot Knob, in Secs. 23, 24 and 26, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in the
    Virginia Bar mining district 3 miles north of Gottville in Klamath
    Reserve. Owners, Pilot Knob Mining Company; president, W. D. Wall;
    secretary and superintendent, T. K. Anderson; home office, Gottville;
    comprises 310 acres; formation, hornblende schist; three veins; length
    and width of ore body not determined; crosscut tunnel 340 feet long, not
    in ore as yet; several small tunnels in ore; ore is free milling and runs
    $20 per ton; equipment consists of assay office, several dwellings, 600
    feet of aerial tramway; 5-stamp Risdon Iron Works mill (850-pound
    stamps) run by water power; two men employed; last ore milled gave
    returns of $18 per ton from 16 tons; located in 1882.

    Prospect Hill, in Sec. 30, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., 11 miles from Orleans
    in the Cottage Grove mining district in Klamath Reserve. Owners,
    C. S. Little; several small tunnels in porphyry; free milling, 3-stamp
    mill; small production.
    
    Providence, in Sec. 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining
    district, 5 miles northeast of Greenview. Owners, Kradel Brothers;
    comprises 40 acres; short ore shoot in diabase; worked for pockets;
    650-foot tunnel; small producer. Idle; only do assessment work.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 421.
    
    Quartz Hill, in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River
    mining district, 1/2 mile south of Scott Bar on Scott River in Klamath
    Reserve. Owner H. G. Noonan, of San Francisco; comprises 45 acres
    of patented land on Quartz Hill, located in 1862; ore occurs in slate,
    and has heen worked both as a quartz and hydraulic mine, the surface
    having been worked as a placer deposit at one time; water is obtained
    from Mill Creek through two ditches, one 6 miles and the other 5 miles
    in length; the strike is northeast and southwest; the bedrock, so-called,
    consists of alternate beds of slate and quartzite, enclosed by two
    parallel dikes, 1800 feet apart. The whole mass is crushed by these
    dikes of quartzite; practically only the surface has heen worked; yearly
    production is from $10,000 to $12,000; equipment consists of old 10-
    stamp mill, two giants, and 1500 feet of pipe; some rich pockets found
    in the quartz seams. Idle at present.
        
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 290; XIII, p 421.
    
    Red Hill, in Sec. 4, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in the Hawkinsville mining
    distriet; 5 miles north of Yreka. Owner, J. Phillips; in Klamath
    
    840
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    Reserve; 13-inch vein; free milling; 40 acres, located in 1903; three tun-
    nels, one 304 feet long; formation quartz-porphyry; ore treated in cus-
    tom mill at Yreka. Produced $6,000.
    
    Reeder Group, in Sec. 8, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in Fool's Paradise
    mining district; 6 1/2 miles south of Hornbrook. Owner, B. C. Reeder;
    I20 acres, located in 1875; formation slate; three tunnels, longest 250
    feet; rich pockets taken out on Bonanza claim, largest being $20,000;
    said to have produced $50,000 to date; owner works claims.
    
    Robinson Gulch, in Sec. 18, T. 40 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty
    mining district, 14 miles southeast of Etna Mills at an elevation of
    5400 feet. Owners, Robinson Gulch Mining Company, of Etna Mills;
    C. M. Chase, president; A. A. Dyer, superintendent; comprises 80 acres
    located in 1903; short ore shoot in hornblende schist; 100-foot tunnel;
    only do assessment work; small pocket discovered on the surface.
    
    Rough & Frye, in Sec. 30, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., 11 1/2 miles from
    Orleans, in the Cottage Grove mining district in Klamath Reserve.
    0wner, C. Frye; 40 acres located in 1913; 175-foot tunnel and open cuts
    on surface for 600 feet; vein is 11 feet wide; free milling; some ore runs
    $15 per ton; doing development work.
    
    Ruby Basin, formerly known as the Jumbo, in Sec. 36, T. 40 N..
    R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 4 miles east of Sawyer's
    Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, I. Cullberg, Jr., of Arcata, com-
    prises 100 acres on White's Gulch; 160-foot ore shoot; free milling,
    3 feet wide, north and south strike and dip 40' E.; in slate, 800-foot
    tunnel, 500 feet of drifts and 60-foot stope; old 10-stamp mill, driven by
    water power; small producer at one time. Idle at present.
    
    Saint Lawrence, in Sec. 12, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., in the Quartz Val-
    ley mining district, 6 miles north of Greenview. Owner, A. G. Myers;
    comprises 20 acres; pockets in the quartz-porphyry; 220-foot tunnel.
    Idle.

    Skelton, in Sec. 26, T. 41 N., R. 9 W., in the Liberty mining dis-
    trict, 5 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    D. Skelton; comprises 20 acres, located in 1893; 130-foot vein, 4 feet
    wide, but base in character and probably too low grade to pay to
    work, as it only carries $3 in gold per ton, 2% copper and a little silver.
    Idle at present.
    
    Specimen, in Sec. 15, T. 40 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining
    district, 5 miles west of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    W. Ellis; comprises 60 acres, on Craig's Gulch; short ore shoot in
    hornblende schist; worked for pockets, and some rich specimens
    extracted; 150-foot tunnel. Idle at present.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII p. 427.
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    841

    Star, in Sec. 12, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., in the Quartz Valley mining
    district, 6 miles north of Greenview. Owner, F. Star; comprises 20
    acres, located in 1882; pockets in the quartz porphyry; 700-foot tunnel.
    Idle.
    
    Sterling, in Sec. 20, T. 42 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood mining
    district, 13 miles northwest of Fort Jones at an elevation of 7300 feet.
    Owner, W. Crocker; comprises 40 acres on east fork of Deadwood
    Creek; short ore shoot in slate and diabase; worked for pockets; some
    rich ore extracted; 620-foot tunnel; only do assessment work.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 428.
    
    Sundown, in Sec. 19, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in Virginia Bar mining
    district, 4 miles north of Gottville in Klamath Reserve. Owners, Den-
    ver Mining Company, C. A. Von, president; home office, Denver,
    Colorado; comprises 60 acres: formation, diorite and schist; ore shoot
    100 to 120 feet long, 2 feet wide; two tunnels, 150 and 800 feet long;
    5-stamp mill driven by water power; I mile ditch from Dutch Creek;
    small production. Idle.
    
    Taft, in Sec. 30, T. 11 N., R. 8 E., in Liberty mining district, 9
    miles northeast of Forks of Salmon by trail; in Klamath Reserve; at
    at elevation of 2800 feet. Owner, C. Taylor; comprises 40 acres,
    located in 1908; pocket gold in slate; 100-foot tunnel; small production.
    Idle.
    
    Teddy-Avalon, in Sec. 18, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in Virginia Bar min-
    ing district, 7 miles north of Gottville in Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    E. J. Durkee; comprises 40 acres; formation is granite; short ore shoot,
    1 foot wide; 125-foot tunnel; little high grade taken out; free milling.

    Trail Creek, in Sec. 12, T. 39 N., R. 10 W., in the Salmon River
    mining district, 12 miles west of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, Trail Creek Mining Company, of Callahan; George A. Foster,
    president and superintendent; George Hart, secretary; comprises 100
    acres on Trail Creek at an elevation of 7200 feet, reached by trail from
    Callahan. The fissure vein occurs between schist walls, with a strike
    of N. 40' W., and a dip of 60' N.; ore shoot is 300 feet long and
    2 feet wide; workings consist of an 850-foot tunnel, several small drifts
    and a stope 200 feet in length; equipment consists of two 3 1/2-foot
    Huntington mills (capacity is 20 tons in twenty-four hours, through
    50-mesh screen) run by waterpower; tools, ore cars and dwellings;
    seven men are employed; owner claims an ore reserve of 3000 tons of
    rock; free milling; yearly production 1912 (seventy days' run) was
    $15,000; production to date $40,000: best prospect in the district.
    
    Twan & Hannan, in Sec. 30, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., 11 miles from
    Orleans in the Cottage Grove mining district in Klamath Reserve.
       
    842
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    Owners, Twan & Hannan; comprises 40 acres; 400-foot crosscut tunnel,
    in porphyry; only do assessment work; ledge 4 feet wide on the surface;
    some ore crushed and treated in cyanide mill at Champion.
    
    Uncle Sam Consolidated, formerly known as the Sheffield, in Secs.
    3 and 10, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 7 miles
    south of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Shef-
    field Estate; comprises 60 acres between White and Eddy gulches;
    located in 1873. Length along the lode, 3000 feet; length of ore shoot,
    110 feet, and width 2 feet; vertical depth below outcrop, 300 feet;
    strike N. 20' E., dip 25' NE.; footwall, slate; hanging wall, quartz-
    porphyry; length driven on vein, 420 feet; ore free milling; water
    supply from White's Gulch through 1 1/2 miles of ditch and 1/2 mile
    of flume; old workings consisting of stopes and drifts are caved; equip-
    ment consists of dwellings and old 8-stamp mill, 780-pound stamps;
    producer for several years; some good ore in workings. Idle at present.
    
    BibI.:  Report VIII. p. 619; XI, p. 433; XII, p. 293; XIII, p. 431.
    
    Wicks, in Sec. 13, T. 44 N.. R. 10 W., in the Deadwood mining
    district, 12 miles northwest of Fort Jones at an elevation of 6200 feet.
    Owner, Weeks Bros.; comprises 40 acres; short ore shoot in diabase,
    badly faulted; little high grade extracted on the surface; 150-foot-tun-
    nel. Idle.
    
    White Bear, in Sec. 13, T. 39 N., R. 12 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 9 miles southwest of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Daggett & Smith; comprises 20 acres, north of the Black Bear,
    on an east and west vein; ore shoot is 100 feet long and 2 feet wide,
    with a dip of 30' E.; 400-foot tunnel and 2 drifts, each 80 feet in
    length; equipment: dwelling and 5-stamp mill; good prospect, but only
    small amount of development work; owners expect to employ several
    men during the winter. One man at work at present.
    
    Zarina, in Sec. 33, T. 41 N., R. 10 W., in the Liberty mining dis-
    trict, 9 1/2 miles southeast of Etna Mills in the Klamath Reserve. Own-
    ers, Zarina Mining Company, of Etna Mills; J. W. Harris, superin-
    tendent; comprises 100 acres, located in 1900; elevation, 6500 feet; ore
    shoot, 130 feet long and 2 feet wide; dioritic schist walls; 350 and
    80-foot tunnels, drifts and stopes; equipment consists of dwellings and
    5-stamp mill, driven by water power from lake above the property;
    small producer; not worked on any scale since 1911. One man
    employed at present; best ore found in pockets, similar to the Highland.
    
    SlSKlYOU COUNTY.

    843.
    
    GOLD MINES--PLACER.
    
    A succession of terraces or benches of considerable width covered
    with trees and shrubbery and containing auriferous gravel banks, whlch
    range from 50 to 200 feet in height, are frequent along the Klamath
    River and its tributaries. These benches are often miles in extent,
    being frequently cut by the more modern and deeper channels, and were
    probably formed by glacial action, causing the river to seek a new
    channel, for the rim rocks are intact and sharply defined and were not
    worn away gradually. These old gravel channels have played an
    important part in the mining production of this county.
    
    An important change has taken place at the junction of the Scott
    River with Klamath, for here are found terraces or benches, usually
    three in number, with well defined trough-shaped depressions, rims
    intact, receding and ascending gradually from the river bed or its
    banks and forming a series of steps from 200 to 300 feet apart and from
    50 to 200 feet between respective channels. These are evidently the
    old river courses, buried in places 100 feet deep under the rocky debris
    that had slid from the mountain side during a cataclysm of nature,
    causing new channels cutting deeper into the rocky formation, to be
    formed.  These deposits have been worked by both drift and hydraulic
    mining.
    
    Approximate production of placer mines, along the Klamath River
    from Humbug Creek to Scott River (from a known area):
                                           
                                  Size of ground worked    Number   Value      Average         Average                                                   of cubic            per cubic
    Name of property            Length   Width    Depth    yards                yard
                                in feet   in feet in feet             
    
    Virginia Bar --------     100        50         10      1,851    $30,000     $16 20 M. Mott,head of Virginia Bar   50        16          10        296        8,000      27 
    Centennial ------------  685         40          40      40,000      97,000     2 42 
    Manzanita Bar --------  1,600       200          25 296,296    300,000        1 01
    Yankee Dam -------      100          60          4       888      13,000      14 62
    Vatinell & Co. ------  150           50          6    1,666        8,000        4 80  
Pierson & Co. below Oak Bar -- 0         20         3      836        7,300        8 72
Poverty Point drift mine 1,500           30         6   10,000     23,000        2 36   
Maplesden wing dam ----      150         30          30    5,000     30,000        6 00 
    Daggett ---------        200         50          5    1,851     25,000       13 50
    Kols wing dam  ------    60          30          6       400      1,100         2 75
      
    Portuguese Company, at Oak Bar, took out, with eleven men and use
    of derrick, in three days, by hand shoveling, $3000, or at rate of $1000
    per day.
    
    China Sam took out in one tub, or 5 cubic yards, 8 ounces of gold,
    valued at $134.
    
    Wm. McConnell's claim, Humbug Creek, took out in one season,
    $34,000; same claim, next season, $28,000; same claim, next season,
    $22,000; total, $84,000; pick and shovel, and use of derrick, from one
    acre.
    
    844

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    Daggett Mine, worked with pick and shovel, with four men, averaged
    $100 per day for several months.
    
    From Pine Grove Mine, from a pit 100 feet square, on bedrock, and
    18 feet deep, $6,000 was extracted.
    
    GOLD MINES--HYDRAULIC.
    
    Bark House Creek, in Secs. 23 and 26, in Oak Bar mining district,
    26 miles west of Hornbrook in Klamath Reserve. Owners, N. E. and
    P. C. Lange; comprises 200 acres; micaceous schist bedrock; coarse
    gold found In crevices of bedrock; good producer years ago. Idle at
    present.
    
    Beaudry, in Secs. 3, 11, 34, 35, 30, 26, 2 and 23, T. 39 and 40 N.,
    R. 8 and 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 1 mile southeast of
    Callahan in the Klamath Reserve is the best paying hydraulic mine in
    this distrlct.  Owner, J. Beaudry; comprises several of the old placer
    locations, wlth an area of 640 acres on Scott River and Wildcat Creek;
    the bedrock is schist; gravel 20 to 60 feet deep; water is obtained from
    South Fork of Scott River and Wildcat Creek through two ditches, one
    15 and the other 2 miles in length; 7 giants, 4000 feet of pipe and three
    dwellings on the property; six men employed at present making repairs
    to ditches; use fifteen men during the season; production said to be from
    $25,000 to $40,000 per year.
    
    Belle Josephine, formerly known as Slide Creek, in Sec 14, T. 39 N.,
    R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district, 6 miles southwest of Calla-
    han in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, A. E. Westover; comprises 160
    acres, on Slide Creek, including the Abers, Carter and other old placer
    mines, which have been noted producers; schist bedrock; 30 to 50 feet
    of gravel; water from Slide Creek through a ditch 2 miles long, carrying
    1100 inches; equipment consists of four giants, 2500 feet of pipe and two
    dwellings; twelve men employed during operating season, but only three
    men at present. Cost about $1500 per year for ditch repairs; property is
    paying dividends.
    
    Bloomer, in Secs. 33 and 34, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining
    district, 6 miles northwest of Forks of Salmon in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Bennett Company; comprises 51 acres of patented land; bed-
    rock is schist; worked extensively years ago and was good producer.
    Idle.

    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 612; XII, p. 278; XIII, p. 390.
    
    Blue Gravel, formerly known as the Black Lead, in Sec. 32, T. 45 N..
    R 7 W., in the Greenhorn mining district, 2 miles south of Yreka in
    Klamath Reserve. Owners, Smith & Lee; comprises 200 acres, located
    in 1888; it was a famous placer producer at one time; slate bedrock;
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    845
        
    10 feet of gravel; about 60 acres have been worked.  Idle since 1910;
    has been drilled for dredging ground.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 390.
    
    Blue Hill, in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott Bar mining
    district, 1/8 mile south of Scott Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    E. Jacobs; comprises 20 acres, along Scott River; slate bedrock; 20 to
    40 feet gravel; water from Mill Creek through a ditch 1/2 mile long;
    equipment one giant and 1000 feet of pipe; worked on a small scale.
    Idle on account of lack of water.
    
    Bowersox, in Sec. 2, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining dis-
    trict at Somes Bar in Klamath Reserve. Owner, W. P. Bowersox; com-
    prises 40 acres; schist bedrock; 20 feet of gravel. Idle; only worked to
    limited extent.
    
    Brown & George, in Sec. 1, T. 38 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty min-
    ing district, 14 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Banner Mining Company; T. H. George, superintendent; com-
    prises 40 acres on Shattuck Creek; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of
    gravel; two giants and 1000 feet of pipe. Idle.

    Bibl.: Report XIlI, p. 391.
    
    Campbell, in Secs. 1, 2, 11, 12, 13 and 14, T. 43 N., R. 10 W., in
    the Quartz Valley mining district, 6 miles north of Greenview. Owners,
    Weed & Gardner; holdings comprise 1500 acres of patented land, being
    practically all the placer ground in this district, and includes the old
    Hull Gulch, Sucker Flat, Smith & Hand, Van Duzen Gulch and Meads
    Gulch properties; bedrock is quartz-porphyry; gravel from 20 to 80
    feet deep; water from Kidder and Shackleford creeks, through two
    ditches, one 14 and the other 5 miles long; equipment consists of three
    giants, and 3000 feet of pipe. Idle since 1910; some rich gravel; at
    one time a large production was obtained from these mines.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 279; XIII, p. 392.

    Cecilville, formerly known as the Sightman, in Sec. 30, T. 38 N.,
    R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, 15 miles southeast of Sawyer's
    Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, G. H. Sightman; com-
    prises 40 acres on Crawford Creek; schist bedrock; 20 to 60 feet of
    gravel; water from Crawford Creek through 2 1/2-mile ditch; one giant
    and 800 feet of pipe; only worked on a limited scale during the winter;
    small producer.
    
    China Creek, formerly known as the Reeves, in Sec. 5, T. 16 N.,
    R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 6 miles northeast of Happy
    Camp in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, Chinese Company; corn-
    
    846
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    prises 40 acres of patented land; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of gravel.
    Idle several years; good producer in the past.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 393.
    
    Classic Hill, in Sec. 36, T. 18 N., R. 6 E., in the Happy Camp min-
    ing district, 12 miles north of Happy Camp in the Klamath Forest
    Reserve.  Owner, C. Wheeler; comprises 43 acres of patented land;
    schist bedrock; 5 to 30 feet of gravel; water from west branch of Indian
    Creek through a ditch 5 miles long, carrying 600 inches; equipment con-
    sists of two giants and 1000 feet of pipe; has been a good producer.  Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 394.
    
    Crapo, in Sec. 11, T. 10 N., R. 7 E., 3 miles southwest of Forks of
    Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Bennett Company; com-
    prises 39 acres of patented ground; slate bedrock; 20 feet of gravel.
    Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 612; XII, pp. 280, 282; XlII, p. 396.
    
    Cronin, in Sec. 22, T. 40 N., R. 12 W., in thc Liberty mining dis-
    trict, 7 miles west of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owner, French Syndicate of Paris, France; J. Sapp, watchman; com-
    prises 40 acres, patented, on West Fork of Salmon River; slate bedrock;
    30 to 100 feet of gravel; water from Boulder Gulch through 2-mile ditch
    carrying 800 inches; 5 giants, 3000 feet of pipe, derrick and dwellings;
    good producer at one time. Idle since 1910.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p: 396.
    
    Davis, formerly known as the Van Brunt, in Sec. 11, T. 16 N.,
    R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district; 1/8 mile southwest of Happy
    Camp, was located in 1870 and has been worked since that time. It is
    owned by R. A. Davis, of San Francisco, and comprises 200 acres of
    patented land along the Klamath River; the bedrock is schist and the
    gravel in places is more than 100 feet deep. Water is obtained from
    the South Fork of Indian Creek, through a ditch 10 miles long, having
    a capacity of 120 inches and which cost $40,000; equipment consists of
    three giants, sluice boxes and 2000 feet of pipe; twelve men employed
    during operating season; cost of operating about $10,000 (period of five
    months); pays dividends; small amount of platinum obtained. (See
    photo No. 3.)
    
    Denny, in Secs. 17, 20, 21 and 29, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Calla-
    han mining district, in town of Callahan, in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Scott River Dredge Company; comprises 400 acres of old
    locations along the Scott River, 118 acres of which is patented; schist
    bedrock; 20 to 60 feet of gravel, some boulders and some cement near
    the bedrock; 3-mile ditch from South Fork of Scott River; ground
  
    SlSKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    847
 
    Photo No. 3.  Davis hydraulic mine -- Happy Camp.
 
    848
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    noted placer producer in the early days; company endeavored to work
    the bed of Scott River with a small dredge, but did not understand this
    business and dismantled the boat in 1910 and sold the machinery;
    property idle since that time; some good ground yet to be worked.
    
    Dick Morris, formerly known as the Ramis, in Sec. 35, T. 46 N.,
    R. 11 W., in the Hamburg Bar mining district, 1 3/4 miles northwest of
    Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners, Johnson & Hanses,
    comprises 40 acres; schist bedrock; 10 to 30 feet of gravel; two giants
    and 500 feet of pipe. Idle.  Adjoins Hammer on the north.
    
    Dunnigan, in Sec. 20, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., in the T-Bar mining dis-
    trict, 36 miles (by trail) south of Happy Camp in the Klamath Forest
    Reserve. Owners, Dunnigan Consolidated Mining Company, of San
    Francisco; E. M. Wilbur, president; Mrs. E. J. Wilbur, secretary; J. M.
    Stickel, general manager; holdings comprise 160 acres, consisting of
    old benches; portion of land worked in the early days and relocated
    by J. M. Stickel in 1912; water obtained from T-Bar Creek through
    ditch 1/4 mile long; bedrock in serpentine and slate; depth of gravel from
    10 to 40 feet (loose); equipment consists of two giants, 2000 feet of pipe,
    dwelling and sluice boxes; one man employed at present; company
    intends to work a full crew in the spring; said to be good ground.
    
    Eastlick, in Secs. 17 and 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino
    mining district, 5 miles northeast of Greenview. Owners, Richman &
    Beems, of Fort Jones; comprises 67 acres of patented land; bedrock
    is quartz-porphyry; 30 to 60 feet of gravel; two ditches from Mill and
    Kidder creeks, one 6 miles and the other 4 miles long; equipment con-
    sists of three giants and 2600 feet of pipe; noted property at one time
    and yielded good returns. Idle for past three years.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 608; XII, p. 281; XIII, p. 398.
    
    Elliott, formerly known as the Golden Nugget, in Sec. 20, T. 40 N.,
    R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district; 3/4 mile north of Sawyer's
    Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, M. L. Elliott; comprises
    20 acres, patented, on Jackass Gulch; slate bedrock; 15 to 40 feet of
    gravel; two giants, 1000 feet of pipe and derrick; water from Jackass
    Gulch through a flume 1 1/2 miles long; good production in 1911; coarse
    gold on bedrock; worked in winter.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 603.
    
    Ellston, in Sec. 33, T. 11 N.. R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining dis-
    trict, 10 miles northwest of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest
    Reserve. Owner, A. E. Ellston; comprises 30 acres; slate bedrock; 20
    feet of gravel. Idle; only does assessment work; some rich gravel
    worked years ago.
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    849
    
    Espey, in Sec. 25, T. 47 N., R. 9 W., in the Oak Bar mining dis-
    trict, 30 miles northwest of Hornbrook. Owners, Espey Mining Com-
    pany; home office, Seattle, Wash.; in Klamath Reserve; 50 acres of
    ground; bedrock is schist. Idle on account of lack of water.
    
    Fir Tree, in Secs. 19 and 20, T. 10 N., R. 8 E., in the Liberty min-
    ing district, 1 mile southeast of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest
    Reserve. Owners, Bennett Company; comprises 20 acres of patented
    ground, schist bedrock; 10 feet of gravel; 2 1/2-mile ditch from Salmon
    River. Idle; has not heen worked for several years.
    
    Forks, formerly known as McNeals, in Sec. 13, T. 10 N., R. 7 E.,
    in the Liberty mining district, in the town of Forks of Salmon in the
    Klamath Forest Reserve.  Owners, Bennett Company; comprises 50
    acres; schist bedrock; 20 feet of gravel. Idle; under option to the La
    Grange Mining Company; some rich gravel.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 287; XIII, p. 401.

    Forks of Salmon River, in Secs. 16, 17, 18, 13, 7, 8 and 9, T. 10 N..
    R. 7 and 8 E., in the Liberty mining district, 1 1/2 miles northeast of
    Forks of Salmon in the Klamath Forest Reserve, is the largest hydraulic
    
    Photo No. 4--Dam--Forks of Salmon River Mining Company.
    
    850

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    mine in this district. It is owned by the Forks of Salmon River Min-
    ing Company, of San Francisco; F. Salvage, president; V. G. Bonaly,
    secretary, and M. A. Singer, superintendent. The holdings comprise
    520 acres of old placer locations, which were rich diggings in the early
    days. This company controls some 4 miles of the old channels and
    bars along the North Fork of Salmon River. The bedrock is schist,
    with 20 to 60 feet of gravel covering the same; only about 3 acres of,
    ground have been worked. Water is obtained from the North Fork of
    the Salmon River through a ditch carrying 3800 inches, having a length
    of 4 miles and a 50-foot pressed overflow dam impounds the water at    
    the intake. The equipment consists of five giants, machine shop, small
    electrical plant, pipe, derricks, and dwellings; sixteen men at $3 per day
    are employed.  In 1911 and 1912, the yearly production exceeded
    $60,000; has produced over $200,000 since 1908.
    
    Fort Goff, in Sec. 31, T. 47 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining dis-
    trict, 14 miles west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,    
    G. Martin; comprises 80 acres of patented land along the Klamath
    Rlver; schist bedrock; 10 to 60 feet of loose gravel; water obtained
    from Fort Goff Creek through a ditch 1 1/2 miles long carrying 800 inches;
    equipment consists of two giants and 3100 feet of pipe; has not been
    worked since 1911; some good ground; small producer.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 596; XII, p. 283; XIII, p. 401.
    
    Gardner and Deming, in Secs. 7 and 18, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the
    Oro Fino mining district, 5 1/2 miles northeast of Greenview. Owners,
    Weed & Gardner; comprises 150 acres of patented land; bedrock is
    quartz-porphyry with quartz stringers running through it; 10 to 50
    feet of gravel. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 402.
    
    Geeshan and Kellner, in Sec. 30, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty    
    mining district, 2 miles west of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Geeshan & Kellner; comprises 20 acres on the Klamath River;
    slate bedrock; 50 feet of gravel; water from North Fork of Salmon
    River through 1 1/2-mile flume; one giant, 1200 feet of pipe and derrick;
    has been a good producer; worked on a small scale during the winter.
    
    Gold Hill, in Secs. 28 and 29, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty min-
    ing district, in town of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owners,
    G. W. and O. R. Bigelow; comprises 80 acres on North Fork of Salmon
    River; slate bedrock; 10 to 80 feet of gravel; water from Eddy's Gulch
    through 2 miles of ditch; three giants, 1200 feet of pipe and hand der-
    rick; good producer; operated during the winter when water is plentiful.

    Gordan, in Sec. 17, T. 18 N ., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining
    district, 5 miles northeast of Happy Camp in Klamath Reserve.  Owner,
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.

    851

    C. Gordan; comprises 60 acres; schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; three
    men employed during operating season; yearly production about $4000.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 283; XIII, p. 403.
    
    Grider, in Secs. 12, 15, 10, 14 and 11, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the
    Seiad mining district, 9 miles southwest of Hamburg Bar in Klamath
    Reserve.  Owner, J. B. Grider; comprises 245 acres, patented; on the
    Klamath River; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of gravel; water from
    Grider Creek through 3-mile ditch of a capacity of 240 inches; equip-
    ment consists of dwellings, two giants and 1500 feet of pipe; operating
    season from four to five months; average production monthly of $2000.
    Idle at present on account of lack of water.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII. p. 600; XIII, p.403.
    
    Haley, formerly known as the Halstead, in Sec. 7, T. 16 N., R. 7 E.,
    in the Happy Camp mining district, 10 miles southwest of Happy Camp
    in Klamath Reserve. Owner, M. Doolittle; comprises 40 acres of pat-
    ented land; schist bedrock; 10 to 30 feet of gravel; some boulders and
    some cement. Idle for several years.
    
    Bibl.: Rcport VIII. p. 601; XIII, p. 404.
    
    Hammer, in Secs. 36, 1 and 4, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg
    Bar mining district, 1/2 mile west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest
    Reserve.  Owners, Johnson & Caldwell; comprises 60 acres along the
    Klamath River; schist bedrock; 30 to 40 feet of gravel; water from 
    Kuntz and Mill creeks through a 3-mile ditch; four giants, 1000 feet of
    pipe, and dwelling; property leased; worked one month in 1913 and
    produced $400; some good ground. Idle at present.
    
    Happy Home, formerly known as the Maplesden, in Sec. 31, T.
    46 N., R. 10 W., in the Hamburg Bar mining district in the Klamath
    Forest Reserve, 1/4 mile east of Hamburg Bar.  Owner, Maplesden
    Brothers; comprises 40 acres on the Klamath River; schist bedrock;
    large portion of this ground has been worked; good pay on bedrock;
    two men are employed cleaning up the sluice boxes.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 594.
    
    Hardscrabble, in Secs. 1 and 12, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Dead-
    wood mining district, 6 miles north of Fort Jones.  Owner, J.  D.
    Duane; comprises 20 acres, patented, on McAdams Creek; quartz-por-
    phyry bedrock; 30 to 50 feet of gravel; water from McAdams Creek
    through a ditch 2 miles long; rich diggings years ago, worked by
    Chinese. Idle at present.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 404.
    
    852
   
    MlNE AND MINERAL RESOURCES
    
    Hickey, in Secs. 24 and 25, T. 40 N., R. 12 W., in the Liberty min-
    ing district, 2 miles west of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest
    Reserve.  Owners, Pike & Hickey; comprises 20 acres, patented, on
    North Fork of Salmon River; slate bedrock; 25 to 70 feet of gravel;
    water from North Fork of Salmon River through 3-mile ditch. Idle
    in 1913; small producer when operated.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 405.
    
    Hi You, in Sec. 29, T. 44 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood mining dis-
    trict, 8 miles north of Fort Jones. Owners, Wyman and Richman;
    comprises 40 acres, patented, on Deadwood Creek; quartz-porphyry
    bedrock; 30 to 50 feet of gravel; water from Deadwood Creek through
    a ditch 1 1/4 miles long; two giants and 2000 feet of pipe; only worked a
    few times since 1905; good producer years ago.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 405.
    
    Hooper Hill, formerly known as Preckel, in Sec. 21, T. 45 N.,    
    R. 10 W., in the Scott Bar mining district, 1/2 mile southeast of Scott Bar
    in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, H. Preckel; comprises 20 acres along
    Scott River; slate bedrock; 20 feet of gravel; water from Pat Ford
    Creek through 1 mile of ditch; equipment: one giant, 1100 feet of pipe
    and dwelling; worked on a small scale. Idle on account of lack of water.
    
    Hoosier Hill, in Sec. 36, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg Bar
    mining district, 1/2 mile west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest 
    Reserve. Owner, C. L. Willard; comprises 32 acres of patented ground,
    located in 1856; bedrock is schist; 20 to 50 feet of gravel; two giants and
    800 feet of pipe; rich ground worked years ago; leased, and only short
    season in 1913 due to shortage of water; small production.
    
    Huey Hill, in Sec. 25, T. 18 N., R. 6 E., in the Happy Camp Mining
    district, 14 miles north of Happy Camp in Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owner, D. Huey; comprises 40 acres, patented; schist bedrock; 20 feet
    of gravel; two giants and pipe; only worked in a limited way, small pro-
    ducer; some good gravel.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 407.
    
    Imperial Heights, in Sec. 33, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty
    mining district, 2 miles south of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest
    Reserve.  Owner, Ed Hickey; comprises 40 acres on North Fork of
    Salmon River; slate bedrock; 20 to 80 feet of gravel; water from Shel-
    latoe Gulch through 2-mile ditch; 2 giants, 1700 feet of pipe and der-
    rick; operated during the winter; small producer.
    
    Jack Lowden, in Sec. 13, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining
    district, 10 miles west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, J. S. Lowden; comprises 140 acres of patented land along the
    Klamath River; slate bedrock; 5 to 40 feet of gravel; water from
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    853
    
    Walker Creek through 2 1/2-mile ditch of 1500 inches capacity; one giant
    and 2500 feet of pipe; four to five month operating season; good ground.

    Joe Ramus, in Sec. 6, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott Bar mining
    district, 3 miles north of Scott Bar, on Scott River in the Klamath Forest
    Reserve. Owner, G. A. Milne; comprises 60 acres; slate bedrock;
    20 feet of gravel; water from Tom Creek; through 2 1/2 miles of ditch;
    equipment: two giants and 1000 feet of pipe; yearly production about
    $7500; worked years ago by rocker and said to have produced $500,000;
    two men employed at present; idle on account of lack of water; some
    good ground.

    Klein, formerly known as the Casey, in Sec. 4, T. 39 N., R. 11 W.,
    in the Liberty mining district, 2 1/2 miles south of Sawyer's Bar in the
    Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, Woodfill & Luddy; comprises 50
    acres; slate bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; water from Eddy's Gulch
    through 1/2 mile of ditch; one giant and 500 feet of pipe; worked on a
    small scale during the winter; small producer.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 286; XIIl, p. 411.
    
    Lowden, formerly known as McCreary, in Secs. 2 and 35, T. 45
    and 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg mining district, 1/2 mile south of
    Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, J. S. Lowden;
    comprises 60 acres, 20 of which are patented, and follows the course of
    the Klamath River; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of gravel; water from
    Tom Creek through a ditch 2 miles long; two giants and 1000 feet of
    pipe; worked on a small scale; idle on account of scarcity of water.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 286; XIII, p. 413.
    
    McGuffey, in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River mining
    district, in town of Scott Bar in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, T. G.
    McGuffey; comprises 40 acres, on Scott River, located in 1873; slate bed-
    rock; 20 to 40 feet of gravel; equipment consists of two giants, and 600
    feet of pipe; worked on a small scale; has been a good producer.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 287; XIII, p. 415.
    
    Michigan-Salmon, formerly known as the Red Hill, in Secs. 19, 20,
    21 and 28, T. 10 N., R. 8 E., 1 1/2 miles east of Forks of Salmon in the
    Klamath Forest Reserve, is one of the noted hydraulic mines in the Lib-
    erty district, and comprises 600 acres, 40 of which are patented. It is
    owned by the Michigan-Salmon Mining Company of Detroit, Mich.;
    president, S. Stevens; secretary, George Whitworth; superintendent,
    L. E. Taggett. These holdings, extending along the Salmon River for
    a distance of 2 1/2 miles, consisting of old river bars and benches, include
    the well known Red Hill, Missouri Bar, Cash, Clovis and Rocky Bar
    placers, which were good producers during pioneer mining days. The
    
    854
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    general course of the channel is southwest; depth of gravel 20 feet; bed-
    rock consists of slate and schist; about 60 acres have been worked;
    water is obtained from Knownothing Creek through 1 mile of ditch and
    3 miles of flume, having a capacity of 40 inches; the equipment consists
    of two Ruble elevators (which are 90 feet long, 8 1/2 feet wide and pitch
    at an angle of 17'), dwellings, three giants. pipe, etc.; six men employed
    continually and twelve during operating season of seven months;
    operating cost about $12,000 per year; good profit made from
    operations.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 615; XII, p. 290; XIII, p. 422.
    
    Milich, in Sec. 2, T. 10 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining district,
    5 miles northwest of Forks of Salmon. Owner, P. Milich; comprises
    20 acres; schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; water from Crapo Creek
    through 1 1/2-mile ditch. Idle since 1911.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 288; XIII, p. 415.
    
    Native Son, in Sec. 13, T. 10 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining
    district, 1 mile northeast of Forks of Salmon in the Klamath Forest
    Reserve. Owner, M. L. Mills; comprises 20 acres; schist bedrock, coarse
    gold being found on same; 30 feet of gravel; adjoins Forks of Salmon
    mine; only short season's run on account of lack of water; some good
    gravel.
    
    Nordheimer, formerly known as McNeal, in Sec. 3, T. 10 N., R. 7 E.,
    5 miles southwest of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owners, Nordheimer Mining Company; H. B. Morey of Menlo Park,
    secretary; Ed Kingston, superintendent; comprises 60 acres of patented
    land on Salmon River; schist bedrock; 15 to 25 feet of gravel; equip-
    ment two giants, pipe and dwellings; five men employed at rate of $3 per
    day; has been a good producer. Idle on account of lack of water.
    
    Bibl.:  Report VIII, p. 611.
    
    The Pine Grove, hydraulic mine, in Sec. 10., T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in
    the Oak Bar mining district; is one of the famous placer properties on
    the Klamath River. It is 28 miles west of Hornbrook at an elevation of
    2600 feet and comprises an old river bar containing 100 acres. The
    pay gravel is over 1000 feet wide in places, with a depth of 18 feet and
    a northeast and southwest course, following the south bank of the Kla-
    math River. The bedrock is schist of medium hardness, and coarse
    gold is found here. It was formerly worked with hydraulic elevators,
    but at present a drag scraper is used to convey the gravel to the sluice
    boxes, a 2-reel steam hoist being attached to the scraper. Water for the
    sluice boxes is pumped from the river. Wood is the fuel used. The
    owner, H. H. Barton, has bonded this group to W. B. Carlock, of San
    Francisco; eight men are employed; about 30 acres have been worked
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    855
    
    and some of this ground, removed years ago, was very rich. From a pit
    100 feet square on bedrock, at a depth of 18 feet, over $6000 was taken
    out. In one day $300 of bedrock pay was panned out.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 592.
    
    Portuguese, in Sec. 4, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining dis-
    trict, 12 miles west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owner, H. Wood; comprises 140 acres of patented land along the Kla-
    math River; schist bedrock; 20 to 50 feet of gravel, with from 4 to 10
    feet of cemented gravel in places, requiring blasting; water is obtained
    from Portuguese Creek through 1 1/2-mile ditch; equipment consists of
    three No. 2 giants, dwellings and 2500 feet of pipe; yearly production
    from $10,000 to $15,000; about 30 acres have been worked to date;
    bonded to Jerome Mining Company, of San Francisco. Idle on account
    of lack of water.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 595; XII, p. 290; XIII, p. 420.
    
    Quartz Gulch, formerly known as Wingate Hill, in Secs. 5 and 6,
    T. 15 N., R.7 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, 8 miles south-
    west of Happy Camp in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, J. H.
    Wells; comprises 40 acres of patented land; slate bedrock, 10 to 20 feet
    of gravel. Idle for several years; good producer at one time.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 601.
    
    Russian Hill, formerly known as Russian Dump, Ahlgren, and Red
    Hill, in Secs. 23 and 24, T. 40 N., R. 12 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 5 miles west of Sawyer's Bar. Owner, A. Ahlgren; comprises
    80 acres on North Fork of Salmon River; slate bedrock; 40 to 80 feet
    of gravel; water from North Fork of Little Salmon River, through 3-
    mile ditch; two giants, 2800 feet of pipe and derrick; good producer,
    having been worked since the eighties; operated during the winter.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 276; XIII, p. 386.
    
    Rycroft, in Sec. 14, T. 39 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining
    district, 6 1/2 miles southwest of Callahan in the Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owner, S. Rycroft; comprises 60 acres, on Slide Creek; schist bedrock;
    20 to 40 feet of gravel; two giants and 1000 feet of pipe; considerable
    gold extracted in past years. Idle. Do only assessment work.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 423.
    
    Sauer Kraut, in Sec. 34, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty mining
    district, 9 miles southwest of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest
    Reserve. Owners, Chinese Company; comprises 40 acres of patented
    land; slate bedrock, 15 feet of gravel; produces about $2000 per year;
    rich gravel in the early days. Idle on account of lack of water; use
    two No. 2 giants.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 291; XIII, p. 424.
    
    Seiad, in Sec. 11, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining district,
    9 1/2 miles west of Hamburg Bar in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner,
    T. K. Towne; comprises 60 acres along the Klamath River; schist bed-
    rock; 5 to 20 feet of gravel; water from Seiad Creek through 2-mile
    ditch; giant and pipe; do only assessment work.
    
    Siskiyou Klondike, in Secs. 15 and 16, in the Oak Bar mining
    district, 24 miles west of Hornbrook in Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owner, H. H. Barton; comprises 40 acres; bedrock schist; 10 feet of
    gravel; 2-mile ditch from McKinney Creek; located in 1865; some pro-
    duction. Idle.
    
    Siskiyou Mines Company, in Secs. 2, 1, 6, 7, 5, 12 and 18, T. 16
    and 17 N., R 7 and 8 E., in the Happy Camp mining district, in town
    of Happy Camp, is the largest hydraulic mine in this section. It is
    owned by the Siskiyou Mines Company, of New York City; Dr. Har-
    beck, president; C. A. Gardiner, secretary, and W. A. Maguire, super-
    intendent. These holdings, comprising 1500 acres, of which 640 are
    patented, follow the Klamath River and include several famous old
    placer claims which were rich and which were only superficially worked
    by the early miners. The general course of the channel is northwest and
    southeast; bedrock is schist; gravel from 10 to 60 feet deep, consisting of
    bars and benches; water is obtained from Thompson Creek, through 3
    miles of ditch and 10 miles of flume; equipment consists of five giants,
    several thousand feet of pipe and dwellings; ten men employed at pres-
    ent; operating expenses are heavy during the season.
    
    Siskiyou River Bend, formerly known as the Lou Daggett, and con-
    taining 20 acres, has been worked for many years and considerable
    gold extracted. It is in Sec. 9, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., 30 miles west of
    Hornbrook, in the Oak Bar mining district, at an elevation of 2700
    feet. The bedrock is schist; gravel from 20 to 50 feet deep with 10
    feet of pay. The present owner, A. C. Aiken, of San Francisco, has
    spent considerable time and money experimenting on methods of work-
    ing the ground; during the last season's run of three months $15,000
    was produced. Evans hydraulic elevator is used, water being obtained
    from Buckhorn Creek through a ditch 9 miles in length.
    
    Slumway, in Sec. 3, T. 10 N., R.7 E., in the Liberty mining district,
    4 1/2 miles northwest of Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owner, Bennett Company; comprises 40 acres of patented ground;
    schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; water from Slumway Creek, through
    3 mile ditch. Idle since 1910.
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    857
    
    Squaw Gulch, also known as French John, in Sec. 1, T. 40 N.,
    R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district; 4 miles northwest of Calla-
    han in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, D. L. Jones; comprises 60 acres;
    schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; two giants and 800 feet of pipe; water
    from Sugar Creek through a ditch 9 miles long, carrying 800 inches;
    worked only in winter; small producer; worked years ago as a drift
    mine and some rich gravel removed.
    
    Sturn, formerly known as the Colby, in Sec. 2, T. 16 N., R. 7 E.,
    in the Happy Camp mining district, 1 mile north of Happy Camp in
    the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner, G. H. Compton; comprises 200
    acres of patented land, on old river channel; schist bedrock; equipment
    consists of small reservoir to collect surface waters, 2 miles of ditch,
    one giant, and 1000 feet of pipe; production $2000 per season of three
    months; lack of water limits mining operations; good ground.
    
    Ten Eyck, in Sec. 28, T. 12 N., R. 6 E., in the Liberty mining dis-
    trict, 3 miles northwest of Somes Bar. Owner, W. Lord; comprises
    80 acres, slate bedrock; coarse gold found in bedrock crevices; two
    giants; good producer for a number of years; yearly production said to
    exceed $20,000; fifteen men employed during season; four men working
    at present; water from Ten Eyck Creek.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 605; XIII, p. 430.
    
    Thomain, in Sec. 5, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining dis-
    trict, 4 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owners, F. and C. F. Thomain; comprises 20 acres, on Eddy's Gulch;
    slate bedrock; 10 to 30 feet of gravel; water from Eddy's Gulch through
    1 mile of flume; one giant and 800 feet of pipe; operated only during
    the winter; small producer.
    
    Two and a Half, formerly known as the Walker, in Sec. 20, T. 40 N.,
    R. 7 W., in the Callahan mining district, 6 miles east of Callahan,
    in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, W. Walker; comprises 40 acres, on
    Grouse Creek; bedrock is schist; 10 to 20 feet of gravel; water from
    Grouse Creek through a ditch 2 1/2 miles long carrying 600 inches; two
    giants and 600 feet of pipe. Idle at present; said to have produced
    $200,000.
    
    Willard, in Sec. 30, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg Bar min-
    ing district, 3/4 mile south of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Willard & Hickman; comprises 20 acres along the Klamath
    River; schist bedrock; 30 to 50 feet of gravel; water obtained from
    Max Creek through 1-mile ditch; one giant and 500 feet of pipe. Only
    worked in a small way.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 294; XIII, p. 432.
    
    858

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    Wm. Burns, in Sec. 33, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 2 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner,  J. R. Peterson; comprises 20 acres, patented; slate bedrock;
    10 to 30 feet of gravel; one giant, 500 feet of pipe and a derrick.
    Worked during the winter season; small producer.
    
    Windeler, in Sec. 20, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 1 mile north of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    J. C. Windeler; comprises 20 acres on Jackass Gulch; slate bedrock;
    30 feet of gravel; one giant and 500 feet of pipe; some coarse gold found
    on bedrock. Little work during the winter; small producer.
    
    Wood & Fehely, in Sec. 4, T. 46 N., R. 12 W., in the Seiad mining
    district, 11 miles west of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Own-
    ers, Wood & Fehely; comprises 60 acres, patented, on the Klamath
    River; slate bedrock, best values being found in the soft bedrock; 10 to
    30 feet of gravel; water from Thompson Creek through a ditch 1 1/2 miles
    long; three giants and 1800 feet of pipe; employ four men during the
    season. Idle in 1912; good ground; has been a steady producer.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 432.
    
    Wright & Fletcher, in Secs. 7 and 8, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro
    Fino mining district, 4 miles northeast of Greenview. Owners, Wright
    Brothers; comprises 80 acres; bedrock is quartz-porphyry; 20 to 60 feet
    of gravel; water from Kidder Creek through two ditches, one 9 miles
    long, also furnishes power for the Johnson mill, and the other, 4 1/2 miles
    in length, for the hydraulic operations; two giants and 2100 feet of pipe;
    best ground has been worked and yielded a good production; property
    only worked on a small scale. Idle on account of lack of water.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 609; XII, p. 294; XIII, p. 433.
    
    GOLD MINES--GROUND SLUICING.
    
    The extraction of gold from placer deposits by means of ground
    sluicing is pursued to a limited extent in the Hawkinsville, Oak Bar,
    Greenhorn, and Liberty mining districts.
    
    Anderson, in Sec. 33, T. 39 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 1 3/4 miles southeast of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest
    Reserve. Owners, Peterson Brothers; comprises 20 acres on Eddy's
    Gulch; slate bedrock; 20 to 30 feet of gravel; water from continuation
    of Burns' flume, 1 mile in length; adjoins Burns' placer; worked on a
    limited scale during the winter; small producer.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 617.
    
    Baines, in Sec. 13, T. 39 N., R. 12 W., in the Liberty mining dis-    
    trict, 10 miles southwest of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve.
    Owner, G. A. Baines; comprises 20 acres on Bear Creek; slate bedrock;
       
    SlSKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    859
    
    10 to 20 feet of gravel; water from Bear Creek through 1/2 mile of
    flume; worked during the winter on a limited scale; small producer.
    
    Beaver Creek, in Secs. 30 and 31, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in the Virginia
    Dale mining district, 2 miles northwest of Gottville on Beaver Creek
    in Klamath Reserve. Owner, J. E. Jones; comprises 160 acres, pat-
    ented; slate bedrock; 5 feet of gravel. Idle for several years.
    
    Beaver Creek, in Sec. 6, T. 46 N., R. 8 W., in the Oak Bar mining
    district; 28 miles west of Hornbrook. Owners, Paines & Barton; 104
    acres patented; 15 feet of gravel; schist bedrock. Idle.
    
    Big Slide, in Sec. 19, T. 46 N., R. 8 W., in the Oak Bar mining dis-
    trict, 28 miles west of Hornbrook in the Klamath Forest Reserve.    
    Owner, E. F. Rider; comprises 20 acres of land; schist bedrock; 10 feet
    of gravel. Idle.
    
    Brazil, in Sec. 11, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in the Hawkinsville mining
    district, 3 miles west of Yreka.  Owner, A. Brazil; in Klamath Forest
    Reserve; 80 acres, located in 1856; water from Greenhorn ditch; 10
    feet of gravel; slate bedrock; small output.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 612; XIII, p. 391.
    
    Buckeye Bar, formerly known as Jackson, in Sec. 9. T. 46 N.,
    R. 9 W., in Oak Bar mining district, 26 miles west of Hornbrook. Own-
    ers, Jackson Brothers; in Klamath Reserve; bedrock is schist; gravel is
    10 feet deep. Idle on account of lack of water; 2 miles of ditch from
    McKinney Creek; contains 60 acres.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 592; XII, p. 279; XIII, p. 391.
    
    Canal Gulch, in Sec. 4, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining
    district, 3 miles north of Yreka.  Owner, W. Koester; in Klamath
    Forest Reserve; 20 acres, located in 1876; worked in spring; only little
    water; 10 feet of gravel; slate bedrock.
    
    Enterprise, in Sec. 16, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in Oak Bar mining dis-
    trict, 24 miles west of Hornbrook. Owner, R. J. Fenile; in Klamath
    Forest Reserve; 40 acres of ground; schist bedrock; 10 feet of gravel.
    Idle.
    
    Indian Bar, in Sec. 30, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., 6 miles northeast of
    Forks of Salmon in Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Ayles & Dunn;
    comprises 40 acres; schist bedrock; 15 feet of gravel. Idle; only do
    assessment work.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 277: XIII. p 407.
    
    John Miller, in Sec. 3, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining
    district, 4 miles north of Yreka. Owner, J. A. Tiexeria; in Klamath
    Forest Reserve; 40 acres patented; 10 feet of gravel; slate bedrock.
    Idle for several years.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 409.
    
    860
   
    M!NES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    McKinney Creek, in Sec. 9, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in Oak Bar Mining 
    district, 26 miles west of Hornbrook. Owners, S. H. and S. R. Crary, 
    in Klamath Forest Reserve; contains 40 acres; schist bedrock; 12 feet of 
    gravel; water from McKinney Creek through a ditch 2 1/2 miles long.
    
    
    O'Donnell, in Secs. 3, 4 and 10, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkins- 
    ville mining district, 3 miles north of Yreka.  Owner, Mrs. O'Donnell, 
    in Klamath Forest Reserve; 45 acres patented; worked since 1856; 
    slate bedrock; 10 to 20 feet of gravel; small production.
        
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 418.
    
    Paine, in Sec. 21, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., 28 1/2 miles west of Hornbrook in 
    the Oak Bar mining district in the Klamath Forest Reserve. Owner,
    A. A. Paine; schist bedrock; 8 feet of gravel; comprises 20 acres. Idle.
        
    Santana Brothers, in Sec. 11, T. 45 N., R 7 W., in Hawkinsville
    mining district, 2 1/2 miles north of Yreka.  Owners, Santana Brothers,
    formerly known as Joe Lemois; 60 acres located in 1856; 7 feet of 
    gravel; slate bedrock; small production. Idle until spring.    
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 424.
    
    Simas & Rose, in Sec. 25, T. 45 N., R. 8 W., in Greenhorn mining 
    district, 4 1/2 miles west of Yreka. Owners, Simas & Rose; in Klamath 
    Forest Reserve; 160 acres patented; located in 1870; 8 feet of gravel;    
    slate bedrock; 2 miles of ditch; season from February to June. Idle.
    
    Sylvester Ramus, in Sec. 11, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville 
    mining district, 2 1/2 miles north of Yreka. Owner, S. Ramus; in Klam-
    ath Forest Reserve; 87 acres; water from lower Greenhorn ditch, 6
    miles long; 5 feet of gravel; slate bedrock. Idle; worked each spring;
    small output.
    
    Sulphur Springs, in Sec. 18, T. 47 N., R. 7 W., in the Virginia Bar
    mining district, 7 miles north of Gottville, on Empire Creek in Klamath 
    Forest Reserve. Owner, E. Campbell; comprises 20 acres; schist bed-
    rock; 3 to 5 feet of gravel; only small production in 1912.
    
    Tom Rogers, in Sec. 11, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., in Hawkinsville mining 
    district, 2 miles north of Yreka.  Owner, Phillips Brothers; in Klamath 
    Forest Reserve; 113 acres, patented; discovered in 1860; water from 
    Greenhorn Creek; short season. Idle since May; 5 to 10 feet of gravel;
    slate bedrock.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 430.
    
    GOLD MINES--DRIFT.
    
    Allgood & Castell, in Sec. 12, T. 11 N., R. 7 E., in the Liberty 
    mining district, 3 miles southeast of Somes Bar. Owners, Allgood &
    Castell; comprises 40 acres; slate bedrock; 30 feet of gravel. Idle;    
    some rich gravel worked at one time.
   
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    861    
        
    Ascondry, in Sec. 10, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in Oak Bar mining dis-
    trict, 27 miles west of Hornbrook.  Owner, W. Quingley; contains 100
    acres; 50-foot shaft; schist bedrock; 8 feet of gravel. Idle.
    
    California Bar, in Sec. 18, T. 46 N., R. 6 W., in the Cottonwood
    mining district, 9 miles southwest of Hornbrook in Klamath Forest
    Reserve.  Owners, Vene Gold Bar Mining Company; comprises 20
    acres on old river bar; bedrock is slate; old shafts caved.  Idle at pres-
    ent; water from Klamath River through a ditch 1 1/2 miles long; some
    good ground.

    Bibl.:  Report XIII, p. 391.
    Consolidated Sciwash, in Sec. 6, T. 44 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood
    mining district, 6 miles north of Fort Jones.  Owner, H. Madison;
    comprises 90 acres, patented; on McAdams Creek; quartz-porphyry
    bedrock; 30 feet of gravel, 450-foot tunnel, and three 50-foot shafts (all
    caved); good producer at one time.  Idle for a number of years.

    Bibl.:  Report XIII, p. 395.

    Deep Channel, formerly known as Taylor & Maplesden, in Sec. 36,
    T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in the Hamburg Bar mining district, 1/8 mile west
    of Hamburg Bar in the Klamath Forest Reserve.  Owner, Deep Chan-
    nel Mining Company, of Portland, Oregon; president, J. L. McKittrick;
    comprises 40 acres on the Klamath River; schist bedrock; gravel is from
    20 to 50 feet deep; 100-foot tunnel 5' x 7' and 60-foot shaft, 4' x 6'
    (abandoned).  Idle during 1913; some good ground and has been
    a steady producer.

    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 293; XIII, p. 429.
        
    Doolittle, in Sec. 5, T. 17 N., R 8 E., in the Happy Camp mining
    district, 6 miles northeast of Happy Camp in the Klamath Forest  
    Reserve. Owner, M. Doolittle; comprises 40 acres of patented land
    along the Klamath River; schist bedrock; 30 feet of gravel; 120-foot
    tunnel, 5' x 7'.  Idle; producer at one time. 
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 404.
    
    Elk Creek, in Sec. 15, T. 16 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining
    district, 1 mile southwest of Happy Camp in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owners, Chinese Company; comprises 60 acres along the Klamath
    River; schist bedrock; 10 to 40 feet of gravel; 220-foot tunnel, 5' x 7';
    paid well at one time.  Idle at present.
  
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 281; XIII, p. 398.
    
    Empire Bar, in Sec. 2, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Virginia Dale min-
    ing district, in town of Gottville, in the Klamath Reserve.  Owners,
    an incorporated company: comprises 20 acres, patented; slate bedrock; 
    
    862

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    5 to 8 feet of gravel; old shafts; small steam hoist; worked by lcaser
    at times, but idle at present; has been a good producer.

    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 589.
    
    Evans, formerly known as the Berry, in Sec. 17, T. 8 N., R. 7 E.,
    in the Happy Camp mining district, 5 1/2 miles northeast of Happy Camp
    in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, C. A. Evans; comprises 20 acres;
    bedrock is schist, with quartz stringers running through it; depth of
    gravel is 40 feet; 60 feet tunnel, 5' x 7' feet; only do assessment work;
    small producer at one time.
    
    Everill, in Sec. 26, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., in Hamburg Bar mining
    district, 4 miles southwest of Hamburg Bar. Owner, J. H. Everill;
    comprises 40 acres on the Klamath River; bedrock is slate; 120-foot
    tunnel on bedrock; old 60-foot shaft; equipment: dwelling, derrick, pipe,
    sluice boxes; good ground; leased to an incorporated company; T. C.
    Williams, superintendent; three men employed.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 281; XIII, p. 400.
    
    French Bar Placer, in Sec. 17, T. 46 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River
    mining district, 1/2 mile northwest of Scott Bar, in the Klamath Forest
    Reserve. Owner, Z. E. Russell; comprises 20 acres, on Scott River;
    slate bedrock; 20 feet of gravel; 40-foot tunnel, 5' x 7'; only do
    assessment work.
    
    Gold Lead, in Sec. 8, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River mining
    district, 1 1/4 miles north of Scott Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    M. Andrews; comprises 20 acres on the Scott River; slate bedrock;
    10 to 20 feet of gravel; water from Tom Creek through 1 mile of ditch;
    90 feet tunnel (5' x 7'), on bedrock; equipment: car, blacksmith
    shop, mining tools; one man employed at $3 per day; production gen-
    erally about $4000 (five months run); some coarse gold found on the
    bedrock; easy ground to work.
    
    Klamath River Gold Mining Company, in Sec. 15, T. 46 N., R. 7 W.,
    the Cottonwood mining district, 12 miles southwest of Hornbrook in
    Klamath Forest Reserve. Owners, Klamath River Gold Mining Com-
    pany; comprises 20 acres on old bar of Klamath River; bedrock is
    slate; gravel 5 to 20 feet deep; old shafts to bedrock; company spent
    considerable money without any return. Idle.
    
    Lucky Bob, in Sec. 2, T. 46 N., R. 7 W., in the Virginia Dale min-
    ing district, in town of Gottville. Owners, Freshour Brothers; com-
    prises 40 acres, being a bench and bar along the Klamath River; slate
    bedrock; 7 feet of gravel; old shafts from 30 to 50 feet deep; good
    producer years ago; worked by leasers at times, but idle at present.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 287; XIII, p. 413.
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    863
    
    McMahon, in Sec. 25, T. 40 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining
    district, 3 miles southeast of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    C. A. Crowley; comprises 40 acres, on the Scott River; schist bedrock;
    good pay in the soft spots; 150-foot tunnel; old 40-foot shaft (caved);
    worked a little during the winter; small producer.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 287; XIII, p. 415.
    
    Miller, in Sec. 34, T. 44 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining district,
    5 miles southeast of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owners,
    Jackson & Biedenbeck; comprises 20 acres; schist bedrock; 40 feet of
    gravel; 2 tunnels l00 and 60 feet in length on the bedrock; water from
    Jackson Creek through 1/2 mile of flume; no production since 1911; some
    good ground.
    
    Bibl.:  Report XIII, p. 415.
    
    Montezuma, in Sec. 20, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Callahan mining
    district, in town of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, Hop-
    yick; comprises 20 acres on the Scott River; schist bedrock; 20 to 50
    feet of gravel; Chinese working over an old dump; noted producer
    years ago; best ground worked out.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 6l2; XII, p. 288; XIII, p. 416.
    
    Paradise Flat, in Sec. 29, T. 40 N., R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining
    district, 1/8 mile west of Sawyer's Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner,
    A. Meyers; comprises 40 acres, patented along North Fork of the
    Salmon River; slate bedrock; 10 to 50 feet of gravel; old bench; 1000-
    foot tunnel; only worked on a small scale; said to have produced
    $140,000; seems to be a second bench, carrying good pay.
    
    Poverty Point, in Sec. 18, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in the Oak Bar mining
    district, 32 miles west of Hornbrook on Klamath River. Owner, H. H.
    Barton; 200 acres (40 acres patented); located in 1876; in Klamath
    Reserve; country rock, schist and diorite; 20 feet of gravel; 2400-foot
    tunnel (caved); produced $23,000. Idle for ten years.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 592; XIII, p. 420.
    
    Schuler, in Sec. 16, T. 45 N., R. 10 W., in the Scott River mining
    district in the town of Scott Bar in the Klamath Reserve. Owner, M.
    Schuler; comprises 20 acres on Scott River; slate bedrock; 20 to 30
    feet of gravel; 60 feet tunnel in river bank; only do assessment work;
    some rich ground worked at one time.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 425.
    
    Sugar Hill, in Sec. 20, T. 40 N., R. 8 W., in the Callahan mining
    district, 5 miles southwest of Callahan in the Klamath Reserve.
    Owner, G. W. Smith; comprises 40 acres on Fox Creek; schist bedrock,
    
    864
    
    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    coarse gold being found in crevices in this bedrock; 320-foot tunnel,
    40-foot shaft (caved); 20 to 40 feet of gravel, loose. Idle; only do
    assessment work; some good pay, extracted years ago.
    
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 611.
    
    Whistle Bar, formerly known as the Blake, in Sec. 29, T. 40 N.,
    R. 11 W., in the Liberty mining district, at Sawyer's Bar in the Kla-
    math Forest Reserve. Owner, E. Curran; comprises 20 acres on the
    North Fork of the Salmon River; slate bedrock; 30 to 100 feet of gravel,
    loose; 400-foot tunnel, 3' x 7'; good producer at one time.  Idle at
    present; only do assessment work; about one half of the gravel has been
    worked.
  
    Bibl.: Report VIII, p. 616.
    
    Wilson, in Sec. 29, T. 44 N., R. 8 W., in the Deadwood mining dis-
    trict, 8 1/2 miles north of Fort Jones. Owner, F. L. Wilson; comprises 40
    acres on Deadwood Creek; quartz-porphyry bedrock; 30 feet of gravel;
    water from Deadwood Creek through 1/2-mile of ditch; 320 feet bedrock
    tunnel and 50-foot shaft (caved); best ground has been worked; only
    do asessment work.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 432.
    
    GOLD DREDGING.
    
    On1y one dredge in operation in Siskiyou County during the year
    1913. This boat, owned by the Siskiyou Dredging Company, is working
    on McAdams Creek, some 5 miles north of the town of Fort Jones.

    The Scott River Dredging Company operated a dredge on the Scott
    River near Callahan during 1908 and 1909. The project was finally
    abandoned and the machinery sold to the Trinity Dredging Company,
    and hauled to Trinity Center, Trinity County, where it was installed.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 57, p. 221.
    
    The Northern California Dredge Company, owning several acres of
    land along the Klamath River in Sec. 36, T. 46 N., R. 11 W., M. D. M.,
    about 1/2 mile west of Hamburg Bar, endeavored to work their land by
    means of a suction dredge, which proved a failure. The dredge has
    been idle since 1911.

    Siskiyou Dredging Company, in Secs. 14, 6 and 35, T. 44 and 43 N.,
    R. 8 and 9 W., in the Deadwood mining district, 5 miles north of Fort
    Jones, is the only dredge in operation in Siskiyou County. It is owned
    by the Siskiyou Dredging Company; G. J. Carr, president; J. C. Osgood,
    secretary; J. W. Boles, superintendent; home office is in San Francisco;
    comprises an area of 165.5 acres on McAdams Creek, 120 of which are
    patented, and includes the old Oak Grove, Diggles, Mathewson and
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    865

    Shaw drift claims; course of the channel is north and south; quartz-
    porphyry bedrock; 30 to 60 feet of gravel, loose and easily removed;
    2 miles of flume from McAdams Creek for water for floating dredge
    during the summer season; 5 1/2 cu. ft. Bucyrus type dredge with 98-foot
    digging ladder, and will handle gravel to a depth of 50 feet below the
    water level, and has a capacity of 2000 cubic yards per day or 154
    yards per hour; 10 miles of power line; electricity from California-
    Oregon Power Company, costing 1 1/10 cents per cubic yard; ten men
    are employed; total operating cost per cubic yard is 6 cents; property
    acquired in 1909, and dredge has been operating since 1910; good
    dividends declared; about 20 acres have been worked.

    Bibl.: Bull. No. 57, p. 223.
    
    GRANITE.
    
    The greater portion of the granite in Siskiyou County is too much
    shattered to be used for monument or building purposes. There is a
    large body of granite, however, on Craggy Mountain, T. 41 N., R. 8 W.,
    from which some good building blocks have been obtained. Another
    deposit, southeast of Etna on Mill Creek in Sec. 1, T. 41 N., R. 9 W.,
    contains some fine-grained stone that has been used for monument
    work. A similar grade of granite is found in the southwest and south-
    east corners of T. 40 N., R. 8 and 9 W.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 54.
    
    IRON.
    
    Iron float is found in Sec. 10, T. 46 N., R. 10 W., on the north side
    of the divide between Buckhorn Creek and the Klamath River.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 304.
    
    LIMESTONE.
    
    Two limestone deposits, one northeast of Greenview and the other
    southwest of Callahan, have been worked and the material has been
    converted into lime.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, pp. 92-93.
    
    Burton, in Sec. 17, T. 43 N., R. 9 W., in the Oro Fino mining dis-
    trict, 4 miles northeast of Greenview. Owned by T. Martin; comprises
    40 acres, discovered in 1889; large limestone deposit having a width of
    1000 feet, but only 15 feet thick; limestone burned in kiln made of
    rocks, having the arch-shape form; capacity of kiln, 6 tons in five
    days; good grade of limestone; product produced upon demand.
    
    Farrington, in Sec. 24, T. 40 N., R. 9 W., in the Callahan mining
    district, 2 1/2 miles southwest of Callahan. Owned bv S. Farrington;
    comprises 20 acres, located in 1873; massive deposit of limestone; the
    
    866

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    Photo No. 5.  Marble Mountain, Siskiyou County.   

    SISKIYOU COUNTY.

    867
    
    extent not determined; surface stripped and limestone extracted from
    open cuts and burned in a small kiln of a capacity of 10 tons in four
    days; product is of splendid quality and was used in the hotel at Cal-
    lahan; very little demand for the product. Idle.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, pp. 92-93.
    
    MACADAM.
    
    Steele Quarry, in Sec. 27, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., 3/4 mile southeast of
    Yreka. Owned by J. M. Steele; comprises 100 acres, located in 1896;
    deposit just being opened up and its extent not determined as yet;
    plant consists of a crusher, operated by gasoline, cars, and mining tools;
    five men are employed; rock used on streets in Yreka.

    MARBLE.
    
    A belt of marble runs from a short distance west of Etna Mills, in a
    northwest direction along the eastern slope of the Salmon Mountains,
    forming, farther north, part of the Marble Mountains, and in the
    Grider Mountains showing north of the Klamath River on Thompson
    Creek, and running farther north into Oregon.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 632; Bull. No. 38, pp. 107-l08.
    
    Marble Mountain, a very large belt in Secs. 16, 19, 20 and 21,
    T. 43 N., R. 10 W., M. D. M., is a noted landmark; the limestone is
    metamorphosed, producing all varieties and colors of marble, but
    principally pure white. (See photo No. 5.)
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 107.
    
    Barton & Barham, in Sec. 18, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in the Oak Bar
    mining district; owned by Barton et al.; comprises 160 acres, located
    in 1913; massive deposit in schist; no work done on claims; marble is
    of the clouded variety, showing black streaks and probably of no com-
    mercial value.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 632.
    
    Luce, in Sec. 41 (sic), T. 41 N., R. 8 W., in tbe Deadwood mining dis-
    trict, 3 miles north of Fort Jones.  Owner, A. H. Luce; comprises 160
    acres, patented, located in 1907; dike in schist, 300 feet wide and can
    be traced for 1500 feet, and is of good quality taking a fine polish and
    easily worked; only small amount extracted from shallow cuts. Idle
    at present.
    
    McDaniels, in See. 6, T. 41 N., R. 9 W., M. D. M., on road from
    Etna to Sawyer's Bar. Owned by R. McDaniels of Etna; seams of
    diabase through the marble and body of pure white marble much smaller
    than in the Parker deposit.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 632; Bull. No. 38, p. 107.
    
    868

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    Parker, in Sec. 32, T. 42 N., R. 9 W., near Etna.  Owned by A.
    Parker, Jr.; belt from 100 to 200 feet wide at elevation of 4000 feet;
    marble heavily bedded, in places being perfectly white and fine-grained,
    while in other places it is pink-colored and very coarsely crystalline;
    worked to a limited extent.

    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 107.
    
    Thompson Creek, in Sec. 8, T. 17 N., R 8 E., H. M., in the Happy
    Camp mining district, 8 1/2 miles northeast of Happy Camp on Thomp-
    son Creek. Owner, J. C. Wood, comprises 40 acres, located in 1890;
    large massive beds in schist and serpentine, few open cuts, so that
    extent of marble deposit not determined; it is hard and takes a good
    polish; the crystals are large, white and translucent. Idle.

    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 632.
    
    MINERAL WATER.
    
    Shasta Springs, on the Oregon branch of the Southern Pacific Rail-
    road in Sec. 12, T. 39 N., R. 3 W., are owned by the Shasta Springs
    Mineral Water Company, and the only water from Siskiyou County on
    the market. These springs were first brought to notice during the con-
    struction of the railroad in 1887.

    The three springs--Shasta, Glacier and Keystone--are all about 300
    feet apart. The water has a temperature of 51' F., and contains con-
    siderable carbonic acid gas, magnesium, potassium, iron, and a little
    manganese, lithium and arsenate. The bedrock is tufa, overlaid with
    doleritic lava. The equipment consists of bottling works and dwellings.
    
    Bibl.: Report XI, pp. 449-451; Mineral Springs of California,
    Anderson, p. 244.
    
    Upper Soda Springs, in Sec. 24, T. 39 N., R. 4 W., 2 miles north
    of Dunsmuir. Owned by George McCloud; water is heavily charged
    with carbonic acid gas; formation is similar to the Shasta Springs
    section; water not on the market.
    
    Bibl.: Report XI, p. 452; Mineral Springs of California, Ander-
    son, p. 260.

    Scott Springs, in Sec. 7, T. 39 N., R. 3 W., 3 miles north of Duns-
    muir; water and formation similar to Shasta Springs. Owned by J. J.
    Scott & Company.

    Bibl.: Report XI, p. 452.
    
    Castle Crag Soda Springs, at Castle Crag. Owned by Pacific
    Improvement Company; water has a temperature of 53' F., and con-
    tains sodium, potassium, magnesium, calcium, with a trace of iron,
    silicia, alumina, manganese, barium, lithium, borates, ammonium car-
    bonate; it is a well known summer resort.
        
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    869

    Klamath Hot Springs, in Sec. 27, T. 48 N., R 3 W., at Klamath
    Springs. Owned by Edson Estate; claimed good for rheumatism and
    blood diseases; several dwellings on the property.
    
    Bibl.: Mineral Springs of California, Anderson, p. 183.
    
    Siskiyou Mineral, in Secs. 33 and 34, T. 48 N., R. 9 W., 14 miles
    northwest of Walker. Owned by J. Garreston; water contains con-
    siderable iron and magnesia, and said to be good for blood diseases; con-
    ducted as a summer resort; several dwellings on the property.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 521.
    
    Warmcastle Soda Springs, in Sec. 13, T. 39 N., R. 3 W., 1 mile
    south of Nabar. Owned by Estate of Judge Warmcastle; elevation is
    3000 feet; water contains considerable soda.
    
    ORNAMENTAL STONES.
    
    Vesuvianite is found on the South Fork of Indian Creek, 12 miles
    north of Happy Camp, on land owned by Dr. A. E. Heighway; dis-
    covered in 1901; outcrops for 300 feet along the hillside, above the
    creek, and large masses have fallen into the bed of the creek below.
    It is a hard and handsome stone, olive to green in color, and takes a
    fine polish. The associated rock is serpentine; the rich translucent
    green color, fine-grained sub-splintery fracture and brilliant luster,
    when polished, strongly suggest jade, and many have called it by that
    name; deposit has not been worked. This variety of vesuvianite
    also known as californite.  F. H. Dakin of San Franclsco also has
    claims covering portions of the deposit.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 37, pp. 93-94; Bull. No. 67, pp. 125-126.
    
    Brusse, in Sec. 34, T. 17 N., R. 7 E., in the Happy Camp mining
    district, 3 miles north of Happy Camp on Indian Creek. Owned by
    F. A. Brusse; discovered in 1899; not in place, but pieces of float weigh-
    ing several pounds found along the creek; associated with serpentine;
    resembles the Heighway mineral.
    
    Griffin Onyx Quarries are situated 6 miles south of Berryvale. Speci-
    mens in the State Mining Bureau are 7355 and 8969.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. 37, p. 112.
    
    PLATINUM.
    
    Small amounts of platinum are obtained with the gold in some of the
    placer mines of Siskiyou County, particularly on the streams traverslng
    serpentine areas.
    
    870

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    QUICKSILVER.
    
    A cinnabar deposit in the northern part of the county on the head-
    waters of the West Fork of Beaver Creek above Oak Bar has been    
    worked to some extent by the Siskiyou Quicksilver Mining Company.
    There is another small deposit on Horse Creek, which has not developed
    at all.

    The holdings of the Siskiyou Quicksilver Mining Company, of San
    Francisco, comprise several acres on the headwaters of the West Fork
    of Beaver Creek, some 15 miles west of Cole's Station. The develop-
    ment consists of several hundred feet of tunnelling and drifts. The
    reduction plant consists of a 10-ton furnace. Idle for some time; had
    a small production.
    
    Bibl.: Report XII, p. 370; XIII, p. 602; Bull. 27, p. 196.
    
    Barton & Lange, in Sec. 22, T. 46 N., R. 9 W., in the Klamath
    Reserve, 4 miles west of Oak Bar in the Oak Bar mining district.
    Owners, Barton & Lange; comprises 60 acres of patented land, located
    in 1890; massive dike with no definite strike or dip; the country rock
    (schist and diorite), impregnated with cinnabar; deposit 160 feet wide
    and can be traced 2000 feet; short tunnel and open cuts comprise the
    workings; a few pounds (selected) of the semi-transparent crystals of
    cinnabar sold to Chinese for $4 per pound, to be used in paints and
    for medicinal purposes. Idle several years.
    
    Bibl.: Report XIII, p. 602; Bull. No. 27, p. 196.
    
    SANDSTONE.
    
    A very extensive bed of sandstone runs along the east side of the
    Kildal Hills, Black Mountain Range, and Cottonwood Mountains, into
    Oregon; also found east of Yreka in two large exposures. It forms the
    rim of the Shasta Valley, having a northeast direction in Sec. 13,
    T. 45 N., R. 7 W., and also crops out a few miles south of Ager on the
    Herr ranch, where coal is found. Same belt exposed in the vicinity
    of Hornbrook in the ridges surrounding the valleys of the Klamath
    River and the lower part of Cottonwood Creek. A belt of fine-grained
    limestone about 1/4 mile in width west of Hornbrook along the rim of
    Cottonwood Creek forms a landmark, as its surface sloping east com-
    prises the bare lower slope of the mountains, its gray color being distin-
    guishable from a long distance; it is very fine grained, compact and hard,
    consisting of small granules of quartz, intermixed with some small ones
    of hornblende.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. 38, pp. 139-140.
    
    Antone, formerly known as the Weeks Quarry, in Sec. 2, T. 45 N.,
    R. 7 W., 2 miles northeast of Yreka. Owned by Mrs. C. Antone; com
    
    SISKIYOU COUNTY.
    
    871
    
    prises 160 acres, patented, at an elevation of 2700 feet; occurs in strati-
    fied layers from 6 inches to 8 feet thick, and these sheets are pried from
    the deposit by hand; very little blasting needed; equipment at quarry
    consists of derrick of 2400 pounds capacity and mining tools; three men
    employed; stone of good quality, and has been used since 1860; new
    high school and other buildings in Yreka constructed with this stone;
    also used for tombstones; leased to J. P. Russell.
    
    Fiock Bros. Quarry, in Sec. 13, T. 45 N., R. 7 W., near Yreka; con-
    siderable stone removed; face of the quarry shows massive sandstone,
    nearly horizontal, dipping slightly east; upper bed is 10 feet thick,
    coarse grained; of a very uniform texture, and tawny in color.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 140.   

    Southern Pacific Railroad Company owns several quarries in Sec.
    29, T. 47 N., R. 6 W., near Hornbrook; stone breaks in large blocks, some
    weighing 4 to 5 tons; quarries worked by plug and feather method;
    sandstone used in construction of Jones & Horn buildings in Horn-
    brook, built in 1888 and shows no signs of weathering.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 140.
    
    SOAPSTONE.
    
    Talc is a hydrous silicate of magnesia (4 MgO, 5 SiO2, H2O) that
    occurs in different varieties, of which soapstone is one of the most
    important.
    
    Soapstone is more compact and harder than talc and is used in the
    manufacture of many articles, such as bath and laundry tubs, switch-
    boards for electrical plants, sinks, griddles und many other articles.
     
    Talc is used as a powder, or flour talc, and as pieces sawed into various
    sizes and shapes. The flour talc is used in fireproof paints, electric
    insulators, boiler and steam pipe coverings, toilet powder, in the manu-
    facture of powder and other articles.
    
    Soapstone is found in several places in Siskiyou County, a large
    expose being noted in the northeast sections of T. 45 N., R. 11 W., south-
    east of Hamburg Bar, having a course of N. 50' E. and can be
    traced toward the ridge west of Scott River and is 50 feet wide; it is
    of good quality and resists the effect of fire for years in fireplaces; also
    used in sheets 1/2 to 3/4 of an inch thick for stove backs. There is another
    large belt south of Marble Mountain, in T. 13 N., R 8 E., H.M, near the
    head of Wolley Creek.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 352.
    
    Talc is found in the Cottonwood Mountains, 30 feet wide, on the top
    of the divide between Beaver and Bumblebee creeks; it has no grit and
    the iron content gives it a light ochreous color; located by E. Caldwell
    
    872 

    MINES AND MINERAL RESOURCES.
    
    of Hamburg Bar. A small exposure is found near Etna, in Sec. 32,
    T. 42 N., R. 9 W. Owned by J. Conners; it occurs in a serpentine belt
    and has no grit.
    
    Bibl.: Bull. No. 38, p. 353.
    
                                     SISKIYOU COUNTY.
                                        Bibliography.
                Publications issued by California State Mining Bureau.
    
                                              Pages
    Report II--------------------47, 184-187, 189.
    Report IV-------------------32, 73, 99, 115, 137, 310.
    Report V--------------------67, 112.
    Report VI (Part I)---------93, 96, 101, 118.  Part II, pages 63, 187.
    Report VIII------------------14, 24, 581-631.
    Report IX--------------------31, 262, 318, 319.
    Report X---------------------655-658.
    Report XI--------------------420-449.
    Report XII--------------------61, 275-294, 346, 370, 464-471.
    Report XIII-------------------34, 55, 64, 386-435, 520, 521, 632.

                                                Pages
    Bulletin No. 27-------------196.
    Bulletin No. 37-------------93, 94, 112, 156.
    Bulletin No. 38--------------54, 106, 107, 112, 113, 139, 140, 148, 230, 257, 258, 264,
                                         272, 280, 346-348, 352-354, 360, 362, 363, 366-372.
    Bulletin No. 50-------------120-133.
    Bulletin No. 57-------------218-223.
    Bulletin No. 67-------------8, 18, 19, 21, 29, 42, 67, 69, 70, 76, 78, 80, 82, 85, 110,
                                          115, 123, 124, 127, 152, 180.
  
    Register of mines and map of Siskiyou County.
    Publicatlons by U. S. Government, U. S. Geological Survey.
    Mlneral Resources of United States:
    
    Year
    1903----------------------------173, 175, 176.
    1904----------------------------165, 166, 168, 173, 177.
    1905----------------------------164-169, 172, 182-184.
    1906----------------------------178-185, 196, 197.
    1907 (Part I)-----------------189-194, 196, 198, 199, 226-228.
    1908 (Part I)-----------------316, 318-321, 324-326, 347, 349-353.
    1909 (Part I)-----------------261-265, 268, 269, 285, 286.
    1910 (Part I)-----------------349, 350, 352-354, 358, 359, 378, 379.
    1911 (Part I)-----------------465, 466, 468-470, 473-476, 500, 501.
    1912 (Part I)-----------------571, 572, 574-577, 584-586, 599, 602, 616, 630.
     Mineral Resources West of the Rocky Mountains.